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Dear Mr. Grossenbacher: 

Opinion No. DM-356 

Re: Authority of the Texas Employment 
Commission to transfer or assign a hen or 
notice of assessment based on unpaid 
wages, under chapter 61, Labor Code, to 
the wage claimant (RQ-745) 

You ask with regard to wage claims made to the Texas Bmployment Commission 
(the ‘kxxnmission”) under subchapter D (sections 61.051 - .066), chapter 61 of the Labor 
Code, for which the commissi on has issued “hal orders” ordering payment by the 
employer, whether “the State of Texas [can] transfer or assign [a lien and/or] a Notice of 
Assessment based on unpaid wages to the wage cBimant, so the claimant might pursue 
collection efforts on his own.” By way of background we review the relevant provisions. 

An employee, other than a public employee, may ille a claim for unpaid wages with 
the commission. Labor Code $5 61.003, ,051. The commission analyzes the claim and 
issues a “prehminary wage determination order” either dismiming the claim or ordering 
payment of wages determined to be due and unpaid. The commission may include in the 
order an order to pay an administrative penalty if it determines the employer acted in bad 
t%th in not payingthewages. Id @61.052-.053. %therpartymayreques! a hexing’ 
to contest a prelhninary wage determination order.” Id. 8 61.054. The request for 
hearing must be made in writing not later than twenty-one days a&r the commission mails 
the parties notice of the prehminary order. Otherwise the prehminary order becomes “‘the 
tinal order of the commission for all purposes” inchnling “judicial review. . under 
[subchapter D].” Id. § 61.055. The employer is to pay the amount ordered-less valid, 
itemized deductions-to the commission by such twenty-6rst day atIer notice of the order 
was mailed. “Payment to the commission constitutes payment to the employee for all 
purposes.” Id. 5 61.056(b); Act ofMay 21,1993,73d Leg., RS., ch. 456, 5 2, 1993~Tex. 
Sess. Law Serv. 1833, 1834.’ 

‘The provisions of cbaptcr 61, Labor code. wcrc culitkd in 1993. Act of May 12,1993,73d 
Leg.. RS., ch 269, 1993 Tar Sss. Law Sav. 990. They foimcrly qycared as V.T.C.S. title 5155, 
which wss qxalcd by the 1993 axl@ing act. Without rcfmncc to that reptal anotbu 1993 bii 
amended articlc 5155. Act of May 21, 1993,73d Leg, RS., ch. 456, 1993 Tex. Sas. Law Serv. 1833. 
pursuanttoGwcrnmentcodescction311.031(c)thc amcndmenuntustkgivmc&ctasgartpattdchaptcr 
61. 
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If a hearing on the preliminary order is requested, the commission must notify the 
parties of the hearing by the twenty-first day atIer receiving the request, and conduct the 
hearing within forty-five days of such notice. Labor Code Q 61.057. After the hearing-at 
which the commission may modify, aSinn, or rescind its prehminary order-the 
commission enters an order for the payment of wages and penalty amounts determined 
due and mails notice thereof to the patties. The order becomes “tinal” fourteen days after 
it is mailed unless “a party to the appeal files a written motion for rehearing” or “the 
commission reopens the hearing” before that date, however, a party may file suit in the 
proper court to appeal the “final order” within sii days after it was mailed. Id. 
$61.059 - ,062; Act ofey 21. 1993,73d Leg., R.S., ch. 456, $2, 1993 Tex. Sess. Law 
Setv. 1833, 1834. In any case, if the commission’s final order requires the employer to 
pay wages or a penalty, he is to pay such amounts to the commission within sixty days 
after the commission’s order becomes tinal. Labor Code 4 61.063; Act of May 21, 1993, 
73d Leg., RS., ch. 456, § 2, 1993 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. 1833, 1834.2 “Not later than the 
30th day after the date on which a claim is tinally adjudicated or otherwise resolved,” the 
commission is to pay the cBimant “wages collected under [subchapter D]” (presumably 
less any amounts remitted) along with any interest accrued. Labor Code 8 61.064. 

Your specitic concerns are with situations where there is no court appeal of the 
commission’s tinal order. “A final order . . against an employer indebted to the state for 
pedties or wages, unless timely appealed,” constitutes Ua lien on all the property 
belonging to the employer.” Id. 5 61.081(a) (emphasis added). “The lien for an unpaid 
debt attaches at the time the order. . becomes final.” Id. 5 61.081(b). Administration 
and enforcement of the hen by the commission is as for tax liens under chapter 113, 
subchapters A and B, Tax Code. Id. 5 61.082. Liens may be recorded in the book 
entitled “State Tax Liens” kept by the county clerk. Id. 5 61.083. 

Also, pursuant to an unappealed final order, the wmmission may serve a “‘notice of 
assessment” on a defaulting employer, which “is prima facie evidence of the contents of 
the notice.” Act of May 21, 1993, 73d Leg., R.S., ch. 456, $2, 1993 Tex. Sess. Law 
Serv. 1833, 1834. The party served may contest the notice in court, but if he doesn’t do 
so within thirty days of setvice, the notice “shall be treated as if it were a final judgment of 
a district wurt, and shah be recorded, enforced and renewed in the same manner.” Id. 

