
THE LAST TIME THE TEXAS LEGISLATURE 
was in town, state lawmakers passed 
new laws governing Texas drivers. 
Two principle areas of focus were new 
safety belt laws and prohibitions on 
distracted driving activities.

Safety Belts
Effective June 1, vehicle occupants 

of all ages must be secured by a safety 
belt – whether they are seated in the 
front or the back seat of the vehicle. 
Prior to the law’s passage, occupants 
did not have to wear safety belts if they 
sat in the back seat. Unbuckled adult 
passengers in the front or back seat can 
be issued a citation. 

Texas parents should remember that 
state law now requires children younger 
than eight years old be in a child safety 
seat or booster seat unless the child is 
taller than 4 feet 9 inches. Violators of 
the child safety seat law face fi nes of up 
to $250 plus court costs.

Distracted Driving
Texas lawmakers also restricted what 

Texas drivers can do while they are 
behind the wheel. Legislators acted to 
prevent distracted driving, which the 
U.S. Dept. of Transportation defi nes 
as “any non-driving activity a person 
engages in that has the potential to 
distract him or her from the primary 
task of driving and increase the 
risk of crashing.” This includes use 
of technology such as cell phones, 
personal digital assistants and other 
electronic devices.

The National Traffi c Safety 
Administration reported that nearly 
6,000 people died in 2008 in crashes 
involving a distracted driver, and 
more than half a million were injured. 
Younger, inexperienced drivers under 
20 years old have the highest proportion 
of distraction-related fatal crashes.

Under a new Texas law, drivers under 

the age of 18 are prohibited from using 
a wireless communication device while 
operating a motor vehicle.

Texas lawmakers prohibited all 
Texas drivers from using a wireless 
communication device in a school zone 
unless the vehicle is stopped or the 
device is hands-free. Texas cities and 
counties enforcing this law will have 
signs posted at the start of each school 
zone informing drivers that cell phone 
use is prohibited. Drivers who violate 
this law will be subject to a fi ne of up 
to $200. The only exception to this law 
is if the call made in a school zone is an 
emergency call.

All Texans should obey these new 
traffi c laws and make our highways 
safer.
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BUCKLING UP 
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SAFETY

Vehicle occupants of all ages must be secured 
by a safety belt – front seat and back seat 
passengers.

Children younger than eight years old must 
be in a child safety seat or booster seat 
unless they are taller than 4 feet 9 inches.

Drivers under the age of 18 are prohibited 
from using a wireless communication device 
while operating a motor vehicle.

All Texas drivers are prohibited from using 
a wireless communication device in a school 
zone unless the vehicle is stopped or the 
device is hands-free.

To access applicable Texas statutes, log onto 
www.capitol.state.tx.us.

For more information about this or other topics, 
visit www.texasattorneygeneral.gov. 
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