
BE YOURSELF: 
guard against identity theft

Don’t loan out or give your credit card to anyone and 

never give your credit card number (or the three-digit 

code on the back) to a stranger.

Shred credit card offers. Identity thieves can use the 

information to open credit in your name. Don’t keep card 

PIN numbers in your wallet or purse. A thief who gets 

your card and its PIN can use that information to get 

cash advances and steal your name. 

Report a lost or stolen card immediately. Make a list of 

your cards, their account numbers and their customer 

service phone numbers. Store it in a separate place from 

your cards so you can use it to notify your credit card 

companies if a card gets lost or stolen. Federal Reserve 

regulations protect you if someone uses your credit card 

without permission. You are not liable for any charges 

made after you notify your bank or credit card company 

that your card was lost or stolen. If charges are made 

before you give notice, you are liable for only $50 of those 

charges per card.

For ATM cards, you are only protected by the $50 limit if 

you report the lost card within two business days after 

the day you learn of the loss or theft. If you wait longer 

than two business days, you can be liable for up to $500 

in charges. Once an unauthorized charge has been 

reported to you on your bank statement, you can be 

liable for the full amount if you do not report the charge 

in writing within 60 days of the date the statement was 

sent to you.

	 HELPFUL
	 contacts

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 12548

Austin, TX 78711

(800) 252-8011

www.texasattorneygeneral.gov

Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner

2601 North Lamar Blvd.

Austin, TX 78705-4207

(800) 538-1579

www.occc.state.tx.us

Federal Trade Commission

600 Pennsylvania Ave. NW

Washington, DC 20580

(877) 382-4357

www.ftc.gov

Federal Reserve

www.federalreserve.gov

(visit the consumer section 

for more information)
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PUT OFFERS UNDER 
the microscope

Think of reading a credit card offer’s fine print like taking 

a specimen to the lab: you never know what you’ll find 

under the microscope until you look. Read the fine print! 

What happens after the initial “teaser rate” expires? What 

is the interest rate on cash advances? Also, most cards 

can periodically hike their interest rates. If your card 

hikes its fees or interest rate, you CAN opt out of the 

increase. If you do, your credit card company may close 

your account and/or increase your monthly payment, sub-

ject to certain limitations.

Also, check out several card offers before finally filling out 

an application. Think twice about cards with annual fees 

and low introductory rates as those rates can spike.

DON’T LET CHARGES
cost you

After using a credit card, check your receipt and be sure 

the amount charged is correct and that you filled in or 

scratched through any blanks. You don’t want someone 

later filling in a different total or bumping up their tip.

PAYING 
the bills

Your due date should be the same each month. Don’t 

ignore it! Make your payment early if possible. One late 

payment can cost you a late fee, increase your APR and 

hurt your credit score.

Try to avoid paying only the minimum amount due. Paying 

the balance in full every month is the only way to avoid 

finance charges.
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Now that you’re in college, you’ll likely get inundated with 

credit card offers on campus and in the mail. But before 

you fill out an application, it’s important you understand 

the risks. No matter the card or who’s making the offer, 

credit cards increase your exposure to identity theft, can 

saddle you with high-interest debt and may negatively 

impact your credit history.

THE REAL COST 
of credit card debt

When you use a credit card, you are borrowing money that 

you must pay back. If you don’t pay off your balance each 

month, interest accrues at the Annual Percentage Rate 

(APR). As result, a finance charge is added to the amount 

you borrowed. If you don’t pay off your balance every 

month, your credit card debt can increase quickly—espe-

cially if your card charges a high percentage rate.

Let’s do the math. Say you have a $5,000 balance on a card 

with an 18% APR and a 2% minimum payment. If you pay 

the minimum every month, it will take you about seven 

years and seven months to pay off the debt. Even though 

your balance may be $5,000, you end up paying $9,000 to 

the credit card company!

Check your monthly statement to make sure it’s accurate. 

This is especially important with ATM cards, because you 

may be liable for fraudulent charges if you do not report 

the problem quickly.

SMART WAYS 
to use credit

Don’t take out cash advances unless there is a serious 

emergency. These advances usually carry hefty finance 

charges, and interest accrues on them right away.

Don’t exceed your credit limit. If your balance goes above 

your limit, your credit card company will probably raise 

your APR and charge you a fee.

Keep only a couple of credit cards. Having numerous cards 

makes it easy to charge more than you can afford. They also 

raise the odds you’ll become an identity theft victim.

Be careful transferring balances to a card that isn’t paid 

off. Cards normally charge different APRs for purchases, 

cash advances and balance transfers. 

Use your college years to build a good credit rating. Pay 

your credit card bills on time, stay within your credit limits 

and don’t take on too much debt. Remember that employers 

often review a credit report before they hire employees!

IF YOUR DEBT GETS
out of hand

Stop making purchases on the card and talk to your credit 

card company. They may be willing to restructure your 

payments and reduce your APR. If you have more than one 

card, pay off the card with the highest APR first.
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