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Opinion No. W-428 

Re: Interpretation of article 
67016, section 143A: Questions 
rel&tlug to “defcaaive driving 
couru” .a alternative to 
court proceedinga 

Dear Ha. Jandc and Heasrs. Moatford and Plp!in: 

You have tcqueated oar opinion on the. queatloaa llated below 
relating to procedurea used by muolcipel~ and jurtice court judges in 
thin l tata ia.~le~oclng thk provisione of the Texee ecatute vhlch 
permits l .pereorr ehrrgcd~ vith”a misdemeinor offense ,related to the 
oper,ation bf i wtor vehicle td -take a “defeimlvc driving couue” or 

.~ “driving ufety ~courua ii~ “Lieu of ptoeecutfon qd further court 
proceedioge l r lsina  from the offeore. 

Tlic etacuca 10 quemtioa. l e&on.l43A of l rclile 670ld. V.T.C.S.. 
rud6 as follove: * I . 

DISXISSAL O? CERTAIN ltISOMWtON CN4RCW UPON 
COXPLETINC DRIVING SAFETY CGURSL. . 

sac. ‘14% (a) Nhen a parsoo ie charged 
vith a dideseenor offense under thie Act. other 
then a violetion of Sactioo SO or Sl. emitted 
while opericiag a motor vchlcle. the court: 

(1) in lta dfscrecion Roy defer proceedings 
and ellow the person 90 days to prwenc evidence 



CtwC. aubaaquanc to cha .ll.g.d act. th. parson 
has .succcsafully completed a defensive driver’s 
couraa l pprovad by the Texss Dapartmant of Public 
Safety or other driving safety course approved by 
cha court; or 

(2) shall defer proceedings and ellav the 
parson 90 days to present written evidence that, 
subsequent to chc alleged act, the person haa 
successfully completed a driving safety course 
approved by the court. If: 

(A) the parson presents to the court an oral 
request or written aotlon to take a-course: 

(5) ‘the peiaoa has a valid Texas drlvar’a 
license or permit; end 

(Cl the peraon’8 drlviog record as 
malnrsined by the Texas Dapartwnt of Public 
Safety doea not Indicate succeaeful colnpJition of 
,a driving safety *course under this ~acibdlvision 
within the cvo ycers iasnadietely preceding the 
date of the alleged offense. 

(b) When the person coinplles with cha 
provisions of Subeecrloo (a) of this section and 
zhe evidence presented is accepted by the court. 
the court shall dismiss the charge. 

.Uhcn a charge Is d&seed under this UCC~W. the 
charge may not be part of cbc detson’s ‘driving 
record dr used for aiy purpose. but the court 
ihall report the fut that l p er 000 hu 

eucceaafully completed a driving ufety course and 
the dote of completion to the Texas Oepartaent of 
Pal, I Lc Safety.. ~for inclusion in the parmon’i 
drivt”$: record. The court shall note in it0 
rcwct ~dmtbar tbC course vas taken under the 
pmccdurc provided ~by Subdfviaion (2) of 
S~ub~ccha (aj of this seccioti for the purpose of 
providing information necessary to determine 
l lWbility to teke l subsequent edurse under that 
subdlvislon. 

The questions Presented by you ralaclng co the interpretaclon and 
ioplamcntation of this statute art as follows: 
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1. It a court (municipal or juarlca court) 
re;uircd Co give a go-day deferral for l defendrnc 
to Cake a dafensivc driver’s course. es provided 
In section 143A(a)(2), ac any time that a moc,lon 
is uada by che.dafendent to cake such a course 

_ (assuming thac.tha dafendanc is aliglble)? 

2. -At uhsc polnc. if ray. ~ln .a .mlsdemeanor 
traffic offense proceeding could the judge refuse 
a motion to allow the defendant to take a 
defensive drlvar’s- Course and hsve hit citation 
dlsmlssed under article 6701d. section 143A(a)(2)? 

.3. Hay a judge require a dcfandsnt to cntar 
s plea of guilty or nolo contendere before the 
judge will allou the defendant to cake s defenslva 
driver’s court under either subsection 1 oi 2? 

4. Usy s judge require the defendant to 
pieseut s copy of the Texas Deparcuent of Public 
Safety’s spproval of the defensive driver’s course 
before the judge yill l llov .the indivldusl ‘to 
register for s particular course? 

