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December 8, 1950 

Hon. D. W. Miles, R.D., President 
Texas State Board of 

Haturopathic Examiners 
Houston, Texas opinion No. V-1128. 

Ret 

Dear Sira 

Authority of the State 
Board of Naturopathic 
Examiners to collect a 
license fee of $50.00 
from all applicants who 
am licensed other than 
by examination. 

followsr 
Your request for'an opinion is 

?e desire the opinion of your 

substantially as 

Office 
regarding the legality of the State Board 
of Naturopathic Examiners1 requiring all 
persons liaenssd under the provisions of 
Article 4590d, V.C.S., other than those 
licensed after passing an examination, to 
pa~l;r;egistration or license fee of fifty 

. 

'At the first meeting of the Board, 
which was held in IVovember, 1949, it adopt- 
ed a resolution requiring all persons ll- 
tensed under the provisions of Article 
45906, V.C.S. to pay a registration or ll- 
tense fee of fifty dollars, except in in- 
stances where the license was granted after 
examination. Such fees were to be need in 
defraying the expenses incurred In licens- 
ing qualified applicants and in aiding In 
the enforcement of the statutes of Texas 
regulating the practice of naturopathy. 
The Board estimated that the probable ex- 
pense of lioenses, printing, stationery, 
per diem, travel, regulation, supervision 
and other connected expenssa would total 
about Fifty ($50.00) Dollars per licensee. 
After the above resolution was adopted, 
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the Board adopted and approved the appll- 
cation for license form under the above 
provisions. The form adopted and used re- 
quired all such licensees to pay the above 
fee. The Board construed the first sen- 
tence of Section 3, article 4590d V.C.S. 
and the next-to-last sentence of Se&Ion 
1, article 45906 V.C.S. as authorizing the 
above action. 

*All licensees under the above provi- 
sion have remitted In the above amount as 
a registration or license fee, and the au- 
thority of the Board In requiring said fee 
has not been challenged by any member of 
the profession. However, the State audi- 
torts offioe has requested that we secure 
your opinion relative to the legality of 
the above. * 

Section 1 of Article 4590d, V.C.S., provides 
la part: 

* . The Board may prescribe ad&n- 
lstrativi rules and regulations, in harmony 
with the provisions of this title governing 
Its own prooeebings and the examlnatlons of 
appll~ants for the practloe of naturopathy. 
. . . 

Section 3 of Article &jgOd, V.C .S., provides 
in part: 

“The State Board of Raturopathic Xx- 
aminers may, In the disoretlon of the Board 
In each instance, upon payment by the appll- 
cants for re 
Dollars ($50 7 

lstratlon of a fee of Fifty 
grant lloense to practice na- 

turopathy to any reputable naturopathic phy- 
slolan who Is a graduate of a reputable 
naturopathic college or has qualified on 
examination for the license of naturopathic 
qualification for a oommieslon as a natur- 
opathic physician in the Medical Corps of 
the United States Army or navy and to ll- 
centlates of other States or Territories 
having requirements for naturopathic regls- 
tratlon and practice equal to those estab- 
Used by this Law. . . .I 
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Section 12 of Article 4590d, V~.C.S., provides; 

“Any natuPopathlc physlclan who has 
been practlslng naturopathy In this State 
for three (3) years next preceding the 
passage of this Act and when membershlp 
was not fraudulently obtained, shall be 
granted a license under the provisions of 
this Act, provided however, that any na- 
turopathic physician having resided In 
Texas ~three (3) years and having practiced 
naturopathy for one (1) year in Texas next 
preceding the passage of this Act will not 
be required to have a certificate of pro- 
ficiency from the Minimum Standards Board 
as a prerequisite for obtaining such na- 
turopathic 1lcense:~naturopathic physl- 
clans in practice lq this State for more 
than one (1) year, but less than three (3) 
years, shall be examined in theory, phi- 
losophy, pathology, practice, symptomatol- 
ogy, and diagnosis, peculiar to naturopathy; 
all naturopathic physlclans who have been 
in practice In this State for less than one 
(1) year shall be required to take examlna- 
tlons as provided in Seotlon 8 hereof .* 

It is well settled as a rule of statutory con- 
struction In this State that it Is proper to look to all 
parts of a legislative Act to ascertain its proper con- 
struction and meaning, that Is, to ascertain the legls- 
latlve Intent. It Is the legislative intent that is the 
law. In applying this rule courts will not look alone 
to one phrase, clause, or sentence of an Act, but to the 
entire Act, and this Includes the caption, the body of 
the Act, and the emergency clause. Trawalter v. Schae- 
fer 142 Tex. 521, 179 S.W.W 765 ( 
%&on, 121 Tex. 615, 51 S.W.2d 680 

44) P &am V. Pat- 

-sections 3 and 12 of Article 
l&).o Thi. b ing 

4590d will be’coi- 
sldered together, and when considered together it Is 
reasonable to conclude that the Legislature Intended 
that a license fee of $50.00 be exacted of all persons 
licensed under the provlslons of Article 45qOd, except 
where such license was granted after an examination. 

Since the enactment of the provisions under 
discussion, the State Board of lVaturopatNc,Examiners 
has followed the practice of requiring all persons ll- 
tensed under the provisions of Article 4590d to pay a 
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license fee of $50.00, except where such license was 
granted after examination. In fact, a resolution was 
adopted by the Board In lVovember of 1949 requiring such 
licenae fee . As previously observed, such a construc- 
tion is reasonable and sound. Furthermore, the statute 
being somewhat ambiguous the departmental construction 
placed on the Act with respect to the requirement of 
license fees should be.followed 
San Antonio Union Jun%or Collene Mst. v 

241 206 S W 26 99> (1947) . 
s!knce Ass In v: Holmes, 145 T 
9461 . 

In view of the foregoing It is our opinion 
that the Act in question (Art. 4590d, V.C.S .) kuthor- 
lzes the State Board of IVaturopathlc Examiners to col- 
lect a license fee of $50.00 from each applicant who 
is llosnsed other than by examination. 

SUMMARY 

Artlole 45904, V.C.S., authorizes the 
State Board of Iiaturopathia Examiners to 
collect a license fee of $50.00 from all 
applicants who are licensed other than by 
examlnatlon. 

APPROVED? 

Ji C. Davis, Jr. 
County Affairs Mvlslon 

Everett Hutchinson 
Executive Assistant 

~Charles D. Mathews 
First Assistant 

Bwazlw 

Yours very truly, 

PRICE DANIEL 
Attorney General 

hn”c”y’ w 
Burnell’ Waldrep 

Assistant 


