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Dear Mr. Driscoll:

Re: Whether & county clerk is entitled
to Tecelve & fee in connection with
administration of trust funds under
article 2558a, section 4c(a), V.T.C.S.

You have reqiested our opinion in regard to the implementation of

section 4c{a) of article 2558a, V.T.C.S.

Specifically you have asked:

1. At what point in a lawsuit would the fee be
assessed and collected?

2. Does commissioners court, the county clerk
or the judge in each case institute collection of

the fee?

3. May the county clerk receive a reasonable
fee for holding the trust funds pursuant to the
decision of the Texas Supreme Court in Sellers v.
Harris County, 483 S.W.2d 242 (Tex. 1972)?

4. 1Is the county clerk entitled to a reason-

able fee
matters?

Section 4c(a) provides:

for holding trust funds 4in probate

To pffset the expense of handiing District

Clerk and County Clerk Trust Funds for the benefit
of litigants in civil proceedings, a county may
collect from the nonprevailing party in the
litigation or from the party the court shall
designate a fee of $50.

v.T.C.S. art. 2558a,

§4c(a).

The Texas Supreme Court in Sellers v,

Harris County, 483 $.W.2d 242 (Tex. 1972) described article 2558a as:
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a comprehensive statute setting procedure and
11ability in the handiing of trust funds in the
posseseion of c¢ounty and district clerks. It
makes the county liable if funds on deposit with
its designated depository are lost. The clerk is
relieved of responsibility for the safekeeping of
the funds so lcng as they are deposited in the
legally selected depository.

483 S.W.2d at 243,

Prior to Sellers, supra, Harrls County relied on section 4a to
c¢ollect all interest earned on the trust fund and place this interest
in the general fund of the county as an offset to the expense of
handling the trust fund for the benefit of the litigants., But, the
supreme court in Sellers, supra, held that interest earned by deposit
of money owned by the parties to a lawsuit is the property of the
owners and not the county. 483 S.W.2d at 243. Accordingly, we
believe from the express words of section 4c(a) the legislature
intended to allow the couaty to collect only a $50 fee to offset the
expense of handling the trust fund.

You first ask, at waiat point in the lawsuit would the fee be -
asgessed and collected. The proviasion does not specify a particular
time in which the fee may be collected. The Supreme Court of Texas
has promulgated rules relsted to cost in clvil cases. See Tex. R,
Civ, P, at 125-49; see also Gov't. Code §22.004. These rules are
applicable to all civil cases instituted in the state courts.

Rule 129 outlines the procedure for collecting cost. Rule 129
provides in part:

If any party responsible for costs fails or
refuses to pay the same within tem days after
demand for payment, the clerk or justice of the
peace may make certified copy of the bill of costs
then due, and place the same in the hands of the
sheriff or conuatable for collection. All taxes
imposed on law proceedings shall be included in
the bill of costs. Such certified bill of costs
shall have the force and effect of an execution.
The removal of a case by appeal shall not prevent
the issuance of an execution for costs. (Emphasis
added).

Tex. R, Civ. P, 129, This rule contemplates that the cost is to be
collected from the responsible party when it is due. Thus, it is
reasonable to conclude that the function for which the cost is taxed
has been performed. Cf. Attorney General Opinion B-756 (1975) (clerk
may not collect a fee for service of process before service is made).
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Moreover, Rule 125 provices that parties responsible are only liable
for costs "incurred” 1.e., vhen the funds have been tendered to the
county clerk to be held 11 trust.

Section 4c(a) authorizes the county to collect the $50 fee from
either the nonprevailing party or from the party the court shall
designate. V.T.C.S. art., 2558a, 84c(a). Accordingly, bdefore a
district or county clerl: may collect the $50 fee, the expense of
handling the trust fund must have been incurred. The assessment of
cost will necessarily sewait the outcome of the litigation. Cf.

Whitley v. King, 581 S.W.2d 541 (Tex. Civ. App. - Fort Worth 1979, nc
writ).

In regard to your second question, it 1s not clear under section
4c(a) who 1is required to institute collection of the fee. Section
4e(a) only provides that "a county” may collect the fee. V.T.C.S.
art. 2558a, §4c(a). Although counties normally act through the
commissioners court, article 2558a contemplates that the county and
district clerks shall render the service of handling the trust fund,
See generally Sellers v. Harris County, 483 S.W.2d 242 (Tex. 1972).
Thus, we believe that the county clerk is required to institute the

collection of the $50 fee under article 3930(10), V,.T.C.S. Article
3930 provides in part:

County cler<s . . . are hereby authorized and
required to collect the following fees for services
rendered by them to all persons, firms, corpora-
tions, legal entities, governmental agencies and/or
governmental representatives:

- L] L] -

(10) For such other duties prescribed, autho-
rized, and/or permitted by the Legislature for
which no fee i1s set by this Act, reasonable fees
shall be charged. (Emphasis added).

V.T.C.S. art. 3930(10). Accordingly, we conclude that the county
clerk 1is responsible in each case for instituting the collection of
the fixed fee of $50 authorized by section 4c(a). Moreover, Rule 129
of the Texas Rules of Civil Procedure, as quoted above, also implies

that county or district :lerks institute the collection of costs due.
Cf. Tex. R. Civ. P, 129,

You next ask whether the county clerk may receive a reasonable
fee pursuant to Sellers v, Harris County, 483 S.W.2d 242 (Tex. 1972),
for holding the trust fund. We think not. Sellers, supra, held that
the county may charge a fee which 1s reasonably related to the value
of the county's services. 1Id. at 244, However, section 4c(a)
specifies that the fee for handling the trust funds is to be $50.
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Thus, the 1legislature has determined that this fee is reasonably
related to the value of the services; and, therefore, no additional
fee may be assessed.

Finally, you ask whether a county clerk is entitled to collect a
reasonable fee for holding trust funds in probate matters. Section
12(a) of the Probate Code provides:

The provisicns of 1law regulating cost in
ordinary civil cases shall apply to all matters in
probate when not expressly provided for im this
Code. (Emphasis added).

Section 4c(a) of article 2558a, V.T.C.S., applies to 2all "etvil
proceedings,” and we are unaware of any express provision in the
Probate Code relating to the expense of handling district clerk and
county clerk trust funds for the bernefit of the litigants. Therefore,
section 4c(a) is applicable to probate proceedings. TFor the reasons
specified above, the county or district clerk is entitled only to a
fixed fee of 550 for handling the trust fund in probate matters.

SUMMARY

Before a district or county clerk may collect a
$50 fee pursuant to section &4c(a) of article
2558a, V.T.C.S., the expense of the district or
county clerk for handling the trust fund must have
been incurred, ind there must have been a designa-
tion of a responesible party by the court. Article
3930(10), V.T.C.5., requires the county clerk to
institute this zollection of the fixed fee of $50
authorized by section &4c(a). Section 4c(a) of
article 2558a, V,T.C.S., requires that the county
receive a reasoiable fee of $50. No other fee is
contemplated by the provision. Finally section
4c(a) 1s read together with section 12(a) of the
Probate Code, the county clerk may collect the $50
fee in probate nroceedings.

Veryjtruly yourd,
JIM MATTOZX

Attorney General of Texas

JACK HIGHTOWER
First Assistant Attorney GSeneral
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MARY KELLER
Executive Assistant Attorney General

ROBERT GRAY
Special Assistant Attorney General

RICK GILPIN
Chairman, Opinion Committee

Prepared by Tony Guillory
Assistant Attorney General
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