
The Honorable Robert S. Calvert 
Comptroller of Public Accounts 
Finance Building 
Austin, Texas 

Dear Mr. Calvert: 

Opinion No. H- 174 

Re: Determination of basis 
for levy of 4% Motor 
Vehicle Sales Tax 

Your letter requesting our opinion states: 

“The terms of Article 6.05 Taxation General 
require that the purchaser and seller of a motor 
vehicle shall make a joint affidavit stating the con- 
sideration paid for a motor vehicle. The amount of 
the total consideration serves as the basis for appli- 
cation of the 4% Motor Vehicle Sales Tax due to be 
paid to the County Tax Assessor-Collector. 

“I am advised that at times affidavits are presented 
to the Tax Assessor-Collector listing the consideration 
of a 1973 automobile, in good condition, as being $100.00. 
Although it is ridiculous to think that an arms lengthdeal 
has been made at this low figure, the Tax Assessor- 
Collector has no means of proving the affidavit to be 
untrue. Please advise me if the Tax Assessor-Collector 
has a legal right to refuse to accept the price stated on 
the affidavit and to require that the Motor Vehicle Sales 
Tax be paid on the fair market value of the vehicle. ” 

Article 6.05 is part of Chapter 6 of Title 122a, Taxation-General, Vernon’s 
Texas Civil Statutes, which deals with motor vehicle retail sales and use taxes. 
Article 6.05 provides, in part: 
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“(I) The purchaser and seller shall make a joint 
affidavit setting forth the then value in dollars of the 
total consideration, whether in money or, other things 
of value, received or to be received by the seller or 
his nominee in a retail sale. . . . ” 

Neither Article 6.05 nor any other Article in the Chapter now expressly 
or impliedly provides that the assessor-collector is authorized to determine 
the correctness of the consideration stated or to take any action if, in his 
opinion, it is misstated. 

Though the tax assessor-collector cannot refuse to accept an affidavit, 
the purchaser and seller of a motor vehicle cannot make a false affidavit with- 
out fear of sanction. If he suspects the affidavit misstatesthemount of the 
sale, he should advise the District Attorney or the Comptroller of his suspi- 
cions. Article 6.06, Taxation-General, V. T. C. S., provides for penalties and 
interest where the tax due on a transaction is incorrectly stated. If the Comp- 
troller determines that the amount of tax due was falsely reported in the affi- 
davit, he is to notify the seller in writing of his determination. The seller 
may then petition the Comptroller for a redetermination if he wishes, under 
rules and regulations promulgated by the Comptroller. The “collection” pro- 
visions of Chapter 20 of Title 122A (Taxation-General) have been said applicable 
to amounts due under Article 6.06. See Attorney General Opinion M-913(1971). 

Furthermore, both the existing Penal Code (Article 310) and the newly 
adopted Penal Code to become effective January I, 1974, ($ 37.02) make false 
swearing a crime. 

SUMMARY 

A county tax assessor-collector has no authority to 
refuse to accept an affidavit submitted in connection with the 
motor vehicle sales tax on the ground that it does not correct- 
ly state the consideration paid, but the making of a false affi- 
davit may subject its maker to other civil and criminal penalties. 

c/ Attorney General of Texas 
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APPROhVED: 

LARRY YORK, First Assista 

DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 
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