
THE A~~o~~NEY GENERAL 

OF TEXAS 

Aus- ~~.TEx.As 

June 27, 1962 

Honora.ble Joe D. Carter 
Chairma.n, Texas Wa.ter 

Commission 
Austin, Texa.s 

Dear Mr. Carter: 

Opinion No. ~~-1367 

Re: Whether the Texa.s Water 
Commission is required 
to pay the costs of pub- 
lication of notice of 
hearing. 

We quote the following from your letter requesting 
an opinion: 

“On March 20, 1962, a. petition wa.s received 
for the creation of a water control and improvement 
district under Article 7880-3. The petition was 
accompanied by a $25.00 filing fee a.s required by 
Article 7532 and a $250.00 deposit as required by 
Article 7880-21. The Commission entered an order 
on April 10, 1962, setting the petition for hearing 
on June 5, 1962 and in accordance with usual pro- 
cedure, a copy of the notlce of hearing was for- 
warded to the petitioners so that they could have 
the notice published as required by State law. 
Heretofore, the proposed district has borne the 
expense of publication; however, the petitioners 
in this instance have forwarded the notice of pub- 
lication statement to the Commission for payment. 

“It is the petitioners’ contention that the 
Sta.te should pay the cost of publication of the 
notice of hearing in the creation of the water con- 
trol and improvement district out of the $250.00 
deposit. Under the 1929 amendment of Article 7880-21 
the State was ‘to pay all costs which may be incurred 
in such proceedings’ out of the $250.00 deposit and 
return the unused balance to the petitioners. Since 
the 1929 amendment required the State to use this 
deposit to pay the costs incurred in the crea.tion, 
the petitioners contend that the phrase ‘for the 
use of the State as provided for other fees collected 
under this act’ In then 1961 amendment of Article 
7880-21 actually did not change the meaning of the 
1929 amendment. . . e ” 
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You propound the following questions: 

“(1) Is the Texas Wa.ter Commission required 
to pa.y costs of publication of notice of hearing or 
is this an expense to be borne by the petitioners? 

“(2) If the expense of publication is to be 
oaid by the Texa.s Wa.ter Commission, should it be 
paid out of the $250.00 deposit 
7880-21?” 

The cost of publication is 
7532, V.C.S., since it provides that 
is “for the benefit of the State.” 

made under Article 

not included in Article 
the filing fee of $25.00 

Prior to the amendment of 1961, Article 7880-21, 
V.C.S., required a deposit of $250.00 “to pay all costs which 
may be incurred in such proceeding” and provided that a.fter 
the payment of such costs any unexpended bala.nce should be 
repaid to petitioners. 

By the amendment of 1961 (Acts, 57th Leg., Chap. 460, 
Sec. 1, P. 10&O), Article 7880-21 was amended and the pertinent 
part reads as follows: 

11 . . . A petition to be filed with said Board 
must be a.ccompanied by a. deposit of Two Hundred 
and Fifty ($250.00) Dollars for the use of the 
state, as provided for other fees collected under 
this Act; no pa.rt of which shall be returned, ex- 
cept as hereinafter provided. The deposit shall 
be deposited in the hands of the State Treasurer 
to be held in trust outside the State Treasury 
until the Board does either grant or refuse such 
petition, at which time the Board shall direct the 
State Treasurer to transfer said deposit into the 
General Revenue Fund; provided, if at any time 
prior to the hearing, as hereinafter provided, the 
petitioners desire to withdraw said petition, then 
and only in that event, the Board &ail direct the 
refund of said deposit to petitioners, or their 
attorney of record, whose receipt therefor shall 
be sufficient. . . .” 

We see that under the 1961 amendment instead of 
providing that the deposit of $250.00 is to be used to pay 
all costs as previously provided, it is now to be used for 
the use of the State and it is specifically provided that 
no part of same shall be returned unless prior to the hear- 
ing the petition is withdrawn. The amendment also provides 
that the amount of said deposit shall be deposited in the 
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hands of the State Treasurer in trust until the Board either 
grants or refuses the petition. This provision is for the 
purpose of keeping the money out of the State Treasury until 
it is seen whether the petition will be withdrawn in order 
that it may be returned if the petition is withdrawn before 
the hearing. If it should be placed in the Treasury it could 
not be withdrawn except by an appropriation of the Legislature. 
(Article 8, Sec. 6 of the Texas Constitution) 

It is noticed that there is no provision made for 
the use of the money except for two purposes: (1) return it 
if the petition is withdrawn prior to the hearing or (2) de- 
posit it in the State Treasury if the Board grants or refuses 
the petition. 

Since the Act makes no provision for the payment of 
the costs of publication of the notice and makes only the two 
provisions as set out above for disposition of the deposit, it 
naturally follows that it cannot be used to pay the costs of 
publication. Therefore, in answer to your first question you 
are advised that the Texas Water Commission is not required to 
pay the costs of publication of a notice of hearing and that 
this is a cost to be borne by the petitioners. This ma.kes an 
answer to your second question unnecessary. 

SUMMARY 

The Texas Water Commission is not required 
to pay costs of publication of a notice of hear- 
ing of a petition to create a water control and 
improvement district created under Article 7880-3, 
V.C.S. 

Yours very truly, 

WILL WILSON 

HGC:dsd 
Assistant 
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