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Re: May an auto dealer, his 
employees and members of 
his family, use an auto with- 
out paying tax under Art. 
6686 (a) (I), V. T. C. S. 

Dear Mr. Calvert: 

In our Opinion No. H-173 we considered three questions from 
your office, the last of them being: 

Where title is held in the name of the dealer 
or seller and is used unregistered in accordance with 
Article 6686, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas, for 
reference Article 6.03, Section B, does Attorney General 
Opinion No. M-141 apply on motor vehicles that are used 
by the dealer, his employees, and members of family. 
Also, does it apply to registered vehicles used before 
sale from someone other than the dealer. 

Our discussion of that question in Opinion H-173 and our answer 
to it was: 

Article 6.03B defines the term “retail sale” as follows: 

“The term ‘retail sale’ as herein used shall 
include all sales of motor vehicles except those 
whereby the purchaser acquires a motor vehicle 
for the exclusive purpose of resale and not for use 
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and shall not include those operated under and in 
accordance with the terms of Article 6686, Revised 
Civil Statutes of Texas, 1925, as amended. ” 

Attorney General Opinion No. M-141 construed this provision 
in October, 1967, before the reference to Article 6686, V. T. C. S., 
was added by the 60th Legislature, effective October 1,1968. 
Article 6686, V. T. C. S. __ pertains to dealers’ licenses and 
regulates those instances when automobile dealers may operate 
unregistered vehicles through the use of such dealers’ temporary 
licenses. 

Some of the conclusions in Attorney General Opinion M-141 
are affected by this amendment. For instance, the conclusion 
in the opinion that “demonstrators” are taxable to dealers 
would no longer be correct because $4(a) of Article 6686 
allows unregistered vehicles to be used as demonstrators. 

However, with specific reference to your question, the 
last paragraph of $4 of Article 6686 provides in part: “Such 
tags shall not be used to operate vehicles for the personal 
use of a dealer or his employees.” 

Of course, as pointed out in Attorney General Opinion 
M-141, whether a vehicle is being used personally is a 
question, of fact. However, it is plain that a vehicle employed 
for the personal use of the dealer, his employees, his or 
their families, or of someone other than the dealer is subject 
to the tax, Such use with dealers’ licenses is prohibited by the 
above - quoted provisions of Article 6686. This would be true 
even though the same automobile is also being used for proper 
purposes specified in Article 6686 for unregistered vehicles. 

Again, as in Attorney General Opinion M-141, we suggest 
that you clarify these matters by rules and regulations promul- 
gated under the authority of Article 6.02, V. T. C. S., Taxation- 
General. 
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The Summary of our opinion was in part: 

(3) An automobile devoted wholly or partially to the 
personal use of a dealer, a dealer’s employees or their 
respective families, or to someone other than the dealer 
is subject to the Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax. 

You now submit the following inquiries: 

We would, therefore, appreciate a clarification 
on whether your original answer applies to both the use 
of motor vehicles with dealers’ plates as provided in 
Article 6686 (a)(l) and the use of motor vehicles with temporary 
cardboard tags under Article 6686 (a)(4). If the limitation 
contained in Article 6686 (a)(4) does not apply to Article 6686 
(4 (I), may a dealer, his employees, and members of his 
family use such vehicle without paying Chapter 6 tax. 

In 1967 you submitted substantially the same basic question to this 
office and it was answered in Attorney General Opinion M-141 which concluded: 

The Motor Vehicle Sales Tax applies to all 
sales of motor vehicles to a dealer where the 
vehicle is extensively utilized for the personal 
or business purposes of the dealer, his family 
or employees, including use of the vehicle as a 
demonstrator to effect the sale of other vehicles. 
The tax does not apply where the vehicle is driven 
in connection with an attempted sale to a prospective 
purchaser; nor to other incidental use in connection 
therewith. 

However, as we noted in Opinion H-173, the tax statutes, at that time, 
contained no reference to Article 6686, V. T. C. S. We are of the opinion that 
Attorney General Opinion M-141 was correct when it was decided and the only 
question here ia the extent to which the added reference in Art. 6.03(B), 
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Taxation-General to Article 6686, requires a different answer. 

Article 6686, V. T. C. S., is lengthy. Omitting portions which are 
not relevant to the question before us ,: it provides: 

(a) Dealer’s and Manufacturer’s License Plates for 
Unregistered Motor Vehicles, Motorcycles, ,‘Bouse 
Trailers, Trailers, and Semitrailers. 

(1) Dealer’s License. Any dealer in motor vehicles, 
motorcycles, house trailers, trailers, or semitrailers 
doing business in this State may, instead of registering 
each vehicle he operates or permits to be operated for 
any reason upon the streets or public highways, apply 
for and secure a general distinguishing number which 
may be attached to any such vehicle he owns and operates 
or permits to be operated unregistered. 

(2) Manufacturer’s License . . . . 

(3) Buyer’s Temporary Cardboard Tags . . . . 

