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Bay City, Texas 77414 which persons under 16 

years of age may marry, 
pear Mr. Holub: if at all 

You have requested our opinion “as to whether or not under the new 
Family Code a person under the age of sixteen (16) years can obtain a 
marriage license from the County Clerk. ” 

In our opinion the Family Code allows a person under ,16 years of 
age to obtain a marriage License and to marry only if a district judge has 
ordered a waiver of the age requirement (16 years of age) “for good cause 
shown. ‘I Section 1. 51(c), infra. 

The Legislature, 1973, amended provisions of the Family Code with 
respect to marriage licenses (Acts 1973, 63rd Leg., ch. 577, p. 1596). 
Amended 6 1.07 provides in part: 

“(a) The county clerk may not issue a license to the 
applicants if: 

. . . . 

“(3) either applicant is under 16 years of age 
and the waiver of age requirements has not been 
ordered under the provisions of Section 1.51(c) of 
this code; . . . .” 

Section 1. 51 refers to “Age Requirements. ” Subsection (a) provides: 
“A person under 16 years of age may not marry. ” However, subsection (c) 
provides: 
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“Upon petition in a district court in the name of 
the person seeking the waiver, the court may order 
the waiver of the age requirement prescribed in 
Subsection (a) for good cause shown. ” 

Section 2.41 provides that the marriage of persons under .16’ years 
of age is voidable, “unless a waiver of the age,requirement has been ordered. ” 

It is therefore plain that a district judge, upon petition and a showing 
of good cause, and only then, may order the waiver of the 16 year age 
requirement and that, with such an order, a person under the age of 16 years 
of age may obtain a marriage license from the county clerk in the state of 
Texas. 

SUMMARY 

Only upoq waiver of the age requirement by a 
district court upon proper petitions and proof of good 
cause. may a person under the age of 16 obtain a 
marriage license in the state of Texas. 

Yours very truly, 

u Attorney General of Texas 

DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 
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