5. ‘Hay the judge require e defendant to 
provide to the court a notarized svorn statment 
actestiag CO the fact Chet the dafendau$ haa not 
coslpleced a defensive, driving course vichln the 
put tvo years for the purpose of hsving a 
cltstlon dismlssedt ., 

6. What steps.msy a judge take efrer the 
ainety-day period, vhlch the defendsnc vi8 giveo 

-to complete a defensive driving course. if the 
defendsnt ‘did oat then supply the court vith 
vritten evidence that he lo facts did complete the 
cours.e? 

7. 18 .lt uaechiul for s judge co sdvfse a 
party vho requests tnfonrtlon on ihe scste’s 

. dcfcns(vc dr,iving lsv so to the steps necuury co 
comply vlth l ectlon 143AT 

R. . . Liay a judge require the dafendanc to 
perronally sppaar in hit court to sstisfy my of 
the raqulrananCa set out 1” this act? . 
SpecIficaLly. l fear a defendant hat taken the, 
dafanslvc drlvar’a course. may a judge damand the 

-./ . 1 (rs’) 



prcscnrac1on of rile Co”rBf complctlcn certificate 
In pcrcon or may it be mailed to the court vithln 
tbd required clme limit? 

This office hcs In an earlier opinion determined that the statute 
In qucction. scctlon 143A of article 6701d. V.T.C.S.. lm 
conscltutlonal l d that It does not impcrmicslbly lnfrlngc on the 
dlccrctlon of c judge before whom a misdemcsnor traffic offense haa 
been brought. See Attorney Central Opinion W-185 (1980). In that 
oplnlon. Ye stated: 

(Ilt lc well established that the ltglslaturc 
my. glut judges rcaponslbilltlcs which do not 
require the cxcrcisc of judlclal discretion. See 
JamsKIn v. Garrett, 69 S.U.Zd 51; (Tcx. Clv. G. 
-. Tcxarkmic 1934. -wit rcf’d); Koll v. State. 157 

‘,‘$U.2d..377 (Tax;‘-Crla. App. - 1941). . A judge may 
be assigned sialettrlal duties. vhlch a& duties 
prcccrlbcd and defined vlth such precision as to 
lcavc nothing..rp: tbc l xcrciee bf dlccrctloa or 
jtdgment; Jmoiglo~ V. Garrett. M. Once the 
defendant complies vi,@ the three cond5tidas under 
~sactlon l&i(a)(2)..- we btllevc the court’ has a 
~ministc.rial duty-to dismiss the charge. 

Ulth rcgsrd to your ,flrst question.. dcferrdl of 6 court’n 
proceedings under l tc tio n. 143A(a)(2) 1s mandatory. and the Q&day 

.pcrlod should run fron the date the dtfeadanr’s written or oral motion 
lr~granted; .Seccioa 143A(a)(2) Lo specific on thlr point. 

-Your s&and questi& addresser the tiarc llolt~. if any. within 
which a defendant can elect to tokc the dcfcnslvc driver’s course. 

The stpk&~-vas~: intended by the legislature’ to provide an 
cltcrneti~e tq the procecutlon and .‘trial of 8isdcmcanor trcffic 
offcares. ~e~,ksptloa of :the roektlng l ct l teted: ,“[aln Act relating 
to a. drivlnp .qofety eoutac l e ‘aa‘ altcmctlvc to prosecution for 
certala traffic offenses....” Aete 1979. 66th kg., chi 610 at 1359. 
It is clear from the rtctute, thst once a prrson 16 “charSed” with the 
offence. 
“def l r  

Chc court uy or. shall (dcpendlng~ on the iircuastances) 
proceedings” to l now a. defend-t to conplate the courcc and 

thereby halt further court pioeecdlngs.. We belfeve, haueverr that the 
logicsl conctructlon of the ccatute fm thrf once the dcfcndant or his 
eounrel has announced thct’hc is ready for trial, and once. the trial 
(before the court or before a jury) has cownced. the option under 
section 143A to take the driving course lo no lohgcr available to the 
defendant, and the court my properly refute l srotlon by the ‘defendant 
to take the .dcfcnslvo drivcr’c course. By going to trial. the 
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defendant hqe chosen to forego the defensive driving coutee se en 
eltcrnetive means to dlepoee of the charge brought against him. 

