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Honorable J, Overby Smith ~ Opinilon No. WW-1389
Chairman, Industrial Accldent
Board Re: Under Section 6 of Article

“alton Buillding 8306 of Vernon's Civil

Austin, Texas Statutes, cshould the first
day which ar injured en-
nloyee 1s urable to per-
form his recular task for
any part of such day be
counted as the first day
of incapacity for purposes

Dear Mr. Smith: of this secfion?

You have recuested the opinion of this office con-
cerning Section & of Article 8306 of Vernon's Civil Statutes
as it appllies to determine when an incapacitated employee be-
comes entitled to workmen's compensation benefits,

Section 6 of Article 8306 of Vernon's Civil Statutes
provides:

"llo compensatlion shall be paid under
this law for an inJury which dces not in-
capacitate the employee for a period of at
least one week frow earning full wages, but
if incapaclity extends beyond one week com-
pensation shall begin to accrue on the eighth
day after the injury. The medicel aid, hos-
pltal services, chiropractic services, and
medicines, as provided for in Zection 7 here-
of, shall be supplied as and when nesded and
according to the terms and provisions of said
Section 7, If incapacity does not follow at
once after the infliction of the injury or
within eight days thereof but does result sub-
secuently, compensation shall begin to accrue
with the eighth day after the date incapacity
commenced, In any event the erployee shall
be entitled to the medical aid, hospltal ser-
vice, chiropractic service, and medicines
provided in this law, Provided further that
if such incapacity continues for four (4)
weeks or longer, compensation shall be com-
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puted from the inception date of such 1ncapacity."
The question you have submitted is as follows:

"Should the first day regardless of time
of day in which the injured erployee is unable
fo perform his regular task for any part of
the day, be considered and counted as the
first day of incapacity?"

The answer to your question depends upon the meaning
to be given to the terms "elghth day after the injury" and
"eighth day after the date incapacity commenced" as used in
Section 6 of Article 8306, Although the specific cuestion you
ask has not heretofore been passed upon by our appellate courts,
nonetheless, a conslderation of cases in which the computation
of the compensation allowed by Section 6 of Article 8306 has
been elther approved as made by the trial ccurt or reforred
by the appellate court indicate that your question must be
answered in the affirmative.

First, in the case of United Erployers Casualty Co.
v. Oden, 150 S.W.2d 114 (Civ,App. 1901, Error Dism,, Judgm,
Cor.) at page 117 we find stated:

it
.

. .The compensation period begins on
the date when incapacity arises and ends in
all events at the expiration of 401 weeks
after the date when the accldental injuriles
are sustained, Texas Employers Ins. Ass'n,
v. Guidry, 128 Tex, 433, 99 S,W.2d 900;
Traders & General Ins, Co. v, Watson, Tex.
Civ.App., 131 S.W.2d 1103; Maryland Cas,.

Co. v, Abbott, Tex.Civ.App., 131 3.W.2d

1

171, . . . (Emphasis ours)

In ICT Insurance Company v, Gunn, 294 S.W.2d 435
(Civ.App. 1956] THe following statements of the Court bear
upon the question at hand, at page 44l4:

"Appellant'!s fourth point 1is substantially
that the court erred in entering judgment for
workmen's compensation benefits for the full
period of 401 weeks after June 15, 1955, when
the Jjury found that the injury occurred on
June 29, 1954, for the reason that, as a
matter of law, compensation benefits for total
disability can be recovered only for a period



Honorable J. Overby Smith, page3(WW-1389)

of 401 weeks after date of injJury rather
than after date disabllity commenced.

1"
LI ]

"It is without dispute that appellee was
injured on June 29, 1954, and that hls total
disability began on June 15, 1955, all of
which"is found in the findings of the jury.

Continuing at page 445:

", . .1t being without dispute that 50
weeks lapsed from the date of injury to the
date of appellee's total permanent disability,
that the judgment entered by the trial court
must be credited with 50 weeks at 525 per
week, or a total credit of $1,250, and the
judgment entered by the trial court is re-
formed. . ., ."

Since, as held in the Oden Case, supra, the 401
week period began to run on the 29th day of June, 1954, and
crediting 50 weeks from this date carries through the 1l4th
day of June, 1955, thus allowing the claimant compensation
from the first day of his incapacity without rezard to the
time of day.

We conslider to be directly in point Royal Indernity
Co. v. Jones, 201 S,W.,2d 129 (Tex,Civ.App. 1947, error ref.
n.r.e,) wherein the claimant was injured on July 18, 1945, and
became incapacitated on November 30, 1945, The court awarded
compensation from December 7, 1945, thus holding that December
7, 1945, was the eighth day after the claimants incapacity com-
menced, which of necessity counted November 30, 1945, as the
first day of incapaclity without regard to the time of day that
the incapacity commenced.

In view of the foregoing holdings your cuestion is
hereby answered 1n the affirmative and you are advised that
the first day, regardless of the time of day, wherein an in-
jured employee is unable to perform his regular task is to
be considered the first day of incapacity,
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SUMMARY

Under the provisions of Section 6 of
Article 8306 of Vernonts Civil Statutes,
the first day, regardless of time of day,
wherein an injured employee 1is unable to
perform his regular task shall be con-
sidered and counted as the first day
of incapacity.

Very truly yours,

WILL WILSON
Attorney General of Texas
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