
TEIEA'ITORSEY GENERAL 

Ma.rch 5, 1962 

Honorable Jesse 
State Treasurer 

James Opinion No. W-1264 
State Treasurer’s Office 
Austin, Texas 

Dear Mr. James: 

Re: Whether Section 4 of Article 
3272a, V.C.S., and the certl- 
flcatlon of the State Treas- 
urer to the Attorney Genera.1 
would prohibit a holder of 
property subject to the pro- 
visions of said Article, 
from making restoration of 
such property to its reported 
owner at any time subsequent 
to the 120 day interval from 
the date the report was re- 
ceived by the State Treasurer 
and the date the suit referred 
to in Section 4 is finally 
adjudicated. 

Your question is whether Section 4 of Article 3272a., 
Vernon’s Civil Statutes, prohibits a holder of property subject 
to the provisions of that statute from restoring such property 
to its reported owner between the expiration of 120 days from 
the date the report was received by the State Treasurer and the 
date the suit referred to in Section 4 is finally adjudicated. 

Apropos of your in 
of subsections (a), (b) and 9 

ulry we quote the relevant parts 
g) of Section 4 of Article 32723.: 

“(a.) All personal property reported under the 
provisions of this Article remaining unclaimed at 
the expiration of one hundred and twenty (120) Gys 
from the date upon which the report by the holder 
of such property was received by the State Treasurer, 
shall be deemed to be abandoned, and shall escheat 
to, and the title thereto vest in, the State of Texas, 
and the State Treasurer shall so certify to the At- 
torney General. 

“(b) The Attorney General shall immediately 
institute an action in a District Court of the 
county in which the holder resided or is domiciled 
to judicially determine that such property has es- 
cheated to the State. The suit shall be brought 
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as a class action, and may include the pro,perty 
reported by more than one holder from the same or 
other counties, and the sworn petition shall state 
that the action is brought by the State of Texas 
upon the relation of the State Treasurer by the 
Attorney General for the pur,pose of escheatlng and 
vesting the title in the State of Texas of the 
property therein described, stating the descrip- 
tion of the property which has escheated to the 
State, the name of the person or holder possessed 
thereof and the names of the person or persons 
claiming, or last known to have claimed, such 
property, if any such names are known, all of 
which information shall be separately listed in 
parallel columns, and t,he facts and circumstances 
in consequence of which such property is claimed 
to have escheated, praying that such property be 
eschea.ted, and the title thereto vested in the 
State of Texas. The petition shall not be subject 
to objections as to the misjoinder of parties or 
misjoinder of causes of action. 

“(g) If it appears to the Court that the prop- 
erty described in the petition has be& actually 
abandoned, and that there is no person entltled~ to 
it, judgment shall be rendered declaring such prop- 
ertv escheated and vestlne: the title thereto in the 
Stake of Texas. Tine Judgment shall also direct the 
holder of the property so described, which has been 
actually abandoned and escheated and the title thereto 
vested in the State, to deliver such property lmme- 
diately to the State Treasurer. If no person or 
claimant to any property described in the petition 
shall appear and answer within the time provided for 
entering such appearance and answer ‘oy the Texas 
Rules of Civil Procedure, the Court shall render 
judgment by default as to such property in favor of 
the State of Texas. If the Court should find that 
such property has not been actually abandoned a.nd 
therefore should not be escheated and the title 
thereto vested in the State of Texas, and that the 
title to such property should vest in the person or 
persons claiming the title to or an interest in such 
property, the Court shall direct such property to be 
delivered to the person or persons lawfully entitled 
to possession thereof.” (Emphasis supplied) 

From the foregoing, it is seen that at the expiration 
of the 120 day period the property is automatically deemed to be 
abandoned. While the statute says that it “shall escheat to, 
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and the title thereto vest in, the State of Texas", it is ob- 
vious that the property does not actually become the property 
of the State uniess and until a final adjudication to that 
effect is made by t'ne Courts. This evident from Section L!(g) 
quoted above. 

It is equally clear that the judment of the Ccurt 
would reiate back to the expiration of the 120 da.y period when 
ti; property was first deemed abandoned and escheated. There- 
fore, after the expiration of the 120 day period the holder who 
released the property to anyone without the concurrence of the 
proper authorities runs the risk of being held accountable to 
tha State for the value of such pro~perty by virtue of a subse- 
quent judgment declaring the property to have been the property 
of the State at the time the holder released the property. 

It follows that after the expiration of the 120 day 
period, the holder serves in the capacity of custodian of the 
property pending a determination as to the ownership of the 
property by the proper authorities. Tha.t is to say, the holder 
does not have it within his power to decide whether the reported 
owner, or anyone else, is the rightful ownc of the property. 
T'nls determination must be made by the Stata Treasurer, on whose 
relation the suit is brought, and the Attorney General, whose 
duty it is to prosecute a. suit to escheat the property, unless 
he is convinced that the rightful owner has appeared to claim 
the property, and, the Court, if the Attorney General proceeds 
to place the matter before the Court. 

Thus, by necessary implication, the holder is prohi:?- 
ited from turning the property over to the "reported owner" ;1nisst 
it is pursuant to the advice and consent of the State Treasui-er 
and the Attorney General, whose duty it wlli be to ask the con- 
sent of the Court where such consent is necessary. Your questio;; 
is answered accordingly. 

SUMMARY 

Under Article 3272a, Vernon's Civil Statutes, the 
holder is prohibited from releasing property to its 
reported owner after the ex~plratlon OF 120,days from 
the date the report was received by the State Treasurer, 
unless such relea.se is made pursuant to the advice and 
consent of the State Treasurer and th? Attorney Genera3 
of Texas. 

Very truiy yours, 
WILL WILSON 
Attorney General of Texas 

Byrd;: L22z- :' 
Assistant 
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