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Texas State Board of Embalming
Austin, Texas

Dear Sir: Attention: Mr. Chas. B. Cook, Secre-
tary.

Opinion No. 0-2695

Re: Authority of the Texas State
Board of Embalming to require
$20.00 examination fee of ap-
pliocants for license eas funeral
director.

This will acknowledge receipt of your letter of August 30, 1940,
requesting the opinion of this department upon the above stated question.
Your letter reads as follews:

"Article 4582A of the Criminal Statuter of Texas, an Act inoreas-
ing the powers and duties of the State Board of Embalming so as to pre-~
seribe and maintain a standard of proficiency as to the qualifications of
those engaged, and who may engage, in the practice of funeral directing
in connection with the care and disposition of dead humen bodies, by
providing that the State Board shall adopt rules, regulations, and by-
laws for the examination emd licemnsing of funeral directors.

"Seotion 2 of this Act reads in part: ‘'Any person or persons en-
gaged in, the practioce of funeral directing in conneetion with the care
and disposition of dead human bodies within this State shall make a writ-
ten application to the State Board of Embalming for a license, accompany-
ing the same with a license fee of Five ($5.00) Dollars.!

"Fhen an applicant passes the examination and is issued a license,
this $56 fee places the license in force until the 31st day of May follow-
ing, &t which time the licensee payz a renewal fee for the next year.

"The Board, after due consideration, is convinced that there
should be an examination fee of $20, making a total of $25 to be paid by
the applicant at the time application is filed, whioh would cover the

expense of examination and the first year's fee.

"Would it take an Act of the Legislature to put this into ef-
fect, or does the Board have the power to adopt & rule requiring an ap-
plicant to accompany the applieation with a fee of 261"
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We have carefully examined the provisions of Chapter 12 of Title

71 of the Revised Civil Statutes of Texas, Articles 4676a, et seq.,
Vernen's Annotated Civil Statutes, and note that the Legislature provided

an initial license fee of $10.00 for embalmers in Article 4578 and in
Article 4582a provided for an initial license fee of $5.00 for funeral
directors. The smount of the fees to be paid for license as embalmer or
funeral directors has been fixed by the Legisleture and no disoretion re-
maing in the Board te enlarge or lessen these fees under its power to enact
reasorable rules and regulations, If the power to enact reasonable rules
and regulations did embrace the authority to provide, fix, or change fees,
8 serious question of unconstitutional delegation of legislative authority
would result. See 17 R, C. L. B35,

It follows and you are respectfully advised that in the absence
of legislative authorization the Texas State Board of Embalming is withe=
out power or authority to exact an examination fee of $20.00 from appli-
cants for licemnse as funeral director.
Very truly yours

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS
By s/ James D, Smullen

Jsmes D. Smullen
Assistant
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APPROVED SEP. 9, 1940
8/Gerald C. Mann
ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS

APFROVED Opinion Committee By BWE Chairman



