
The Honorable Kerry Knorpp 
County Attorney 
Potter County 
Amarillo, Texas 79101 

Opinion No. H-1004 

Re: Whether the Department of 
Public Welfare may require 
counties to collect a $20 ap- 
plication fee for child support 
collection services for non- 
welfare recipients. 

Dear Mr. Knorpp: 

You have requested our opinion concerning whether the 
Department of Public Welfare (hereinafter DPW) may require 
Potter County to collect a $20 application fee for child support 
collection services for non-welfare recipients. You note that 
DPW and Potter County have entered into an agreement for the 
provision of child support collection services. 

In 1975 Congress enacted Public Law 93-647 which provided 
in part for child support programs to be established by the 
various states with federal assistance. 88 Stat. 2337 et. seq, 
These programs were established in order to collect childsup- 
port payments assigned to the various states by AFDC (Aid to 
Families with Dependent Children) participants. Section 454(6) 
of that law I42 U.S.C. 5 654(6)) provides that a state plan for 
child support services must: 

(6) provide that (A) the child support 
collection or paternity determination ser- 
vices established under the plan shall be 
made available to any individual not other- 
wise eligible for such services upon ap- 
plication filed by such individual with 
the State, (B) an application fee for fur- 
nishing such services may be imposed, ex- 
cept that the amount of any such applica- 
tion fee shall be reasonable, as determined 
under regulations of the Secretary, and 
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(C) any costs in excess of the fee so imposed 
may be collected from such individual by de- 
ducting such costs from the amount of any 
recovery made. . . . 

See 45 C.F.R. 5 302.33 (1975). - 

In accordance with the federal program, the Texas Legis- 
lature amended Section 18-B of article 695c, V.T.C.S. to pro- 
vide DPW with authority to provide child support collection 
services ."to enable it to participate in programs established 
by federal law." Section 18-B(b) (4) authorizes DPW to "enter 
into contracts or agreements necessary to administer [the pro- 
gram]." See also 42 U.S.C. 654(7); 45 C.F.R. 5 302.34 (1975). 
Section 18-B(f)rovides: 

(f) The State Department of Public Welfare 
may make parent locator, child support col- 
lection, or paternity determination services 
available to an individual not otherwise eli- 
gible for the services upon application of 
the individual. A reasonable application fee 
'and costs may be assessed for the services 
under rules and regulations developed by the 
State Department. 

Thus DPW is specifically authorized by article 695c to 
enter into agreements such as that with Potter County and to 
assess an application fee for the services provided non-welfare 
recipients. Part I(A) of the contract with Potter County pro- 
vides in part: 

All functions under this contract will be 
performed in accordance with all Department 
and federal regulations and directives. 

In our view'this provision clearly requires Potter County to 
follow the valid regulations and directives of DPW. 

The requirement of a collection of a $20 application 
fee is contained in the State Department of Public Welfare 
Child Support Handbook. Since DPW is specifically authorized 
by article 695c. section 18-B(f), to.assess a "reasonable 
application fee" and since the $20 fee is expressly permitted 
under the federal regulations, in our opinion DPW's requirement 
is valid. 45 CFR 9302.33(b) (1) (1975). 
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YOU have asked whether such a fee would conflict with 
section 21.29 of the Family Code or with,article 336, V.T.C.S. 
SeCtiOn 21.29 is a part of the Uniform Reciprocal Enforcement 
of Support Act (URESA) and provides that "[t]here shall be 
no filing fee or other costs taxable to the obligee. . . ." 
We need not decide whether this provision alone would prevent 
the collection Of an application fee for URESA actions, although 
we note that under Rule 308-A of the Rules of Civil Procedure 
attorney's fees may be collected as costs in support actions 
governed thereby. See also Family Code 8 21.39(4). It is -- 
clear from the URESA statutes that a county attorney has the 
duty to represent an obligee plaintiff when requested by the 
court. Family Code, fi§ 21.33, 21.26, 21.03; Attorney General 
Opinion H-343 (1974); see Penal Code 5 25.05. - 

We do not believe that article 695c, section 18-B conflicts 
with the URESA statutes. Contracts entered pursuant to section 
18 require a county to provide a broader range of services than 
those already required under URESA, including parent location 
and establishment of paternity. Payment of the application 
fee entitles a non-welfare recipient'to the entire range of 
child support services, including URESA actions. Thus, a 
person need not apply for child support services under article 
695c in order to secure the prosecution of URESA actions; 
however, an applicant under article 69% would be entitled 
to all services thereunder which would include the prosecution 
of URESA actions where necessary. We note that Rule 308-A, 
T.R.C.P., provides a further option to an obligee where a child 
support order has been entered in a court of the state. Of 
course, where an application fee is collected, it should be 
refunded to the applicantif it is recovered from the obligor 
under Rule 308-A or section 21.39(4) of the Family Code. 

Article 336, V.T.C.S., prohibits a county attorney from 
taking any fee or compensation from any person in order to 
"prosecute any case which he is required by law to prosecute." 
In our understanding the $20 application fee is not taken by 
the county attorney as compensation; he does not receive any 
part thereof as remuneration., We do not believe that the 
statutorily authorized fee involved here conflicts with the 
proscription of article 336. As we noted above, the fee 
entitles a person to a broad range of services: the Legislature 
may properly provide for the financing of such services by 
collections from the parties benefited. 
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SUMMARY 

The Departmelit of Public Welfare may 
require counties to collect a $20 appli- 
cation fee from non-welfare recipients 
for child support services. 

Very truly yours, 

Attorney General of Texas 

APPROVED: 

c. ROBERT HEATH, Chairman 
Opinion Committee 
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