
ORNEY @;ENEKA 

Honorable Woodard Bass 
County Attorney 
Wichita County 
Wichita Falls, Texas 

Attention8 Mr. Henry Anderson, Jr. 

Dear Sir: Opinion No. o-6517 . 
Re: Under the provisions of~Article 7331, 

R. t. s., as amended, the County Tax 
Collector is entitled to oollect the 
$1.00 costs only once for each year on 
all the property of the taxpayer taken 
together, regardless of the time of 
payment by a taxpayer of delinquent taxes 
on different parcels of property which he 
owns and whi& payments qr,e made at differ- 
ent times. 

We quote from your letter to us of April 4, 1945, as follows: 

"A certain property owner has rendered all of his property in the county 
in one rendition, but did not pay the taxes until after four years had 
gone delinquent. He then requested two tax staten&nts; one covering 
part of the property in the assessment, and the other covering the 
remainder of the property in the assessment. On each statement, the 
county tax collector included $1.03 per year as costs. The property 
owner paid the taxes as shown on one of the statements, including the 
$1.00 per year Costs; and a few days later tendered payment of the 
taxes shown on the other statement, less the $1.00 per year costs. 
The collector refused to take the payment without the $1.00 per year 
costs. 

"Under Art. 7331 of Vernon's Texas Statutes, is the county tax collector 
entitled to collect the $1.00 costs on each statement, when the taxes 
on a part of the property in a single assessment is paid at one time, 
and later the remainder, of the property is said assessment is paid?" 

Article 7331, Revised Civil Statutes, as amended in 1930, provides in part 
as follows: 
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"For calculating and preparing redemption certificates and receipts, 
reporting and crediting redemptions, posting Comptroller's redemption 
numbers on the delinquent tax record or annual delinquent list, 
mailing cekificates of redemption to taxpayers after approval by the 
Comptroller, and for issuing receipts or certificates of redemption 
for the property shown on the annual delinquent list, the tax 
collector shell be entitled to a fee of One Dollar ($1.00 for each 
correct assessment of land to be sold, said fee to be taxed ss caste 
against the delinquent. Correct assessment as herein used means the 
inventory of all properties owned by an individual for any one year.” 
(Emphasisours.) 

The Texas Supreme Court held that under the old law, the Tax Collector was 
entitled to $1.00 for each tract included within the assessment. State 
vs. Slat&r, 38 S. W. (26) 1097. 

Since the statute was changed to its present form by the 1930 amendment, 
however, this office has uniformly held that "regardless of the time of 
payment by a taxpayer of delinquent taxes on different parcels of property~ 
which he owns spd,which payments are made at different times, the One 
Dollar fee providedin Article 7331 is oollectable only once by the 
Tax Collector for each year on all the property of the taxpsyek taken to- 
gether. ” (See Opinion No. o-1619, a oopy of which is enclosed.) 

Other opinions of this depsrtment reaching the same conclusion inolude 
two opinions written on February 5, 1931, and on February 12, 1931, 
respectively, by Assistant Attorney General F. 0. MaKinsey, end a 
conference opiqion dated August 18, 1933, written by Assistant Attorney 
General Homer C. DeWolfe. 

We answer your question in the nagative. 

Yours very truly, 

ATTORNEY OE!NERAL OF TEXAS 

s/ J. Arthur Sandlin 

By J. Arthur Sandlin 
Assistant 

JAk:rt/ ldw 

APPROVED MAY 3, 1945 
s/ CARLCG c. ASHLFY 
FIRST ASSISTANT 
ATTORNEX CFXEPAL 

APBOVED OPINION COMMITTEE 
By B.W. B. 
CHAIRMAN 


