
Hon. W. A. Hadden 
County Attorney 
Pecos county 
Fort Stockton, Texas 

Dear Mr. Hadden: 

August 8, 1952 

Opinion Ho. V-l.501 

Re: Which section of Article 
6687b, V.C.S., is vio- 
lated when a Texas resl- 
dent operates an automo- 
bile during the time that 
his operator's license 
has been suspended. 

In your letter requesting an opinion of this 
office , you state the following facts: 

"The State Highway Patrolman who resides 
here has arrested a party, who has had his op- 
erator's license suspended for six months under 
conviction of unlawfully operating an automobile 
upon a public highway in this county, and de- 
sires to file a charge against this person for 
operating a motor vehicle during the six months' 
suspension. 

"The party convicted and who has now dls- 
obeyed the six months' suspension judgment is a 
local man and had a Texas llcense, not a foreign 
license." 

You ask whether a complaint based on these facts 
should be filed under Section 27 or under Section 34 of 
Article 6687b, V.C.S. 

Sections 27, 34 and 44 of Article 6687b read as 
follows: 

"Sec. 27. Bo operation under foreign 11: 
tense during suspension or revocation in this 
State. 

"No person, resident or nonresident, whose 
operator's, commercial operator's, or chauffeur's 
license or privilege to operate a motor vehicle 
In this State has been suspended or revoked a8 
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provided In this Act shall operate a motor 
vehicle In this State under a license, per- 
mit, or registration certificate issued by 
any other jurisdiction or otherwise during 
such suspension cr after such revocation 
until a new license is obtained when and as 
permitted under this Act." 

P 
endeS;;.r;:okerlvlng while license sus- 

"Any person whose operator's, commercial 
operator's, or chauffeur's license or drlv- 
ing privilege as a nonresident has been can- 
celled, suspended, or revoked as provided In 
this Act, and who drives any motor vehicle 
upon the highways of this State while such 
license or privilege Is cancelled, suspended, 
or revoked Is guilty of a misdemeanor, and, 
upon conviction, shall be punished by fine of 
not less than Twenty-five Dollars ( 
not more than Five Hundred Dollars P 

25), and 
$500), 

and In addition thereto, there may be Imposed 
a sentence of imprisonment not to exceed six 
(6) months." 

"Sec. 44. Penalty for violation of Act. 

"(a) It shall be a misdemeanor for any 
person to violate any of the provisions of 
this Act unless such violation is by this Act 
or other l.aws of this State declared to be a 
felony. 

"(b) In addition to any other penalties 
hereinbefore provided, and unless another 
penalty is In this Act or by the laws of this 
State provided, every person convicted of a 
misdemeanor for the violation of any provision 
of this Act shall be punished by fine of not 
more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200)." 

Section 34 Is the proper section under which a 
charge should be brought against a Texas resident who 
drives a motor vehicle on Texas highways after his license 
to drive has been suspended. See Persall v. State, 169 
S.W.28 488 (Tex. Crlm. 1943). It Is also the &roper sec- 
tion for a charge against a nonresident whose driving 
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privilege as a nonresident" has been suspended& The 
word "nonresident" in Section 34 has reference to the 
words "driving privilege" and not to the words 'op- 
erator's, 
cense." 

commercial operatorts, or chauffeur's li- 
In other words, the statute has the same mean- 

ing as If It had said "any person whose operator's, 
commercial operator's, or chauffeur's license has been 
cancelled, suspended or revoked, or any person whose 
driving privilege as a nonresident has been cancelled, 
suspended or revoked, etc." Section 34 is therefore 
appl-dent whose license, of whatever 
sort, has been se or revoked, and to a, nonresl- 
dent whose "driving privilege" has been suspended or 
revoked. 

Section 27, on the other hand, is applicable 
only against a resident or a nonresident whose license 
.(operator's, commercial operator's, or chauffeur's) 
or privilege to operate a motor vehicle has been sus- 
pended or revoked, and who operates a motor vehicle in 
Texas w another license. oermlt. or registration 
certificate Issued by some other jurisdiction or other- 
wise. The commission of an offense under this section 
isconditioned upon the existence of such a license, 
permit or registration certificate. The gist of this 
offense Is an attempt to evade detection of a vlola- 
tlon of a suspension or revocation by procuring or us- 
ing another license. 

Therefore, the person with whom you are con- 
cerned cannot be charged under Section 27 unless he is 
operating under another license, permit, or registration 
certificate issued by another jurisdiction or otherwise. 
Section 34 Is the proper section. 

A Texas resident who drives a motor ve,r 
hicle on Texas highways while his operator's 
license has been suspended may be prosecuted 
under the provisions of Section 34 of Article 
fjfj87b, Vernon's Civil Statutes. Section 27 
of that Article defines an additional offense 
of operating under another license, such RI! a 
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foreign license, while such suspension la 
in effect. 

Yours very truly, 

APPROVED: 

lpeu PleDaniel 
State Affairs EdvisIon 

PRICE DAHIEL 
Attorney ffeneral 

Mary K. Wall 
Reviewing Assistant 

BY 

Charles S.'Mathews 
Finst Assistant 

RL/ec 


