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Dear Ms. Hammond: 

You ask about the licensing of a person as a social worker by the Texas State Board of Social 
Worker Examiners under section 50.023(e) of the Human Resources Code. Specifically, you ask 
whether section 50.023(e) permits a person originally licensed without an examination, whose 
license has expired for more than a year, to reapply for a new license without an examination. 
Because the plain language ofthe statute so provides, we conclude in the affirmative. Accordingly, 
we also conclude that the Board’s rule on reapplication, to the extent it requires an applicant 
originally licensed without an examination to take an examination, is invalid. 

You advise us of the following facts giving rise to your question. On April 24, 1998, an 
individual whose license expired more than fourteen years ago reapplied for a license contending 
that she is eligible to be licensed without an examination. You tell us this individual was originally 
certified’ on August 31, 1983, under a “grandfather” provision which allowed her to be certified 
without taking an examination.’ She did not renew the annual certification which expired on 
September 30,1984. The applicant’s request for licensing without an examination has prompted the 

‘Prior to 1993, social workers were “certifies’ rather than “licensed.” See Act ofMay 25,1993,73d Leg., R.S., 
ch. 605, $5 1, 12, 1993 Tex. Gen. Laws 2277,22&B. 

‘Prior to 1993, qualified persons could be granted social worker certification without examination. See Act 
of June 1, 1981,67th Leg., R.S., ch. 776,s 1,198l Tex. Gen. Laws 2923,292s (authorizing certifications ofpersons 
meeting educational and other requirements of Act without examination until August 31, 1982), amended by Act of 
May2,1983,68thLeg.,RS.,ch. 87,§ 8,1983 Tex. Gen. Laws417,424(authorizingcetificationwithoutexamination 
of persons meeting requirements of Act until December 3 1, 1985, and Act’s work experience requirements after 
December31,1985)(eff. Sept. 1,1983),amendedbyActofMay25,1993,73dLeg.,R.S., ch. 605, $5 1,21,1993Tex. 
Gen. Laws 2277, 2287-88 (deleting grandfather provision); see also Tex. Att’y Gen. LO-89-104 (discussing 1983 
grandfather provision). 
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Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners in turn to request an opinion from this o&e as to 
whether section 50.023(e) of the Human Resources Code permits this. 

The Texas Professional Social Work Act, sections 50.001-50.034 of the Human Resources 
Code (the “Act”), creates the Texas State Board of Social Worker Examiners (the “Board”) and 
authorizes it to license and regulate social workers. See TEX. HUM. RES. CODE ANN. $5 50.004(a), 
,006 (Vernon Supp. 1999). Unless licensed under the Act, a person may not hold himself or herself 
out as a social worker or use a title that implies licensure or certification in professional social work 
services. Id. $50.010. To be eligible for licensure, a person must submit an application stating the 
person’s education, experience and other information required by the Board; be at least eighteen 
years of age “and worthy of the public trust and confidence, ” id. 5 50.013; and have the requisite 
educational degree. Id. $5 50.015, .017. An eligible applicant must also take an examination 
administered by the Board. Id. $ 50.014(a). Upon satisfactory completion of the examination, an 
applicant may be granted a license as a licensed master social worker, licensed social worker, or a 
social work associate. Id. 5 50.014(b). 

The licenses expire on staggered dates during the year and may be renewed before the 
expiration date or within one year of the expiration date simply by paying renewal and examination 
fees. Id. § 50.023(a)-(d). A different procedure must be followed if a license has expired for more 
than a year, however. Section 50.023(e), which you ask about, requires these licensees to reapply 
providing as follows: 

If a person’s license or certificate or order of recognition has 
been expired for one year or longer, the person may not renew the 
license or order of recognition. The person may obtain a new license 
or order of recognition by submitting to reexamination, if an 
examination was originally required, and complying with the 
requirements and procedures for obtaining an original license or 
certificate or order of recognition. However, the board may renew 
without reexamination an expired license or certificate or order of 
recognition of a person who was licensed in this state, moved to 
another state, and is currently licensed or certified and has been in 
practice in the other state for the two years preceding application. 
The person must pay to the department a fee that is equal to the 
examination fee for the license or order of recognition. 

TEX. HUM. RES. CODE ANN. 5 50.023(e) (emphasis added). 

Section 50.023(e) by its plain terms requires a person whose license has expired for a year 
or longer applying for a new license to submit to an examination only if the person was originally 
required to take an examination. Like a court, we must give effect to each word and phrase in 
subsection (e). See Eddins-Walcher Butane Co. v. Calvert, 298 S.W.2d 93, 96 (Tex. 1957). 
Subsection (e) provides that an applicant may obtain a new license “bysubmitting to reexamination, 
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if an examination was originally required . .” The emphasized language is clear and 
unambiguous, and we must ascribe to that language its common everyday meaning. Commissioners 
Court of Titus County v. Agan, 940 S.W.2d 77, 80 (Tex. 1997); see also Monsanto Co. v. 
Cornerstones Mun. Vtil. Dist., 865 S.W.2d 937, 939 (Tex. 1993) (where language in statute is 
unambiguous, court must seek legislative intent in plain and common meaning of words and terms 
used in statute); TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. $ 3 11 .O 1 l(a) (Vernon 1998) (words and phrases shall be 
read in context and construed according to rules of grammar and common usage). The ordinary 
meaning of “reexamination,” is to retake or resubmit to an examination and the term necessarily 
presupposes the existence of a prior examination. Thus, only an applicant previously subject to an 
examination, by definition, may be subject to a reexamination. More importantly, the phrase 
providing that reexamination is required “if an examination was originally required” emphasizes 
that it is conditioned on a previously required examination. Accordingly, if an examination was not 
originally required, then a reexamination is not required. Additionally, we have found no indication 
in the Act or its legislative history that the legislature intended otherwise. Therefore, based on the 
legislative language, weconclude that scction50.023(e)permits apersonoriginallylicensed without 
an examination, whose license has expired for more than a year, to reapply for a new social work 
license without an examination. 

