
OFFICE OF TNE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS 

iionoreble D. C. Greer 

Dear Sir: 

i4tb4r or ~0~4mr 9, 
f this Dopartmont upon 

ration of m4toz rrhi4148 
44 of 8ale in another 
e4n (LOU, wail6 thm 

dl In Sootton r)#aboto quote6 
4 oporatrd unQ4r it8 own 
44 in BOW oth4r Stat4 for 

ct (b) when a sombinatlon of 
nb the other, both OS whloh 
in nnother~ Stat4 r- the 

4n year; (4 1 It ‘yuQation 1-b i8 444u4raQ 
a, woul.6 the )3.00 i4r bo payable on the 
g the lnotirs power, as well as the 74hi414 
If iiu4etion l-a $4 answsred ln the artlram- 

l be any conrlset behrsn S44tienr 2 4xd S 
oted Statutes ineofar a8 a paareng4r-typ4 

"(2) Consldsring the fast that srery rehiole at on4 
time or another has been eoU, re-4Old or tmded, under 
what ciroumetanaes would the paynmt of the $5.00 t4r 
apply if either Queatlons l-a or l-b 4r4 armwere in the 
negative? 



Eonorable D. C. Greer, page e 

“(3) <Gould the payment of the ~‘3.00 fee required 
under Sectlon 2 ebove quoted apply when two vehicles, 
both properly registered ir? another state, OGB being 
towed behind the other, are transported through this 
Ltate and no eal4 ie contemplated?” 

Theee questiona are controlled by the following 
proviso quoted from Seotlon i3, ~tiole f327b. Vernon’s mno- 
tated Penal Code of Texas: 

“Provided, however, none of the provisions of this 
section shall apply to or exempt the operator, owner or 
lessee of any motor vehiole being drireti under its own 
powm, or towed or otherwise transported by bskng at- 
taohed or ooupled to aone other vehicle from or through 
this State over the highivsys thereof, for the purrpore of 
ssla, re-sals or trade ir! another atate, or after having 
been sold, resold, or traded to ~lny pereon, oompany, 
aorporation, or asrooiation in another stat*, but eaoh 
auoh motor vehiole shall be rogiatered for the department 
through the oounty tax collector of the firat oounty 
through which a&id motor vohia1.s paaeee arter entering 
ttls State; or ii moving from this atate to another 
state, of the county from whiofr aaid motor vehiole first 
moved, and a registration fee of #a.00 tar eaoh euoh 
tohlcle shall be paid to said tax colleotor unless suoh 
motor vehicle &s been previously registered rtth the 
department in lawful manner and lloenee fees paid. . . .* 

Whether or not a vehicle so operated through or wlthln 
the State of Texas has been registered in another state for the 
ourrent reglstrction year is Immaterial. tie therefore answer 
your question 1 (a) in the affirmative. The above quoted pro- 
vialon of the statute provides that the fee ia payable whether 
the vahlole is moving under its own power or is being towed 
or otherwise transportad, whioh answera your queetlon 1 (b) in 
the arrlrmative. For the same reason queetion 1 (0) is answered 
In the affirmative, it appearing from the statute that the $3.00 
fee is payable upon aaoh and every vehlole moved from or through 
this Stats, regclrdless of how it is moved. 
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No c0diiat appsara betwaen s~otiona 2 and 3 0r 
Artlole 829b. seotion 3 relater only to the tmaporrry 
reglrtratlon 0r a non-reeiaent paWeAgOr car; s.r the pa8aerimr 
oar is 60 operated arr to rall rlthln the quotaa prod80 or 
Section 2, Section 3 would bar0 no application. 

It la unasoesrary to oowldar your QUO8tiOA 8 aiAO0 
all three prior quoatlona hare boon uunrad in the arrirmutira. 

Your question 3 la again eontrolled by the provialona 
or 6OOtiOA 8, Artid. 889b. Ir A0 sale ie eORt~platOa the 
prod*0 quoted would hare A0 applloatiom, 8inoo It l p dr id4  
rtater that It applier only In the oam ot oparatlon over the 
hIghWaya of Texea for the purpors of 8610, mm&la or trade in 
anothar ateto or ertor bavfng bson #old, rasolA or traded to 
aAY PbraOAt aompany, oorporatlcm or arlooiation in anothor 8tats. 

Ye eAoloae oopisa 0r opiAloAa Ekunber9 O-9, 0464, 
O-l893 ana O-2063, whloh relate to '6imilar question8 arising 
ruzaor Artiole 02lb. 

Youra wry truly 

ROrAJ& 

3iNNCLoSW~ 

APFROVEDDEC 


