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Re: Reports of cases of 
child abuse. 

Dear Mr. Vowell: 

You have asked our opinion on two questions relating to the responsibility 
to report cases of child abuse. Your first question iswhether Acts 1973, 63rd 
Leg. ch. 398, p. 881 (hereafter H. B. 1414), which provides a penalty for a 
failure to report instances of child abuse was repealed by Acts 1973, 63e.d Leg. 
ch. 543, p. 1411, (hereafter Title 2) which is Title 2 of the~Family Code. 

House Bill 1414 amended Article 695c-2, Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, 
by adding Section 9 to read as follows: 

“Sec. 9. Any person who knowingly fails to 
report in accordance with Section 3 of this Act when 
he has cause to believe that a child’s physical or 
mental health or welfare has been or may be further 
adversely affected by abuse or neglect commits a 
misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than 
than $100 or more than $500, or by imprisonment 
in jail for not less than 10 days or more than 6 
months, or both. ” 

H. B. 1414, amending Article 695c-2, was passed by the Legislature on 
May 17, 1973, and became effective on June 13, 1973, when it was approved by 
the Governor. On May 24, 1973, the Legislature passed Title 2 of the Family 
Code supra. It was approved by the Governor on June 15, 1973, and became 
effective on January 1, 1974. Section 3 specifically provided that it repealed 
Article 695c-2, supra. 
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The Code Construction Act, Article 5429b-2, Vernon’s Texas Civil 
Statutes, applies to the interpretation of codes enacted by the 60th or sub- 
sequent Legislature and, inter alia, to the repeal of a statute by a code. 
$ $ 1. 02(l) and 1. 02 (3). Its Section 3.11( c) provides: 

l’(c) The repeal of a statute by a code does not 
affect an amendment; revision, or reenactment of the 
statute by the sane legislature which enacted the code. 
The amendment; revision, or reenactment is preserved 
and given effect as part of the code provision which 
revised the statute so amended, revised, or reenacted. I’ 

In this case the repealed statute, Article 695c-2, was replaced by Chapter 
34 of the Family Code. The “Section 3 of this Act, I’ referred to in H. B. 
1414, is found, with minor additions, as Vernon’s Texas Family Code, $ 34. 02. 
Therefore,. it is our opinion that H. B. 1414 was not repealed by Title 2 and is 
effective and must be read in conjunction with Chapter 34 of the Family Code. 

Your second question asks whether “the State Department of Public 
Welfare and/or the county child welfare unit have the responsibility to report 
cases of child abuse to state or local law enforcement officials? ” 

Vernon’s Texas Family Code 5 $ 34.01 and 34.02(a) require that persons 
report instances of child abuse or neglect to: 

“(1) the county welfare unit; 
“(2) the county agency responsible for the 
protection of juveniles; or 
“(3) any local or state 1aW enforcement agency. ” 
(emphasis added) 

The State Department of Public Welfare is a person for the purposes of this 
section. Code Construction Act, supra, $ 1. 04(Z). 

The use of the disjunctive indicates that a person is not required to report 
to a law enforcement agency if he reports to a county welfare unit or other county 
agency responsible for the protection of juveniles. This interpretation is sup- 
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ported by Section 34. 02 (c) which provides that: 

“All reports received by any local or 
state law enforcement agency shall be referred 
to the county child welfare unit, or to the county 
agency responsible for the protection of juveniles. ” 

and by Section 34. 05 (e) which provides that: 

“The county agency responsible for the 
protection of juveniles, or the county child 
welfare unit, shall make a complete written 
report of the investigation together with its 
recommendations to the juvenile court or the 
district court, the district attorney, and the 
appropriate law enforcement agency. ” 

The apparent designof the statute is that the county child welfare unit or other 
county agency responsible for the protection of juveniles will make an initial 
investigation of the report and then submit its findings to the appropriate law 
enforcement officials. 

Therefore, it is our opinion that the Department of Public Welfare is 
not required to report cases of child abuse to law enforcement agencies if it 
has reported these cases to the county child welfare unit or other countyagency 
responsible for the protection of juveniles. Of course, if the Department 
acquires its knowledge of a case of child abuse from a county agency it is not 
required to re-report it to that same agency. It is also our opinion that the 
county child welfare unit is required to report cases of child abuse to approb 
priate law enforcement agencies, but only after it has made its investigation 
and conclusions. 

SUMMARY 

Acts 1973, 63rd Leg. ch. 398, p. 881, which provides 
a penalty for failure to report cases of child abuse, was not 
repealed by Title 2 of the Family Code. The Department of 
Public Welfare is not required to report cases of child abuse 
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to law enforcement agencies if it has brought the 
case to the attention of the county child welfare unit 
or other county agency responsible for the protection 
of juveniles . The county child welfare unit is not 
required to report cases of child abuse to appropriate 
law enforcement agencies until it has completed its 
investigation of the report. 

Yours very truly, 

Attorney General of Texas 

ap 
DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 
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