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Hon. Dan Morales 
Attorney General of Texas 
Supreme Court Building 
P.O. BOX 12548 
Austin, Texas 78711-2548 

Attention: Opinion Committee 

Ladies and Gentlemen: 

Harris County Justice of the Peace Tony Polumbo and Harris 
County Sheriff, Johnny Klevenhagen, have requested advice regarding 
the following questions as they pertain to their respective duties: 

1. Does a justice of the peace have jurisdiction to try a 
person 17 years of age for a Class C misdemeanor which was 
filed when the person was less than 17 years of age? 

2. What procedures must be followed to effect the arrest of a 
juvenile charged with a Class C misdemeanor who has turned 
I7 years of age at the time of arrest? 

3. Should the law enforcement officer effecting an arrest of 
the I7-year old defendant follow procedures specified in 
articles 15.17 and 45.27 of the Code of Criminal Procedure 
or those specified in Title 3 of the Family Code? 

4. If a justice of the peace is not immediately available, is 
the officer arresting the defendant who was charged with a 
Class C misdemeanor prior to turning I7 years of age, 
authorized, pending a hearing before a magistrate, to 
incarcerate the defendant in an adult jail facility once 
the defendant turns 17 years old? 

5. If a justice of the peace is~~,notimmediately available, 
may the officer detaining the defendant, arrested pursuant 
to a capias pro fine, who has turned 17 years of age 
either at the time of conviction or during the time that 
the judgment remains unsatisfied, incarcerate him/her in 
an adult jail facility pending a hearing before a 
magistrate? 
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6. 

7. 

8. 

9. 

10. 

11. 

.12. 

13. 

14. 

Is a juvenile, who was convicted of a Class C misdemeanor 
who has turned 17 years of age during the time that the 
judgment remains unsatisfied and who either willfully 
refuses to pay the fine or costs or who willfully,refuses 
to participate in community service work, subject to 
confinement in jail until the judgment is discharged 
pUrsUant to the provisions of articles 43.03 or 45.52 of 
the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure? 

Should the records relating to a Class C misdemeanor filed 
against a juvenile in the justice courts be sealed or 
otherwise remain confidential? 

Should the records relating to a Class C misdemeanor 
disposed of after the juvenile reaches the age of I7 years 
be sealed or otherwise remain confidential? 

If the justice of the peace issues a warrant for the 
arrest of a juvenile on a Class C misdemeanor, may an 
outstanding warrant be entered into a centralized 
database, the Justice Information Management System 
(JIMS), created and maintained by Harris County with the 
information being accessed by other local law enforcement 
agencies? 

May a justice of the peace issue a capias pro fine for a 
defendant who committed a Class C misdemeanor offense 
prior to attaining the age of 17? 

For a juvenile charged with a Class C misdemeanor who has 
turned I7 years of age either at the time of conviction or 
during the time that the judgment remains unsatisfied, 
what procedures may be followed by the justice court to 
collect the judgment? 

Whether a justice of the peace may record an abstract of 
judgment against a juvenile convicted of a Class C 
misdemeanor or a juvenile charged with a Class C 
misdemeanor who has turned 17 years of age either at the 
time of conviction or during the time that the judgment 
remains unsatisfied in an attempt to collect unpaid fines 
and costs? 

May the justice of the peace .mept a plea or proceed to _ 
trial without the-presence of the 17-year old defendant's 
parent or legal guardian? 

May a justice of the peace grant a deferral of proceedings 
to a juvenile who is unable to pay the court costs 
pursuant to art. 45.54 of the Texas Code of Criminal 
Procedure? 
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15. If a juvenile fails to appear as required by a written 
notice to appear contained within a citation, may the 
justice of the peace wait until the juvenile reaches the 
age of 17 years before issuing the arrest warrant? 

16. If a juvenile fails to discharge the judgment when 
required to pay at a later date or in installments or to 
perform community service as required, may the justice of 
the peace wait until the juvenile reaches the age of I7 
years before issuing a capias pro fine? 

Please supply us with your opinion on the questions presented. 
A memorandum brief is attached. 

Attachment 

Sincerely, 

MIKE DRISCOLL 
County Attorney 
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ByMARILYNBARNSS 
Assistant County Attorney 
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