KEN PAXTON

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS

March 18, 2015

Ms. Doris Preusse

Supervisor

Central Records

Pflugerville Police Department
P.O. Box 679

Pflugerville, Texas 78691

OR2015-05196

Dear Ms. Preusse:

You ask whether certain information is subject to required public disclosure under the
Public Information Act (the “Act”), chapter 552 of the Government Code. Your request was
assigned ID# 562066.

The Pflugerville Police Department (the “department™) received a request for information
pertaining to a specified incident. You claim the submitted information is excepted from
disclosure under section 552.101 of the Government Code.! We have considered the
exception you claim and reviewed the submitted information.

Section 552.101 of the Government Code excepts from disclosure “information considered
to be confidential by law, either constitutional, statutory, or by judicial decision.”
Gov’t Code § 552.101. Section 552.101 encompasses information made confidential by
section 261.201 of the Family Code, which provides, in relevant part, as follows:

(a) [TThe following information is confidential, is not subject to public
release under [the Act], and may be disclosed only for purposes consistent
with this code and applicable federal or state law or under rules adopted by
an investigating agency:

'Although you also raised section 552.108 of the Government Code as an exception to disclosure, you
provided no arguments regarding the applicability of this section. Accordingly, we assume you no longer assert
this section. See Gov’t Code §§ 552.301, .302.
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(1) a report of alleged or suspected abuse or neglect made under
[chapter 261 of the Family Code] and the identity of the person
making the report; and

(2) except as otherwise provided in this section, the files, reports,
records, communications, audiotapes, videotapes, and working papers
used or developed in an investigation under [chapter 261 of the
Family Code] or in providing services as a result of an investigation.

(k) Notwithstanding Subsection (a), an investigating agency, other than the
[Texas Department of Family and Protective Services] or the Texas Youth
Commission, on request, shall provide to the parent, managing conservator,
or other legal representative of a child who is the subject of reported abuse
or neglect, or to the child if the child is at least 18 years of age, information
concerning the reported abuse or neglect that would otherwise be confidential
under this section. The investigating agency shall withhold information
under this subsection if the parent, managing conservator, or other legal
representative of the child requesting the information is alleged to have
committed the abuse or neglect.

Fam. Code § 261.201(a), (k). Upon review, we find the submitted reports were used or
developed in investigations of alleged or suspected child abuse. See id. § 261.001(1)
(defining “abuse” for purposes of Fam. Code ch. 261); see also id § 101.003(a)
(defining “child” for purposes of this section as person under 18 years of age who is not and
has not been married or who has not had the disabilities of minority removed for general
purposes). Thus, we find the submitted reports fall within the scope of section 261.201(a).
As we have no indication the department has adopted a rule that governs the release of this
type of information, we assume no such rule exists. Given that assumption, we conclude the
department must withhold report number 06030067 in its entirety under section 552.101 of
the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201 of the Family Code.
See Open Records Decision No. 440 at 2 (1986) (addressing predecessor statute).

However, we note the requestor is the child victim listed in report number 06030066, and the
requestor is now an adult. Therefore, the department may not withhold this report from the
requestor on the basis of section 261.201(a). See id. § 261.201(k). Accordingly, the
department must release report number 06030066 to the requestor pursuant to
section 261.201(k) of the Family Code.

In summary, the department must withhold report number 06030067 under section 552.101
of the Government Code in conjunction with section 261.201(a) of the Family Code. The
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department must release report number 06030066 to this requestor pursuant to
section 261.201(k) of the Family Code.*

This letter ruling is limited to the particular information at issue in this request and limited
to the facts as presented to us; therefore, this ruling must not be relied upon as a previous
determination regarding any other information or any other circumstances.

This ruling triggers important deadlines regarding the rights and responsibilities of the
governmental body and of the requestor. For more information concerning those rights
and responsibilities, please visit our website at http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/open/
orl_ruling_info.shtml, or call the Office of the Attorney General’s Open Government
Hotline, toll free, at (877) 673-6839. Questions concerning the allowable charges for
providing public information under the Act may be directed to the Office of the Attorney
General, toll free, at (888) 672-6787.

Sincerely,

Britni Fabian

Assistant Attorney General
Open Records Division
BF/bhf

Ref: ID# 562066

Enc. Submitted documents

c: Requestor
(w/o enclosures)

“Because the requestor has a special right of access under section 261.201 (k) of the Family Code a
to the information being released, if the department receives another request for this information from a
different requestor, it must again seek a ruling from this office.