In answer to your third question. it would be Improper for e 
judge to require a defendant to enter e plee of guilty or nolo 
contendere before the defendant le elloved to take the dcfeneivc 
driver’s ooursc. In cnectlng section 143A, the lagielarurc clearly 
established the completion of a defensive driver’s course as en 
alternative to court prosecution for minor traffic offenses. The 
cxpllclt language of the statute la that the court “shell dofcr 
proceedings” (section 143A(s)(Z)). It vould .bc a violation of e 
defendent’s constitutlonel rights. es well as prlvllcgcs grented by 
the legislature under this etetute. for a judge to require e defcndent 
to enter  l uy plea In exchange for exercising thc’optlon prescribed In 
section 143A(c)(Z). The l tetutc cleerly mskcs the defendant’s 
cxcrclee of ‘the section 143A(c)(Z) option en l ltcrn~tlvc to furthcr 
court proceedings end clininetes the necessity of entering 3 plea es 
a prccocditlon. Further, the court can never force l ny plce co be 
entered by a defendant; if no plea Is entered, the court must enter a 
not. gullty plee. Tcx. Code Crln. Proc. art. 27.16(a). 

In anever to your fourth question, UC hevc earlier eoncluded.thet 
the texes Department of Public Safety, hcrclneftcr referred to ee.the 
DPS. hee authority tc? llccnec all driver trelnlng l chwle, including 
those that provide the defensive driver’s course +thorixcd by section 
143A. kc Attorney Ccncrel .Oplnion W-16 (1979). Yhle question asks 
vhcthcr~ defendant exercising hie option. lue l burden of proving 
bcforeheud thet the dcfcneivc drlver’s- courie to be taken under 
ecctlon 143A hes bccn~ “epproved” by thc~ DPS. 

The atetutc trenefcrs no .euch burden to the defendent. In 
Attorney General Opinion t¶U-18s (1980) WC Interpreted the follwing 
words in ecc~lon 143A(b): “...and the evidence preecnted 1s l cceptcd 
by the court.” WC stated there: ‘~ . 

You suggest’ that this provlelon refer0 to common 
- law rules of cvldcncc and meane that the judge 

muet edoit rhe evidence prcecnced by l dcfcndent 
unless there 1s en objection to it., llcmcver , 
l cctlon 143A(b) uece the t&cm ‘ecceptid’ rethcr 

._ then ‘admitted. lforcovcr. since ~wctloa 
143A(e) (2). l pclle out the kind of evidence which 
dcfcndent must prcscnt. the judge need not rule on 
~rclevency. He need only dstctmlnc vhethcr the 
cvidcnce conform to the rcqulrcnentc of section 
143A(a) (2). We believe the language you Inquire 
l bout contempletce that the judge-will cveluetc 
the evidence presented by the defendent that he 



has successfully completed en epproved defensive 
driving toursc end accept It if in fact it 
cornpIles vith the statutory rcquircmente. 

Thus. following our prior rceeonlng. WC conclude that section 
143~ does not place any effirmetive burden of proof on the defendant 
to present to the court proof of completion of the course in J 
specific fora. such se vrltten proof from the DPS of its approval of 
the course taken. Defensive driving schools customarily provide a 
certlflutc of completion to persons uho -have succtssfully completed 
the course. A judge. should evaluate the evidence Of a completed 
course presented by defendants on a case-by-case basis. The statute 
dote not provide for a judge’s prior approval of the course to be 
taken. 

In ansvcr to your fifth question , we similarly find no language 
in scccion 143A which would permit a judge to speclflcelly reaulrc 
submission of e noterlrcd svorn’statement attesting to the fecc chat 
the .defendent has not completed a driving safety couree within, the 
prior tvo-ycer period as a precondition to dismissal of chergee. 
Subedctlona~ (A), (B) and (C) of section 143A(s)(Z) recite the three 
fnrms of “written cvldcncc”~vhich the defendant must present to prove 
compliance with the statute. The judge must evaluate on a 
case-by-cast basis the evidence presented by the d+fendant chat he has 
complied vlch subsections (A), (lb) and (C) of the statute. 

As co question six. the judge mey take a number of customary 
acciona if the defendant falls to complete the course within the 
go-day period and falls-.to presetit such proof to the court. These 
Include setting the meter for.trlal, acceptance and filing of failure 
to iippcer chergce. Issuing an .arreet uerrant. or other actions 
permitted by lav. as If’ the defendant had never elected to take the 
defensive dtlvcr’r course under section 143A. 

