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Dear General Comyn, 

Pursuant to the provisions of section 402.043 of the Government Code, I hereby 
request an Attorney General’s Upinion regarding the power of the Justice Court to order a 
juvenile to be detained in a county operated juvenile detention facility and further what 
the potential liability is for the county for detaining such juveniles. ib well as, whether 
the county may operate a non-secure facility to house juveniles for contempt proceedings. 

As you anz aware, Justice Courts are provided two altematks for the violations of 
its orders by juvenile offenders for offenses committed on o-r before September I$ 2001: 

(1) to hold the juvenile in contempt and *se a tie not to exceed $500.00, per 
Section 52.027(h){ 1) of the Texas Family Code; 

or, 
(2) to refer the chikl to the appropriate juvenile court for further action on the 

conteqt, per Section 52327(h)(2) of the Texas Family Code and Section 
45.050(b) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. 

Further, Section 52.03,7(j) of the Texas Family Code e&licitly states that: 
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“A justice or municipal court may not order a child to a telm of confinement or 
imprisonment for contempt of a municipal or justice court order under Subsection 
(h).” 

The 77& Texas Legislature added additional remedies for contempt, under Texas Family 
Code Section 54.023, that become effective September 1,2001, and are as follows: 

(1) order the child to be held in a place of non-secure custody designated under 
Section 52.027 for a single period not to exceed six hours; 

md, 

(2) order the Department of Public Safety to suspend the driver’s license or permit of 
the child or, if the child does not have license or permit, to deny the issuance of a 
license or permit to the child and, if the child has a continuing obligation under 
the court’s order, reqnire that the suspension or denial be effective until the child 
fuuy discharges the obligation. 

Section 54.023(e), also effective Septemkr 1, 2001, reiterates 52.027(j) and states the 
following: 

“A justice or municipal court may not order a child to a term of confinement or 
imprisonment for contempt of a justice or municipal court order under this 
section.” 

Despite these provisions in the Family Code, at least one of the Justice Courts in 
this jurisdiction continues to send juveniles to the county detention facility with orders 
finding the child in contempt of court and assessing a term of confinement of three days 
in the juvenile detention facility. 

It is our office’s contention that these orders are void on their face and that to 
confine a juvenile under such an order would subject the county to certain liability. The 
proper remedy for the justice court should be to either have the justice court make a 
findiig of contempt and fine the child as outlined above or to refer the child to the 
juvenile court for further appropriate action as any new referral would be handled. 

However, it is our belief, that a juvenile may be referred to the Juvenile Court as 
contemplated under Section 52.027(h)(2) and then, according to Texas Family Code 
Section 52.027(f), the child may be presented or detained in a detention facility. Once the 
juvenile is presented to the detention facility, it becomes the probation department’s 
decision to make the determination whether the juvenile should be held or released under 
Texas Family Code Section 53.02. The question is whether the juvenile should be 
considered a delinquent offender, a status offender or a non-offender for purposes of 
determining how a detention hearing should be conducted for the juvenile. 



Currently, in this county, if the juvenile is held, he is considered to be a child who 
is alleged to have engaged in delinquent conduct as defined in Section 51.03(3). 
Accordingly, he is afforded an initial detention hearing no later than the second working 
day and subsequent detention hearings every ten working days as outlined in Section 
54.01 (a) and (h). However, if the juvenile is a status offender or a non-offender, then the 
procedures for detention hearings are considerably different. 

Under Section 5 1.02( 15), a status offender is a child who is accused, adjudicated, 
or convicted for conduct that would not, under state law, be a crime if committed by an 
adult. That section includes a laundry list of possible offenses that would be included as 
status offenses, Contempt is not on that list. Section 51.02(8) defines a non-offender as a 
child who is subject to the jurisdiction of a court under abuse, dependency or neglect or a 
child who is being held solely for the purposes of deportation. On the face of these two 
statutes, it does not appear that a juvenile alleged to have engaged in contempt of court 
would fit into either category but instead would be a child who is alleged to have engaged 
in delinquent conduct. 

If the child is a non-offender or a status offender, then the conditions of Section 
54.011 of the Texas Family Code must be considered. Section 54.011 states that status 
offenders and non-offenders shall be released from secure detention after 24 hours, 
excluding hours of a weekend or holiday, and such time may only be extended on the 
demand of the defense or in order to return the child to his home, if the home is out of 
state. There is, however, no prohibition from detaining status offenders or non-offenders 
in non-secure detention facilities. Then, it would seem, that there would be no prohibition 
for the Juvenile Board or juvenile Probation to operate non-secure faciiities for such 
offenders. 

The questions, then, presented and for which an Attorney General Opinion is 
requested, are these: 

1. May a Justice Court order a juvenile held for a term of detention for the offense 
of contempt ? 

2. What are the liabilities for the county for detaining juveniles ordered to serve a 
term of detention for contempt by a Justice Court ? 

3. If a juvenile is referred to detention for the offense of contempt, is the 
juvenile’s detention heating to be conducted as that for a child who has 
engaged in delinquent conduct, as a status offender or as a non-offender? 

4. Can the county, through the Juvenile Board and the Juvenile Probation 
Department, maintain a non-secure facility to house juveniles pursuant to a 
contempt finding by a Justice of the Peace and if so what type of facility would 



be proper? 

Respectfully, 

Fort Bend County District Attorney 
Fort Bend County, Texas 
309 S. Fourth Street 
Richmond, Texas 77469 


