January 22, 2015

Ms. Elizabeth Hanshaw Winn
Assistant County Attorney
County of Travis

P.O. Box 1748

Austin, Texas 78767

OR2015-01226

Dear Ms. Winn:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 551120.

The Travis County Sheriff’s Office (the “sheriff’s office”) received a request for a specified
incident report. You claim the submitted information is excepted from disclosure under
section 552.108 of the Government Code. We have considered the exception you claim and
reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.”' Gov’t
Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses section 261.201 of the Family Code, which
provides, in relevant part:

(a) [TThe following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act] and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by
an investigating agency:

'The Office of the Attorney General will raise a mandatory exception on behalf of a governmental
body, but ordinarily will not raise other exceptions. See Open Records Decision Nos. 481 (1987), 480
(1987), 470 (1987).
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(1) areport of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under this
chapter and the identity of the person making the report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed in an investigation under this chapter or in
providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k). Upon review, we find the submitted information was used or
developed in an investigation of alleged or suspected child abuse under chapter 261 of the
Family Code. See id. §§ 101.003(a) (defining “child” for purposes of this section as person
under 18 years of age who is not and has not been married or who has not had the disabilities
of minority removed for general purposes), 261.001(1) (defining “abuse” for purposes of
chapter 261 of the Family Code). Accordingly, we find the submitted information is subject
to chapter 261 of the Family Code. We note the requestor is the child victim listed in the
submitted report. However, the requestor is under eighteen years of age; thus, the requestor
does not have a right of access to this information under section 261.201(k). You have not
indicated the sheriff’s office has adopted a rule that governs the release of this type of
information. Therefore, we assume no such regulation exists. Given that assumption, we
conclude the sheriff’s office must withhold the submitted information in its entirety under
section 552.101 of the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201(a) of the
Family Code.? Furthermore, because section 261.201(a) protects all “files, reports, records,
communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers” related to an investigation
under section 261.201, the sheriff’s office must not release front page offense report
information. See id. § 261.201(a)(2).

2As our ruling is dispositive, we need not address your argument against disclosure.
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This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights
and responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/open/
orl_ruling_info.shtml, or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government
Hotline, toll free, at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for
providing public information under the Act may be directed to the Office of the Attorney
General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,

Kenny Moreland

Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
KIM/som

Ref: ID# 551120

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)




