
Hon. James P. Baker, Chairman Opinion No. M-068 
Texas Board of Licensure for 
Nursing Home Administrators .Re: 

6225 U.S. Highway 290 East 
Authority of Texas Board 

P. o:Box'4246 
of Licensure for Nursing 

Austin, Texas 78751 
Home Administrators, pur- 
suant to Article 4442d, 
Vernon's Civil Statutes, 
to fix a licensing fee 
,of $50 per annum for 
"adminlstrators-in- 

Dear Mr. Baker: training." - 

Your recent letter requesting the opinion of this office 
concerning the referenced matter states, in part, as follows; 

~"The Texas Board of Licensure for Nursing' 
Home Administrators was created by the 61st Leg- 
islature to comply with section 1908 of the Social 
Security Act. . . which required, as a condition 
to receiving federal funds, that nursing homes be 
staffed with an administrator licensed by the ap- 
propriate state agency or board of the state in 
which the home was.located.. Because section 7 of 
the Texas act, Tex. Rev. Civ. Stat. Ann. art. 4442d 
(1969), prohibited the operation of a nursing home 
after July 1, 1970, unless such home was under the 
supervision of an administrator. duly licensed by 
the Board, many of the homes in Texas were faced 
with the possibility of closing, as it was im- 
possible formany nursing home managers to meet 
the strict.licensing requirements by the deadline. 

llTo avoid the closing of many nursing homes 
throughout the state, the Board devised a licensing 
program whereby,those nursing .home managers who?could 
not obtain licenses by July 1, 1970, could receive 
on-the-job training in their nursing homes by ex- 
perienced, licensed administrators who are designated 
'preceptors' by,the Bsard. Although valuable train- 
ing and experience ~1s received through preceptors, it 
is the administrator-in-training who actually runs 
the nursing home on a daily basis. 
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'Pursuant to section lO(3) of the Texas act,~ 
the Board has fixed a license fee of $100 for ad- 
ministrators. Since the license is valid for two 
years, the annual cost to an administrator is $50. 
The Board also has issued administrator-in-training 
certificates to those persons who are undergoing 
training through preceptors in order to obtain 
licenses, and a fee of $50 per year is being assessed 
the administrators-in-training by the Board. 

the 
has 
fee 

Statutes 
strators 
request: 

"The Board respectfully requests the opinion of 
Attorney General on the question of whether it 
the authority to fix a certifying or licensing 
of $50 per year for administrators-in-training." 

The followln# portions of Article 4442d, Vernon's Civil 
("the Article ), which is the Texas Nursing Home Adminl- 
Licensure Act, are relevant to the issue posed by your 

"Sec. 8. The Board shall have authority . to make rules and regulations not inconsistent 
with law as may be necessary or proper for the 
performance of Its duties . . . 

“Sec. 9. The Board shall have authority to 
issue licenses to qualified persons as nursing 
home administrators, and shall establish quallfica- 
tion criteria for such nursing home administrators. 
No license shall be issued to a person as a nursing 
home administrator unless: 

“(2) he has satisfactorily completed a course 
of instruction and training prescribed by the board 
. . . 

by thE(?iarie h 
as passed an examination administered 

. . . 

'Sec. 10. (1) The Board shall license nursing 
home administrators in accordance with rules and 
regulations issued, and from time to time revised 
by it . , . 

II . . . 
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"(3) Each person licensed as a nursing home 
administrator shall pay a license fee to be fixed 
by the board which shall not exceed $100.00 (for 
a two-year period). (Emphasis adde,d.) 

Section 8 of the Article does authorize your Board to 
adopt "rules and regulations not inconsistent with law as may be 
necessary or proper for the performance of its duties. . .' If 
such rules and regulations are consistent with, related to, and 
in implementation of anv of the orovisions of the Article. such 
rules-and regulations are valid.* Kee v. Baber, 157 Tex. 387,~303 
S.W.2d 376 (1957); Texas State Board of Examiners in Optometry v. 
Carp, 412 S.W.2d 307 (Tex.Sup. lgb'(). 

However, the Article does not authorize the issuance of 
rules and regulations which are in excess of, or inconsistent with, 
the statutory provisions; nor may your Board impose any additional 
burdens, conditions, or restrictions in that regard which would 
result in giving them a higher or lower mandate than that of the 
statute. Kelly-v. Industrial Accident Board, 358 S.W.2d 874 (Tex. 
Clv.App. 1962, error ref.); Bailey v. Texas Indemnity Insurance Co., 
14 S.W.2d, 798 (Tex.Comm.App. 1929)' Att G l's Opinion No. 
M-609-A (1970); 2 Am.Jur.2d 126, A~rnini%%%iv?~~~, Sec. 300, and 
also, Id; at pp. 129-30, Sec. 361, wherein it is stated that an 
administrative agency cannot create a new license requirement or 
compel that to be done which lies without the scope of the statute. 

It is a well-established rule of law that fee statutes 
are to be strictly construed, and that where a statute contains 
no authorization for the imposition of a fee, none may be collected. 
Nueces County v. Carrington, 139 Tex. 297, 162 S.W.2d 687 (1942); 
Attorney General's Opinion No. v-1236 (1951). Cf. McCalla v. City 
of Rockdale, 112 Tex. 209, 246, S,W. 654 (1922). 

In Section lO(3) of Article 4442d, the Legislature has 
given your Board the power to fix a fee, not to exceed $50 per 
annum, which shall be paid by nursing home administrators. No 
mention is made in such Section of fees to be paid by nursing 
home "administrators-in-training", nor Is the Board therein given 
any authority to fix fees to be paid by such persons. 

Accordingly, in consonance with the foregoing authorities, 
this office is of the opinion that your Board has no authority to 
fix a licensing fee of $50 per annum to be paid by nursing home 
"administrators-in-training." 
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SUMMARY 

(M-868) 

The Texas Board of Llcensure for Nursing Home 
Administrators pursuant to Article 4442d(lO), Ver- 
non's Civil Statutes, has no authority to fix a 
licensing fee of $50 per annum to,,be paid by nursing 
home "administrators-in-trafiing. 

General of Texas 
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