"\

3

™

It

"? OFFICE OF THE ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS
V AUSTIN

€, MANR
GERALD

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
311 Rorwood »ullding
Austin, Texas

Gentl emeny Attention ~ M ardin, Jr.

Opinion Ne, 0-85592

of

Your letter of Aupus

1, requesting our
construction of the Ag

s of" the Bth Legislature, relat-
g3, has been given

tions which you Dgve e give you our comstruct-
ion of the Act as Pq P43,y and feel sure you can
then prepg § strustle and regulations eonceruning
tne wat € eeded, without further as-~

quiriss st s DMt give you our construction of the
anendmaen of the 43th Legislature affecting

the practy lenkstry, as contained in Senate Li1l 278,
page 578, ts of the Regular Session of the 48th Legisla-

ture,

Section 1 of Article 4550a, as amonded, provided
that each dentist shall be registered with the State Board
of Dental Exaxilnera om or before March ist of each calen-
dar year, and pay a registration fee of $5.00. It is our
construction of this portion of the Act that the annual
fee means for the calendar year beginning with March i1st
of each year, and that a ¢5.00 fee is required of each den-
tist for each year, and same is due to be paid on or befure
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the first day of each successive Maroch. Unless paid by
that time, then before his license 1s reinstated by the
Dental Board, he is required to pay an additional $5.00,
plus his delinquent annual payment.

If a dentist is now delinquent for his 19493
dues, or was delinquent on May 18th, whem the new lav
took effect, before has can have his license reneved,
he must pay the annual dues of §5,00, plus the $8.00
penalty, and the new licensé or registration would ex-
pire on karch 1, 1944, at which tine another annual
dues will he payable.

I1f a dentist becowes delincuent because he
did not pay his dues by karch 1, 1944, defore he can
be reinstated, bhe must pay his $5.00 dues for 1944,
plus & $5.00 penalty, and the registration certifi-
cate given upon said restoration would expire on March
1,; 1845.

¥ith referencad to the dentists who are in
the Armed ¥orces, the last sentonce of Seetion 2, of
Article 45803 reads:

®*provided, hovever, ihat the require~
ments governing the payment of annual regls-
tratien fees and penalties for late regis-
tration shall not apply te licensees who
are on active duty with the Armed Forces
of the United States of America and are
not eangaged in private or civilian prac-
tice,"

Cuy interpreotation of this exemption is that if
a dentist stands the examination hefore the Roard and ob-
tains his license while he 1s in the Armed Forcas, or have
ing previously cbtained his ilcense and is in the Arzed
vorees, he will not owe any duee before karch 1, 1044, If,
on uarch 1, 1644, he is still in sald service, he will not
he required to pay any of the annual dues for the year and-~
ing karch 1, 1945, If, however, he is not in the Armed
¥orces prior to xarch 1, 1944, he ¥1ll owe the 45,00 dues
for the year, beginning at that time, and will deccme de-
linquent on karch 1, 1644, although bhe may enter the ser-
vice on karch 24, or at any time thereafter. If, as a
matter of fact, he 1is delinquent at the time he goes into
the service, then wvhen he comes oul, before he ¢an have his
license reinstated, be 7111 be compelled to pay all of his
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dnes that were in arrears that bhecame due before he entered
thoe service, together with all the penalties that attached
before he entered tha service.

There is no specific provision in the statute as
to hov the Board may know or determine whether a dentist
i in the gervice of the Arned Forces. 1t would be entime-
1y proper, and ve think the best way to asoertain these
facts, to have each dentist who goes inte thoe Armed Forces
notify the Board of sald fact, and send such information
relative thereto, as the Soard might need in determining
the truthfulness of the dontist's repres2ntations. If, as
a matter of fact, a dentist is in the Armed Foreces on or
before karch 1st of any year, and remains until af'ter March
1st of said year, he cannot be made to pey the €5.,00 regis-
tration fee for said year, neither can he be wmade to pay
the $5.00 penalty for having failed to register.

¥e trust that what we have said sufficiently
answers your inquiry. I[f there is any further information
deglired, let us know.

Yery truly yours
ATTORNEY GENFRAL OF TEXAS

Gea. W, Barcus
Assistant
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