You have advised us that the Board’s “policy has been, if a person allows their license to 
expire for more than one year, then the person is required to reapply under the rules that are in effect 
at the time of reapplication” and that “[n]o person has ever been allowed to reapply and be licensed 
after allowing their license to lapse, to be relicensed without taking an examination which has been 
required since January 1,1986.” By policy, we understand you to refer to the Board’s interpretation 
as embodied in the relevant Board rule. That rule provides as follows: “On or after one year from 
the expiration date, a person may no longer renew the license and must reapply by submitting a new 
application, paying the required fees, and meeting the current requirements for the license including 
passing the licensure examination.” 22 TEX. ADMIN. CODE 9 781.504(g). This interpretation is 
inconsistent with the plain language of the statute. See Monsanto, 865 S.W.2d at 939 (where 
language in statute is unambiguous, court must seek legislative intent in plain and common meaning 
of words and terms used in statute). 

As the agency charged with executing the Act, the Board’s construction of the statute is 
entitled to serious consideration, but only as long as such construction is reasonable and does not 
contradict the plain language of the statute. Tarrant County Appraisal Dist. v. Moore, 845 S.W.2d 
820,823 (Tex. 1993); see also TEX. GOV’T CODE ANN. § 3 11.023(6) (Vernon 1998). As a general 
matter, a construction that imposes additional burdens, conditions, or restrictions in excess of or 
inconsistent with the statutory provisions cannot be upheld. See, e.g., Railroad Comm ‘n of Ten. v. 
ARC0 Oil&Gas Co., 876 S.W.2d 473,481 (Tex. App.-Austin 1994, writ denied) (agency rulemay 
not impose additional burdens, conditions, or restrictions in excess ofor inconsistent with statutory 
provisions); Hollywood Calling v. Public Vtil. Comm’n of Tex., 805 S.W.2d 618, 620 (Tex. 
App.-Austin 1991, no writ) (same). Specifically, a licensing agency for a business or profession 
cannot enforce standards that are more burdensome than those of the controlling statute, even though 
they may be reasonable and may be administered reasonably. Bloom v. Texas State Bd. of&am ‘rs 
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ofPsychologists, 492 S.W.2d460,462(Tex. 1973);Murphyv..Mttlelstadt, 199 S.W,2d478,481-82 
(Tex. 1947); Tex. Att’y Gen. Op. No. N-650 (1987) at 5. Notwithstanding that the Board’s 
interpretation of section 50.023(e) may be consistent with the Act’s general objective of setting high 
standards for social worker qualifications and protecting the public,’ it is inconsistent with the plain 
language of section 50.023(e). The Board’s interpretation reads out of the statute the phrase “by 
submitting to reexamination, ifan examination was originally requires’ and gives effect only to the 
remaining provision, i.e., the language requiring the applicant to comply with the procedures for a 
new license, including examination. This interpretation imposes the burden of taking an 
examination on an applicant reapplying for a license who was not originally required to take an 
examination when the statute plainly exempts such applicant from examination and, thus, is 
inconsistent with section 50.023(e). Accordingly, we also conclude that the Board’s rule on 
reapplication, to the extent it requires an applicant originally licensed without an examination to take 
an examination, is invalid. See Bloom, 492 S.W.2d at 462; ARCO, 876 S.W.2d at 481. 

‘S~~TEX.HUM.RES.CODEANN. $50.014(a)(VemonSupp. 1999)(“At leastonceeachcalendaryearthe board 
shall prepare and administer an examination to determine the qualifications of applicants for licenses under this 
chapter.“); Sunset Commission Recommendations to 68th Legislature (1982) at 19 (noting that the “state generally 
should only regulate a profession when the unregulated practice can clearly harm or endanger the public,” describing 
tasks commonly performed by social workers, and concluding as follows: “From this description it can be seen that the 
social worker is often involved in areas in which professional judgment can have significant impact on the well-being 
of clients. Thus, substantial harm to the public could result from incompetent or unqualified social workers.“); see also 
Letter from Helen Fisher, President, National Association of Social Workers, Texas, to Sarah J. Shirley, Chair, Opinion 
Committee (Aug. 25, 1998) (on file with Opinion Committee) (social workers licensed to protect credibility of 
profession and to establish safeguards for public; exempting applicant reapplying for license from examination 
detrimental for profession). 
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SUMMARY 

Section 50.023(e) of the Human Resources Code permits a 
person originally licensed without an examination whose license has 
expired for more than a year to reapply for a new social work license 
without an examination. The Texas State Board of Social Worker 
Examiners’ rule on reapplication, to the extent it requires an applicant 
originally licensed without an examination to take an examination, is 
invalid. 
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