
Honorable Tom Blackwell 
District Attorney 
Travis County 
Austin, Texas 

Opinion No. M- 58 

Re: Whether a person who has been 
convicted in a justice court, 
and doea not have the money 
to pay the fine and court costs 
is entitled to lay out the fine 
and court coats at the rate of 
$5.00 per day, without being 

Dear Mr. Blackwell: 
required,to stay at least five 
days in jail. 

In a recent opinion:request of this office you submit the Pol- 
lowing question: 

"When can the Sheriff release a prisoner 
satisfied a fine and court costs of less then $ 

s having 
25.00 on 

a justice court commitment, when the prisoner fails to 
pay the fine and costs ae assessea?" 

Article 43.09, Vernon's Code of Criminal Procedure, provides 
as follows: 

"When a defendant is convictea of a misdemeanor 
and his punishment is assessed at a pecuniary fine, if 
he is unable to pay the fine and costs adjudged against 
him, he may for such time as will satisfy the judgment 
be put to work in the workhouse, or on the county farm, 
or public Improvements of the county, as provided in the 
succeeding Article; or if there be no such workhouse, 
farm or Improvements, he shall be imprisoned in jail for 
a sufficient length of time to discharge the full amount 
of fine and costs adjudged against him; rating such labor 
or imprisonment at five dollars for each day thereof; 
provided, however, that the defendant may pay the pecuniary 
fine assessed against him at any time while he Is serving 
at work In the Iqorkhouse, or on the county farm, or on 
the public improvements of the county, or while he is 
serving his jail sentence, and in such instances he shall 
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be entitled to a credit of five dollars for each day or 
fraction of a day that he has served and he shall only 
be required to pay his balance of the pecuniary fine 
assessed against him." 

It is therefore the opinion of this office that the Sheriff is 
authorized to release a person who has been imprisoned In lieu of 
paying fine and court costs In an amount less than $25, after the 
prisoner has discharged such fine and costs at the rate of $5 per 
day,,and less such time off as may be allowed by the Sheriff under 
Article 5118a, Vernon's Civil Statutes, proviaing for time off for 
g00a conduct. 

SUMMARY 

A Sheriff Is authorized to release a prisoner who 
"lays out" his fine and court costs, the amount of which 
Is less than $25, after such prisoner spends the requl- 
site amount of time to discharge the s&me at the rate of 
$5 per day, less such good conduct tlme'allowed by the 
Sheriff as permitted by law. 

TWM:lk 

Prepared by Thomas W. Mack 
Assistant Attorney General 

truly yours, 

t59 +a 
C. MARTIN 

orney General of Texas 
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