
WHAT IS
a protective    
order?

A protective order is a civil 

court order issued to 

prevent continuing acts of 

family violence.

person violates the order and law enforcement is notified, officials will act 

to arrest the person and seek to have charges filed. If a person violates 

the protective order in the presence of law enforcement, he or she must 

be arrested immediately.  A person who violates an ex parte protective 

order may be punished for contempt of court by a fine of up to $500 or 

up to six months in jail, or both. In cases involving violation of a regular 

protective order, the offender may be punished by a fine of up to $4,000, 

jail for up to one year, or both. 

In any law enforcement, prosecutorial or judicial response to allegations 

of family violence, the responding law enforcement or judicial officers 

shall protect the victim, without regard to the relationship between the 

alleged offender and victim.

WHAT OTHER OPTIONS 
are available?

A Magistrate’s Order for Emergency Protection may be issued when a 

defendant appears before a magistrate after arrest for an offense involv-

ing family violence or a sexual assault. The order may be issued on the 

magistrate’s own motion or at the request of the victim, the victim’s  guard-

ian, a peace officer or the attorney representing the State.

A Magistrate’s Order for Emergency Protection may prohibit the alleged 

offender from committing any further acts of family violence; communicat-

ing with you, with a member of your family or household, or with the person 

named in the order; or making any threats or going near your place of 

employment, household or business.  The alleged perpetrator may also be 

restricted from going near a school or day-care facility. The victim does not 

have to be present in court when the order is issued.

A violation of this order may be punishable by a fine of up to $4,000, by 

confinement in jail for up to one year, or both.

Remember, if someone has physically assaulted or threatened you, contact 

your local police department or sheriff’s office to press charges. Even if you 

are ineligible for a protective order, you may be able to have the person 

arrested for assault, criminal trespass or stalking. 

     CRIME VICTIM 
             services division

The Crime Victim Services Division consists of four sec -

tions: the Sexual Assault Prevention and Crisis Services 

Program, the Grant and Contract Management Section, 

the Statewide Automated Victim Notification Program 

and the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program.

CRIME VICTIMS’
         compensation

If you are a victim of family violence, you may be eligible 

for reimbursement of certain out-of-pocket expenses 

related to the crime. Please check our Web site or call 

for information and an application form.

Office of the Attorney General

P.O. Box 12198

Austin, Texas 78711-2198

(800) 983-9933 Statewide

(512) 936-1200 in Austin

(512) 936-1800 Fax

www.oag.state.tx.us

Texas Council on Family Violence

National Domestic Violence Hotline

(800) 799-SAFE (7233)

Women’s Advocacy Project

Family Violence Hotline

(800) 374-HOPE (4673)
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 How do I file 

a Protective Order?

what is
family violence?

Under Chapter 5 of the Code of Criminal Procedure, family violence is a 

serious danger and threat to society and its members. Victims of family 

violence are entitled to the maximum protection from harm or abuse or 

the threat of harm or abuse, as is permitted by law.

Family violence is defined as any act by one member of a family or 

household intended to physically harm another member, a serious 

threat of physical harm, the abuse of a child, or dating violence.

Dating violence is defined as any act by an individual intended to physi-

cally harm another individual with whom that person has or has had a 

dating relationship, or a serious threat of physical harm.  A dating rela-

tionship is defined as a relationship between individuals who have or 

have had a continuing relationship of a romantic or intimate nature.

The existence of such relationship shall be determined by considering 

the length of the relationship, the nature of the relationship, and the 

frequency and type of interaction between the persons involved in the 

relationship.  A casual relationship or ordinary fraternization in a busi-

ness or social context does not constitute a dating relationship.

Family includes blood relatives or relatives by marriage, former 

spouses, parents (married or not) of the same child, foster parents 

and foster children, or any member or former member of a household 

(people living in the same house, related or not).

An adult member of a family or household may apply for a protective 

order on behalf of another family member, and any adult may apply 

for an order to protect a child from family violence.  In addition, a 

prosecuting attorney may apply for an order to protect an alleged 

victim of family violence or sexual assault, and the Department of 

Family and Protective Services may request an order on behalf of a 

family violence victim. 

How Can I Get 
a protective order?

You can apply for a protective order in person, with the help of a 

private attorney or legal aid service program, or through a district 

or county attorney.  The application must be filed in the county in 

which you or the alleged offender live (in a case involving a pending 

divorce, the application may be filed in the county where you live or 

in the county where the divorce is pending.) 

What Information 
do I need to provide?

When you apply for a protective order, you must give the following infor-

mation: (1) the name of each applicant (victim) and the county where 

each applicant (victim) resides; (2) the name and county of residence of 

each individual who has committed family violence; (3) the relationship 

between the victim(s) and the alleged offender; (4) a request for one or 

more protective orders.

The victim should file for the order as soon as possible after the incident 

has occurred. If past incidents of family violence have occurred, the victim 

needs to provide this information to the attorney who files the protective 

order application.

how do i file

a protective order?

how much 
does it cost?

The applicant (victim) or an attorney representing the applicant may 

not be assessed a fee, cost, charge or expense by a district or county 

clerk or by a sheriff, constable or other public official or employee in 

connection with the filing, serving or entering or for any other ser-

vice. This includes any fees for dismissing, modifying or withdrawing 

a protective order, certifying copies, comparing copies to originals, 

court reporter fees, judicial fund fees, transferring a protective order 

or for any other service related to a protective order.

The court shall require the alleged offender to pay the fees incurred 

in connection with the protective order unless that person shows 

good cause or is indigent.

How Long Does it Take to receive 
and how long will it remain in effect?

Unless a later date is requested by the applicant, the court shall set 

a hearing date no later than 14 days after the application is filed. 

If after a hearing the court finds that family violence has occurred 

and is likely to occur again, the court shall issue a protective order. 

However, if the court finds, based on the information contained in 

the application, that there is a clear and present danger of family 

violence, the court may immediately issue a temporary ex parte 

order. The temporary order is valid for up to 20 days. Final protec-

tive orders are effective for up to two years.

What Happens 
if the protective order is violated?

Call the police immediately!! Remember, protective orders do not offer 

complete protection. No piece of paper can protect you from all instances 

of violence.

Law enforcement agencies are notified of all protective orders issued in 

their area and they are required to maintain a list of those orders. If a 

How Can 
a protective order help?

A protective order may prohibit a person from: 

• Committing further acts of family violence;

• Harassing or threatening the victim directly or communicating 

the threat indirectly through another person;

• Going to or near a school or day-care center attended by a 

child protected under the order; or

• Possessing a firearm.

In some situations, a protective order may also prohibit transfer or dis-

posal of property, establish possession and visitation of a child, order 

payment of child or spousal support for a period not to exceed one 

year, require mandatory counseling, or require a person to vacate the 

residence or other specified property, if certain conditions are met.

These additional provisions are not criminally enforceable. A person 

who violates them is not immediately arrested, but may be taken to 

civil court, found in contempt, fined, and jailed.

Who is Eligible 
for a protective order?

A protective order may be issued to:

•  a victim of family violence or dating violence as defined by the 

Texas  Family Code; or

•  a sexual assault victim who has been threatened with further 

harm.

Protective orders may be issued in a wide range of situations.  The 

victim and alleged offender may be married, divorced, live or for-

merly lived together in the same household, have or used to have a 

dating relationship, or have a child together. 


