
AWS-~IN. TEXAS 78711 

September 5, 1973 

Honorable Ken Andrew8 
County Attorney 
Young County 
Graham, Texas 

Dear Mr. Andrews: 

Opinion No. H- 95 

Re: Whether probation fee 
may be collected from 
persons placed on pro- 
bation after conviction 
fdi misdemeanor 

You have requested the opinion of this office on two questions: 

“1. Whether the person placed on probation 
under a misdemeanor can be made to pay a proba- 
tion fee of not more than $10.00 per month? 

"2. Who collects the probation fee? ” 

You comment that: 

“Under Article 42.12 the felony probation 
.law, the District Judge may assess a probation 
fee not to exceed $10.00 per month as a term of 
the probation. 

“We are unable. to find any authority under 
which a misdemeanor defendant who has been placed 
on probation can be made to pay a probation fee. I’ 

Article 42.13 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, the Misdemeanor 
Probation Law, does not contain any provision for charging a misdemeanor 
defendant a supervisory or probation fee. 

However, $ 5 6(a) and ,l2, respectively, of Article 42.12 of the Texas 
Code of Criminal Procedure, the Adult Probation and Parole Law, provide: 
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“Sec. 6a. (a) A court granting probation may 
fix a fee not exceeding $10 per month to be paid to 
the court by the probationer during the probationary 
period. The court may make payment of the fee a 
condition of granting or continuing the orobation. 

‘I. . . 

“Sec. 12. The provisions of Sections 6a. 10, 
and 11 of this Article also apply to Article 42.13. ” 

The above provision of 0 12 of Article 42.12 authorizes charging a 
probation or supervisory fee to a misdemeanor defendant who has been 
placed on probation, if the court so directs. 

Attorney General’s Opinion C:64g holds to the contrary; however 
this opinion was written befo.re the enactment of the above sections 6a(a) 
and 12 of Article 42.12. 

In answer to your second question, $ 6a(a) provides that the fee is 
“to be paid to the court by the probationer” and $ 6a(b) provides that “the 
court shall distribute the fees [in the matter provided]“. It is our opinion, 
therefore, that the fee is to be collected by the court or at least under the 
court’s direction. 

SUMMARY 

The court may direct the payment of a probation 
fee of a misdemeanor defendant who has been placed 
on probation, such fee to be collected by or under the 
direction of the court. 

Very truly yours, 
A 

L. HILL 
Attorney General of Texas 
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APPROVED: 

DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairdan 
Opinion Committee 
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