Forensic Sexual Assault Examination Reimbursement Guidelines

Law enforcement agencies can apply for reimbursement for the forensic costs associated with forensic sexual
assault examinations pursuant to articles 56.06 and 56.065, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.

What is covered?

The Crime Victims' Compensation Program will reimburse law enforcement "reasonable costs" associated
with forensic sexual assault examinations of victims of alleged sexual assaults in an amount not to exceed
$1,000.00 for dates of crime on or after July 15, 2016. For dates of crime prior to July 15, 2016, the amount
shall not exceed $700.00.

Law enforcement is not required to pay any costs for treatment of injuries. Expenses other than the actual
costs for the forensic sexual assault examination, such as treatment or diagnosis of a victim, are not
allowable expenses and will not be reimbursed as a forensic sexual assault examination reimbursement to
law enforcement. However, victims may seek reimbursement for the costs under a CVC claim or an
Emergency Medical Care claim. (Visit the Texas Attorney General website for more information.)

What constitutes a forensic sexual assault examination?

A forensic sexual assault examination consists of four parts:

e History for the purpose of diagnosis and treatment

e Detailed head-to-toe assessment for trauma

e Detailed anogenital assessment for trauma; and

e Forensic evidence collection as indicated by history and findings

CVC will not reimburse law enforcement for:

e  Forensic sexual assault examination of a suspected perpetrator

e Laboratory analysis of victim's clothing, crime scene materials, or objects including weapons
e  Pharmacy, including take home drugs and self-administered drugs

e  Paternity tests

e  Multiple examinations of the same victim for the same crime

e Follow up care or treatment for medical treatment

e Travel time

How to Apply

The law enforcement agency may seek reimbursement using the OAG Application for Reimbursement. The

following are guidelines to provide further assistance in completing the application:

Complete all sections of the one-page application for reimbursement.

e Include date of crime.

e The verification section of the application must be signed by an appropriate representative of the law
enforcement agency who has knowledge of the facts stated in the verification.

e Incomplete applications will not be processed and will be returned to the law enforcement agency noting
the reason the application is incomplete.

Attach all bills associated with the requested forensic sexual assault examination to the application.

The bills should include the appropriate billing codes or itemization for individual charges.

Include proof of payment, such as a copy of the check that shows the cost of the forensic sexual assault
examination has been paid by the law enforcement agency.
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https://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/files/cvs/SAER_application.pdf

Billing
The maximum aggregate amount for which the OAG will reimburse a law enforcement agency for all costs
associated with a forensic sexual assault examination of a victim will be:

e $700.00 for dates of crime before July 15, 2016
e $1,000.00 for dates of crime on or after July 15, 2016

For maximum reimbursement, submit itemized bills from the provider with individual charges listed for each
service rendered. See the Standard Costs Associated with Examination for maximum reimbursement rates.

Reimbursement of reasonable costs is based on the Medical Fee Guidelines established by the Texas
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation.

Sexual assault examiner and sexual assault nurse examiners (SANE) billing

e Asexual assault examiner or a sexual assault nurse examiners (SANE) should bill the law enforcement
agency his or her usual and customary charge for the examination on his or her standard billing form.

e The bill must include a descriptive itemized statement of the services provided and be signed by a physician
or licensed nurse practitioner. The OAG will determine the appropriate CPT/Revenue codes.

It is not necessary for all four parts of the forensic sexual assault examination to be completed to be eligible
for reimbursement.

To be eligible for reimbursement of examiner fees, the medical provider who conducts the examination must at

a minimum interact with the patient while initiating at least one part of the examination. For example:

e This would include a medical provider or SANE who was called out to perform the examination and began
the consent process and patient history, but was unable to begin any other assessments because the
patient did not consent to further examination.

e This would not include a patient no show.

Itemized medical services

e Each cost associated with the medical services or procedures in a forensic sexual assault examination must
be itemized and, for services provided by a physician, should be identified with a five-digit Current
Procedural Terminology (CPT) code.

e The CPT code is a nationally accepted systematic listing which is published by the American Medical
Association. CPT coding provides an accurate identification of services and procedures.

e Ifthere are no specific CPT codes for the medical services or procedures provided in the forensic sexual
assault examination, CVC will accept a Revenue Code, or the CPT code for services or procedures that are
comparable to those used in the forensic sexual assault examination.

Resubmission

e If you feel payment was incorrect or are requesting a supplemental payment, bills may be submitted to CVC
for further review.

e Copies of the original bill with the original OAG claim number, original explanations of benefits, and a new
itemized bill and reason or explanation of resubmission must be attached to the request.

e If after further review additional payments are needed, a supplemental payment will be issued.
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