Noting that both “the administrative liens and Notices of Assessment presently 
bemg filed by Texas Employment Commission identity the claimant whose wage claim 
occasioned the final determination and order, as well as the amount of wages due, but 

p. 1898 
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that] both the administrative hen and the Notice of Assessment are tiled in the name of the 
State of Texas,” your specific question, again is whether “the State of Texas [can] 
transfer or assign [a lien based on unpaid wages and/or] a Notice of Assessment based on 
unpaid wages to the wage claimant, so the claimant might pursue collection efforts on his 
OWYL” 

In our opinion, such transfers or assignments were not contemplated by the 
legislature in the applicable provisions. Nor do we f3nd any basis in those provisions fbm 
which commission authority to make such transfers or assignments can be reasonably 
derived. See 2 TgX. JUR. 3D Auhiniszhzfive Law 3 11(1979) (and authorities cited there) 
(state agency has only such powers as are expressly wnferred on it by statute, together 
with those necessarily implied from powers and duties expressly given or imposed). By 
“tmnsfhg” or “assigning” the notices or hens, the wmmission would neces&ly be 
relinquishing its interest in the hens or notices. Even though the wmmission has 
considerable authority under chapter 61 -section 61.002 gives the wmmission authority to 
“adopt rules as necemary to implement” the chapter-we think that the department’s 
disposing of its interest in and wntrol over the notices and liens without having obtained 
the wages owed to the claimant would be such a departure from the actual provisions of 
chapter 61 as to require 8nther legislative authorization for it to be a valid exercise of 
commission powers. 

Chapter 61 makes specitic provisions for the enforcement of the wmmission’s tinal 
orders and the hens and notices of assessment derived from them. The attorney general or 
wmmission may bring suit in Travis County to mforce tinal orders from which no appeal 
has been taken. Labor Code 4 61.066; Act of May 21, 1993,73d Leg., B.S., ch. 456,s 2, 
1993 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. 1833, 1834. Unappealed notices of assessment “shall be 
recorded, enforced, and renewed in the same manner” as “the final judgment of a district 
wurt.” Id. “If the liability secured by the lien is hdly paid, the wmmission shah mail a 
release to the employer.” Labor Code 3 61.084. Although the provisions of Tax Code 
chapter 113, subchapters A and B-applicable under section 61.082 to the wmmission’s 
enforcement of its liens-provide for the assignment of “judgment[s] perpetuating and 
foreclosing. . . tax lien[s] for the amount of the taxes covered in the judgment,” Tax Code 
5 113.107(a), they make no provisions for assignment or transfer of liens appropriate or 
applicable to the assignments and transfers you ask about, which we assume would not 
involve consideration, at least in amounts equal to the underlying debts. See uLru Tax 
Code $4 111.251 - .255 (specific provisions for assignment of state tax claims upon 
payment by assignee of taxes, fines, penalties, and interest due). 

Had the legislature intended to authorize the kinds of assignments or transfers you 
ask about, we think it would have specifically done so, in the manner that it has specitied 
other means of enforcement of the hens and notices of assessment. Again we conclude 
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that the wmmission lacks authority to transfer or assign a lien or notice of assessment 
based on unpaid wages, under chapter 61, to the wage claimants 

You also ask whether “a wage claimant for whose use and benetit the State of 
Texas [holds a hen or] has perfected a Notice of Assessment precluded from pursuing on 
his own statutory and common law remedies to get execution on that [hen or] Notice of 
Assessment because it was created in the name of the State?” We assume that you are 
asking here about situations where the wmmission has not assigned or transferred the 
liens and Notices of Assessment to the employeekhtimant. Also by “perfected a Notice of 
Assessment,” we understand you to refer to a notice of assessment that, because it was 
unwntested or upheld after judicial review, is to be “treated as if it were the tinal 
judgment of a district wurt.” See Act of May 21, 1993, 73d Leg., R.S., ch. 456. 5 2, 
1993 Tex. Sess. Law Serv. 1833,1834. 

Wah respect to Uens, we find no authority for a person other than the 
“lienholde?‘-here, the State of Texas&to “get execution” thereon. See 50 TEX. JUIL 3D 
Liens $8 31- 33 (1986) (and authorities cited there). Also, as discussed above, we 
believe that chapter 61 of the Labor Code and the provisions of chapter 113 of the Tax 
Code referenced there provide the exclusive procedures for enforcement of the hens in 
question. Section 61.082 imposes the duties and authority of enforcing these liens on the 
wmmissioner. Similarly, as for Notices of Assessment which have wme to have the 
effect of wurt judgments, we tind no authority for a person other than the “owner” of a 
judgment-here, the State of Texas-to obtain a writ of execution thereon. See 34 TTX. 
JUR. .?G&rcemeni of Judgments $6 (1984) (and authorities cited 01ere).~ 

%imilarly, aiace assi.$mueat or tmnsfer, without amsidmation, ofliens and notices of- 
which iwhded penalty assmmcm owdtuthe wmmimtou mlher than the anploye&Mment would 
clearly run afoul of amstitutional prohibitions on grants, see Tar. ComX art. III, 5 51, WC think that tbc 
lcgishmwWtdimvcspcciflcauyplwi~forthemvumIa ofthtintemsufmmthelienornotiaof 
astsmmd to be tigned or tlausferred had it contemplated such a.Wigmncnts or tmnsfem. 
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The Texas Employment Commission lacks authority to transfer 
or assign a lien or notice of assessment based on unpaid wages, under 
chapter 61, Labor Code, to the wage claimant. The wage claimant 
may not directly get execution on a lien or notice of judgment held by 
the commission in the name of the state: 

DAN MORALES 
Attorney General of Texas 

JORGE VEGA 
Pii Assistant Attorney General 

SARAH J. SHIRLEY 
Chair, Opiion Committee 

Pmpared by Wdliam Walker 
As&ant Attorney General 
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