(4) Dealer’s Temporary Cardboard Tags. Each dealer 
holding a current distinguishing number may issue temporary 
cardboard numbers, corresponding to such dealer!s license 
number, which may only be used by such dealer or his 
employees for the following purposes: 

[a] to demonstrate or cause to be demonstrated his 
unregi.stered vehicles to prospective buyers only for the 
purpose of sale; provided, however, that no provision of 
this Act shall be construed to prohibit a dealer from 
permitting a prospective buyer to operate such vehicles 
in the course of demonstration. 

[b] to convey or cause to be conveyed his unregistered 
vehicles from the dealer’s place of business in one part 
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of the State to his place of business in another part 
of the State, or from his place of business to a place 
to be repaired, reconditioned, or serviced, or from 
the point in this State where such vehicles are unloaded 
to his place of business, including the moving of such 
vehicles from the State line to his place of business, and 
such vehicles displaying such tags while being so conveyed 
shall be exempt from the mechanical inspection require- 
ments of Sections 140 and 141 of the Uniform Act Regulating 

I Traffic on Highways. 

Such tags shall not be used to operate vehicles for the 
personal use of a dealer or his employees . . . . 

(5) Cancellation of License . . . . 

(6) Limited Use of Dealer’s Plates and Tags. The use 
of dealer’s license or facsimiles thereof is prohibited on 
service or work vehicles or on commercial vehicles 
carrying a load; provided, however, that a boat trailer 
carrying a boat will not be coneidered to be a commercial 
vehicle carrying a load, and a’dealer complying with the 
provisions of this Act may affix to the rear of a boat 
trailer he owns or to the rear of a boat trailer he sells’ 
such dealer’s distinguishing number or cardboard facsimiles 
thereof pursuant to the provisions of Subsections (l), (3) and 
(4) of this Act. . . . 

./ 

(11) Rules and Regulations. The Department is hereby 
authorized to promulgate reasonable rules and regulations 
for the orderly administration of this Act. 

. . . 

Your question suggests that the taxation of automobiles operated with 
metal tags differs from the taxation of those operated with temporary cardboard 
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tags. This theory, apparently is based on the words “to be operated 
for any reason” in Art. 6686 (a) (1) whereas Art. 6686 (a) (4) restricts 
the uses of vehicles with temporary tags. We disagree. 

The dealers’ temporary cardboard tag is in reality a replica of the 
metal identification number. Were we to ascribe different consequences 
to this use, we would have the anomalous result of a dealer being able to 
vary the allowable use of a vehicle by exchanging cardboard tags for metal 
ones, or vice versa. Unless there is no alternative, a statute will not be 
interpreted so as to lead to a foolish or absurd result. McKinney v. 
Blankenship, 282 S. W. 2d 691 (Tex. 1955). 

Furthermore, were we to adopt the view that automobiles operated 
with metal tags under 6686 (a)(l) could be operated for any purpose, serious 
questions would arise as to the constitutionality of the taxation rule adopting 
such a dichotomy between automobiles owned by dealers and those not. 
Article 8 51. Texas Constitution, requires that “taxation shall be equal and 
uniform. ” By allowing dealers, their family, friends and employees to use 
automobiles for personal purposes, totally unconnected with legitimate 
business needs of the dealers, without paying the sale or use tax at the time 
of acquisition of said automobiles, the legislature would, in effect, exempt 
this class of person,sfrom the tax, while taxing identical uses by all other 
citizens of the state. This would be neither “equal” nor “uniform. ” See 
Greyhound Lines, Inc. v. Board of lZqualization, 419 S. W. 2d 345 (Tex. 
1967); H. Rouw Co.v. Texas Citrus Commission, 247 Si W. 2d 231 (Tex. 
1952). 

Where a statute is susceptible to more than one reasonable construc- 
tion, the Courts will not adopt that one which would render the statute 
unconstitutional. State v. Shoppers World, Inc., 380 S. W. 2d 107 (Tex. 
1964). We, in our advisory function; ,should follow the same rules of 
construction. 

We are reinforced in this conclusion by the Rules and Regulations 
Governing the Cancellation of Dealer’s Licenses, promulgated by the Texas 
Highway Department under the authority of Article 6686 (a) (11). They 
describe as a violation: 
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Using or permitting the use of a metal Dealers Plate 
or a Dealer’s Temporary Cardboard Tag on any 
vehi.cle which the Dealer does not own or control, or 
on a vehicle which is not ‘in stock and for sale. ’ 

It is our opinion, therefore, that an automobile used for the personal 
use of a dealer, his employees, or their families is subject to the tax of 
Article 6.01, Taxation-General, V. T. C. S., regardless of whether it is 
operated with metal or cardboard tags. 

SUMMARY 

An automobile owned by a dealer and used 
for the personal purposes of the dealer, his 
employees, or their families, is subject to the 
Motor Vehicle Sales and Use Tax, Article 6.01, 
Taxation-General, V. T. C. S., regardless of 
whether it is operated with metal plates or 
Temporary Cardboard Tags. 

Very truly yours, 

Attorney General of Texas 

DAVID M. KENDALL, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 

lg 
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