. . . . 
AR .‘to quentlon seven. It ,would not be a ‘vloletiori of judicial 

ethics’ for e judge to advise a defendant of his option to take the 
driving nafcty course. The right .to take the course has been granted 
by the lcglrfocurc to defendants, In aledc.mcenor traffic ceses. end it 
Gould. not be uurthlcsl for a jud,gc ,to advise a defendant of the 
spcclflc stcpe ncccse~ty to comply with the statute. . . ‘. . 

.Uith regard to question eight . tic find no 1IWIgUAge in SeCtiOn 
143A .uhleh uourd permit a. judge to requite that a dcfendnnt bc 
physically present la his court pcteonelly to present the “written 
l vldcncc” of comp)iencc vlth subecctlone (A), (B) and (C). Under 
currcnC etetutcs and ptsctlcc. a defendant can dispoee of e 
misdemeanor traffic citation without ever personally l ppeerlng in 
court. A-defendant can enter a ples’by mall ot’through his ettorney. 
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see. Ttxsfi Code of Criminal Proctdurc. articles 27.14 and 27.16: the 
Grt can set.an appemmce bond aa vcll as an appeal bond without the 
defendant’s presence, article 27.14(bj; and the defendant can file s 
notice of appeal for trisl de novo without personally appearing ln 
court. article 44.13 et. seq. See also Attorney General Opir.lon 
H-1203 (1978) (dlscu,sslng articles 33.03 and 33.64, Tex. Code Grim. 
Proc.. the latter of which petnice certain criels in misdemeanor cases 
in the absence of a defendant). 

These stetuteq dawnstrace a policy by the legislature to permit 
the disposal of minor miadcmeenor traffic offense cases lo the absence 
of rhe defendant, vho Is permitted by these 8tscutes to appear 
personally or by counsel end co conduct some or all of the case by 
mall, without the inconv nience of being forced to drive hundreds of 
miles across the state I o be present during varlou8 6tares of his 
proceedfng. 

Similarly. ve conclude that section 14% does not compel nor 
authorize a .judge co require the presence of the defendant to, “prove 
up” hie coipllance with the three requlremeat~ listed In section 
14%(a) (2). “Written evidence” la sufficient under the statute when 
the defensive driving ~completloa certificate la presented by the 
defendant by mail. 

SUMMARY 

1. A, judge must pet-air a defendant ~to take 
the defensive drlver’s~ course in every ease’vhere 
e motion to take the course Is properly -de end 
where the defendant 1s l ~lglble for the courae. 

2. The defendant msy exercise his right to 
elect to trke the defensive dtlver’a course at any 
time prior to commencement of hla trial on the 
ehergea brought. If he bee not done eo. the right 
to take the driving course l e an alternative to 
court proceedings Is no longer available to him. 

3. A, judge mey not require a defendant to 
enter any plea as’s precondition to ~pernlttlng the 
defendant to elect to take the defensive driver’s 
course under l ectlon 143A(s) (2). 

4. A ,‘judge MY not require e defendent who 
c~ects to take the defensive driver’s course to 
prow CO the court beforchend thee the course he 
tntendu to take bee been approved by the 
Deprrtmcnc of Public Safety. 
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5. A judge has no specific. authority under 
se6tlon l43A to require submission of a notarized 
svom statement by the defendant atteocfng that he 
has not completed onothcr defensive driver’s 
coume vlthln the prior tvo-year period. 

6. Where a defendant fsils to complete the 
defensive driver’s course und fails to comply vith 
the provisions of #action 143A after being granted 
permission of court, the court mny proceed vlth 
prosecution of the chsrges 6s If the defendant hsd 
never elected to or been permitted to take the 
course. 

7. A judge uy advise a defendant of the 
speclf ic Actions necessary to fulfill the 
requlrcments of l ectioa 143A(a)(2). 

8. Section i13A doea sot permit 4 judge t’o 
f require that a defendant ‘personally appear in 

court to present “vrltten evldeuce” of completion 
of the defensive driver’s coume. 

JOHN-U. FAINTER. JR. 
First Aarl8cant Attorney Central . 

RICHARD i. GRAY III 
Executive Aoristant Attorney Ceneml 

Prepared by Richard W. Mayer 
Asalotlnt Attorney Central 

APPROVED: 
OPINION COtMI~RR 

Surnn I.. Garrison, Chairman 
Rick Cllpln 
Nlchord W. Heyer 
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