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The Honorable Dan Morales BarbaraT. Slow, R.Ph. 

Attorney General of Texas Opinion Committee 
Ruth F. Stewan, R.N.C. 

Price Daniel, Sr. Building 
Austin, Texas 78711 

Re: Interpretations of Section 9.13 of H.B. 11 (72 Leg., First 
Called Sess.) 

Dear General Morales: 

This letter is to request an opinion from you pertaining to 
questions which have arisen concerning the implementation of 
Section 9.13 of H.B. 11 (72nd Leg., First Called Sess.). This law 
amends Section 361.013 (a) of the Texas Health and Safety Code 
(WCode4'), and is effective September 1, 1991. 

For the last two years the Department has collected disposal fees 
under the authority of Section 361.013(a) of the Code. Municipal 
solid waste in Texas is typically transported by truck to landfills 
either uncompacted (loose) or compacted (pressure applied to reduce 
the volume). Much of this waste is compacted to reduce the number 
of truck trips to a landfill. This is both economically and 
environmentally desirable. Currently, in Texas, most landfills do 
not have scales for weighing, so, if a landfill operator desires to 
report the fees to the Department on a tonnage basis, it could do 
so by using the conversion factors for cubic yards to tons found in 
25 Tex. Admin. Code Sec. 325.603. 

The new wording of Section 361.013(a) is as follows: 

(a) Except as provided by Subsection (e), the department 
shall charge a fee on solid waste that is disposed of 
within this state. The fee is the greater of 50 Cents 
per ton or, for COmDaCted solid waste, 50 cents per cubic 
yard or, for uncomuacted solid waste, 10 cents per cubic, 
yard received for disposal at a landfill. The department\ 
shall set the fee for sludge or similar waste applied to, 
the land for beneficial use on a dry weight basis and for 
solid waste received at an incinerator or a shredding and 
cornposting facility at half the fee set for solid waste 
received for disposal at a landfill. The department may i 
charge comparable fees for other means of solid waste 
disposal that are used. 
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Prior to the amendment, the department was to charge the following 
fees: 

* by weight, $0.50 per ton; 

* by volume, compacted waste, $0.17 per cubic yard; 
uncompacted waste, $0.10 per cubic yard. 

The net result of the old wording was that no matter how the waste 
came into the landfill, the landfill operator was to charge roughly 
the same ($0.00025 per pound). 

There appear to be at least two ways of interpreting this statute. 
Both interpretations require a comparison between the weight and 
volume of solid waste in order to compute the highest fee. +2ae 

i---c- ' * 
The m 

INTERPRETATION ONE: 
Greater of: 
*Weight (tons), or 
*Volume (compacted), or 
*Volume (uncompacted). 

INTERPRETATION TWO: 
Greater of: 
*For compacted waste: weight or cubic yards 
*For uncompacted waste: weight or cubic yards. 

The 4 

Is the fee the 
n have to be made 

by the department as to whether these wastes are compacted or not? 
Generally, sludge is considered to be compacted, since technically 
it cannot be compacted further. Incinerator wastes are usually 
considered only by the ton, since the incinerator capacity is 
measured by the tonnage burned. 

Your earliest response to this matter would be most appreciated 
since operators of solid waste facilities are required by the 
statute to collect the new fees effective September 1, 1991, 
the department has been unable to provide guidance as to the 
calculation of the fees. The department hasp notified all 
permittees and the cities and counties involved in the collection 
and disposal of solid waste of this issue. 
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If you would like any other information, please do not hesitate to 
contact us. You may call Mr. T.A. Outlaw, Jr., P.E., Chief, BUreaU 
of Solid Waste Management, or Mr. W. Thomas Godard or Ms. Susan E. 
Tennyson, Office of General Counsel, for information or background 
material. 

Sincerely, 

/w 
obert . MacLean, M.D. 

Acting Commissioner of Health 



Robert A. MacLean, M.D. 
Acting Commissioner 
Texas Department of Health 
1 I,00 West 49th Street 
Austin, Texas 187563199 

September 11, 1991 

Dear Robert: 

This letter is to provide an indication of the legislative intent behind the increase in solid 
waste disposal fees provided by House Bill 11, 72nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, 1991. 

Sec. 361.013(a), Health and Safety Code (as amended by Sec. 2, Chapter 303, and Sec. 2, 
Chapter 370, Acts of the 72nd Legislature, Regular Session, 1991) was amended as follows: 

“(a) Except as provided by Subsection (e), the department shall charge a fee on solid 
waste that is disposed of within this state. The fee is the greater of 50 cents per ton 
or, for compacted solid waste, 50 [G] cents per cubic yard or, for uncomuacted solid 

1. waste. [e ] 10 cents per cubic yard [e - 
waste] received for disposal at a landfii. The department shall set the fee for sludge 
or similar waste applied to the land for beneficial use on a dry weight basis and for 
solid waste received at an incinerator or a shredding and composting facility at half 
the fee set for solid waste received for disposal at a landfill. The department may 
charge comparable fees for other means of solid waste disposal that are used.” 

It has come to our attention that there may be two possible ways to read this change in law: 

#I: That the law continues to allow different methods of calculating the fee, with 
payment based on: 

(A) For compacted solid waste, either 50 cents per ton or 50 cents per cubic 
yard, whichever produces the greater amount of revenue; and 

(E) For uncompacted solid waste, either 50 cents per ton or 10 cents per cubic 
yard, whichever produces the greater amount of revenue. 
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#2: That the addition of the phrase “the greater of’ means whichever method of 
calculating the fee produces the greatest amount of revenu? is the one that must be 
used and all other methods of calculating the fee must be converted to an equivalent 
of the revenue-maximizing method. 

JTM/‘BG/bl 

cc: T. A. Outlaw, Jr., P.E., Chief, Bureau of Solid Waste Management, Texas Department 
of Health 

The Honorable Dan Morales, Texas Attorney Genera1 
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The Honorable Dan Morales 
Attorney General 
State of Texas 
P. 0. Box 12548 
Austin, Texas 78711-2548 

Dear Dan: 

Enclosed is a copy of a letter of legislative intent we provided the Texas Department of 
Health, relating to the increase in solid waste disposal fees contained in the special session 
tax and fee bill (House Bill 11, 72nd Legislature, 1st Called Session, 1991). 

Because of uncertainty over the proper reading of the amended statute, we understand the 
Health Department will soon be asking you for an opinion on the proper interpretation of that 
change in law. 

As the effective date of the provision in question was September 1, 1991, we would 
respectfully request that you expedite a ruling on this matter. Since landfill operators will 
have to include the increased fees for the month of September in their October quarterly filing 
with the Health Department, a speedy resolution of this question will help immensely. 

JTM/BG/bl 

cc: Robert A. MacLean, M.D., Acting Commissioner, Texas Department of Health 
T. A. Outlaw, Jr., Chief, Bureau of Solid Waste Managemenf Texas Department of 

Health 


