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Honorable J. L. Curlee, Secretary
State Board of Barber Examlners
. Austln, Texas
. Opinion No. O-6444
Re: Authorlty of Board of
Barber Examiners to ex-
empt a registered barber
or registered assistant
barber from the payment
of registration fees
: preacribed in Sec. 20,
Dear Sir: Art. T34a, V.A.P.C.

We are in receipt of your letter of recent date
requesting the opinion of this department on the above
stated matter.

Your letter reads, in part, as follows:

"Does the Board of Barber Examiners have
the authority to exempt a reglstered barber
or reglstered asslstant barber, now in the

- . armeg forces, from paylng the registratlion
fee,

Sec. 20, Article T34a, V.A.P.C., provides:

"That every registered barber and every regis-
tered assistant barber, who continues in actlve
practice or service, shall annually on or before
the 1st day of November of each year renew his
certificate of registration which shall be issued
by the Board of Barber Examiners, upon the pay-
ment of a renewal fee of Two Dollars and Fifty
Cents ($2.50). Every certificate of regilstra-
tion which has not been renewed pricr to that
date shall explire on the 1lsf day of November of
L that year. A registered barber or a registered
assistant barber, whose certificate of registra-
tion may, within thirty (30) days thereafter, and
not later, have hils certificate of registration
restored upon making a satlsfactory showing to the
Board, supported by hls personal affidavit, which,
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in the opinion of the Board, will excuse the
applicant for having falled to renew his certi-
ficate wlthin the time regulred by this Act.

Any registered barber who retires from the prac-
tice of barbering for not more than five (5?
years may renew his certiflicate of reglstration
by making proper showing to the Board, supported
by hls personal affidavit, which 1n the opinion
of the Board would Justify the Board in issuing

a certificate to such applicant as upon an original
gpplicatlion upon payment of & fee of five dollars
($5.00) when filing affidavit as fee for making
examination."

Sec. 1, Article 734a, V.A.P."., provides:

"That it shall be unlawful for any person to
engage in the practice or attempt to practlce bar-
bering in the State of Texas wlithout a certificate
or registration as a registersd barber lssued pur-
suant to the provisions of thils Ash, by the Board
of Barber Examiners hereinafter created."

Sec. 2, Article T34a;, V.A.P.C. provides:

"That it shall be unlawful for any person to
serve or attempt to serve as an assistant barber
under a registered barber within the State of
Texas without a certificate of reglstration as a
reglstered asslstant barber, 1lssued by the Board
herein provided for."

Article 1, Sec. 28, Constitution of Texas pro-
vides:

"No power of suspending laws in this State
shall be exercised except by the Legislature.”

The Legislature has undoubtasd powsr o amsend or
change existing statutory law, inciuding that which is
contained in a code or revision, in order to meet changing
conditions. An Act may be amended durlng the sesslion at
whilch 1t was passed or at any subsequent sesslion, by en-
actment specifically setting forth its changed tsarms.

(39 Tex. Jur., p. 125, and authorities cited therein)

In view of the foregoling, it is the oplnion of thils
department that the State Board of Barber Examlners is
without power to waive or suspend the requirements of Seec.
20, Article 734a, V.A.P.C.
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Whether such law should be amended or repealed is
a matter to be determined by the Leglslature.

Trusting that the foregoing fully answers your in-
quiry, we remain

Yours very truly,

ATTORNEY GENERAL OF TEXAS

By .
Jo\*'Au ElliS

Asgigtant
JAE:ddt



