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RI? Request for Attorney General Opinion: Relationship between $711.002(g) of the Health & 
SafetyCodeand§154.1551 oftheFinanckCode,and~716.051 oftheHealth&SafetyCode. 

Dear Attorney General Abbott: 

Chapter 154 of the Finance Code (Chapter 154) vests in the Texas Department of Banking 
(Department) regulatory authority over the business of selling prepaid funeral services and 
merchandise. A person that sells or accepts money for prepaid funeral benefits must hold a license 
issued by the Department and comply with applicable Texas law. Chapter 154 license holders often 
provide the contracted-for benefits, including cremations. A question has recently arisen regarding 
the relationship between statutory provisions that authorize a person to direct the disposition of his 
or her remains and prohibit a funeral provider from disposing of the remains in any other manner, 
and provisions that prohibit a ftmeral provider fkom cremating remains without written authorization 
from an authorizing agent. The specific provisions in question are $711.002(g) of the Health & 
Safety Code, pursuant to which a person may direct in a prepaid funeral contract the method of 
disposition, including cremation, of his or her remains at death, 3 154.155 1 of the Finance Code, 
which prohibits a Chapter 154 license holder from disposing of a decedent’s remains in a manner 
different from that specified in the contract, and $716.051 of the Health & Safety Code, which 
requires written authorization Tom a person authorized under 9711.002 of the Health & Safety Code 
before a decedent may be cremated. The question has arisen because, in some instances, the person 
who is the statutorily designated authorizing agent has refused, for religious or other reasons, to 
execute the required form, even though the decedent has provided written directions in a prepaid 
funeral contract specifying disposition by cremation.’ 

‘The person (authorizing agent) may then make “at-need” arrangements with mother fimeral establishment for 
the decedent’s burial without advising the second establishment that a prepaid fimeral contract exists that directs 
dis.pmiticm by cremation. 
a refund. 

AtIer the burial is paid for and conducted, the person cancels the prepaid contnct and receives 
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In order to advise Chapter 154 license holders how to proceed, the Department respectfully requests 
an Attorney General opinion regarding the following: 

.l. Does the requirement that a funeral establishment obtain a cremation authorization form signed 
by an authorizing agent apply if a decedent, as authorized by $711.002(g) of the Health & Safety 
Code, has provided written directions in a prepaid funeral contract that specify disposition by 
cremation? 

2. If a cremation authorization form signed by an authorizing agent is required in the described 
circumstances, what options are available to the funeral establishment, in terms of following the 
decedent’s directions and performing the contract, if the agent refuses to sign the form? Must the 
funeral establishment decline to cremate the decedent’s remains until it receives a court order 
directing or authorizing the cremation to proceed? 

The first statute in question, $711.002 of the Health & Safety Code, relates generally to the 
disposition of a decedent’s remains and the duty to inter. Among other things, the section 
establishes the right of a person to control the disposition of his or her remains at death. Pursuant 
to $711.002(g), a person may provide written directions for the disposition of his or her remains in 
a prepaid funeral contract, will or other written instrument signed and acknowledged by the person. 
The directions,maynot bemodified or revoked except in accordance with a subsequent writing also 
signed and acknowledged by the person. If a decedent leaves instructions in accordance with 
subsection (g), the person who would otherwise be entitled to control the disposition of the 
decedent’s remains under 9711.002(a) must faithfully carry out the decedent’s directions to the 
extent the decedent’s estate ore the person are financially able to do so. If a decedent leaves no 
written directions that meet the statutory requirements, the persons identified in $711.002(a), in the 
priority listed, have the right to control disposition. Section 9711.002(i) provides that a funeral 
establishment is not liable for carrying out the decedent’s directions. 

Section 711.002 of the Health & Safety Code, as presently written, specifically identifies cremation 
as a method of disposition to which the section applies. However, the law has not always so 
provided. The section’s statutory predecessor, Article 912a-20 of Vernon’s Texas Civil Statutes, 
simply recognized that a decedent could leave directions for the disposition of his or her body.’ In 
1989, the legislature amended Article 912a-20 to add the specific reference to cremation, impose 
restrictions upon the modification or revocation of a decedent’s written instructions, and mandate 

2SeeActs 1945,49’Leg., R.S., ch. 340 (H.B. 46), &!0,1945 Tex. Gen. Laws 559,570. 
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that the decedent’s directions be faithfully executed to the extent financially feasib1e.g These 
provisions were apparently added to insure compliance with a decedent’s wishes in the event his or 
her family opposed cremation. 

The second statutory provision, $154.1551 of the Finance Code, relating to the modification of 
prepaid funeral contracts after the death of the contract beneficiary, was added to Chapter 154 in 
2001: The new section was added, in part, in response to Attorney General Opinion No. K-0279 
(2000). JC-0279 interprets 9711.002(g) of the Health & Safety Code to apply only to a person who 
purchases, signs and is the beneficiary of a prepaid funeral contract and concludes that the directions 
for disposition specified in the contract may not be modified or revoked except by the person in a 
subsequent writing that satisfies the statntoryrequirements.* Section 154.155 1 (a)( l)(B) codifies the 
Attorney General’s holding and essentially incorporates into Chapter 154 the restrictions imposed 
by $711.002(g) of the Health & Safety Code with respect to changing a decedent’s chosen method 
of disposition. As a result of the amendment, a Chapter 154 license holder that disposes of a 
decedent’s remains in a manner other than as directed in the decedent’s prepaid contract violates 
$154.1551(a)(l)(B) of the Finance Code unless the decedent has authorized the modification. A 
change in disposition method that formerly violated only $711.002(g) of the Health & Safety Code 
now constitutes,a violation of Chapter 154 as well, and subjects an offending Chapter 154 license 
holder to appropriate enforcement action and possible criminal penalties under Subchapter I of the 
chapter. 

The third statute, $7 16.05 1 of the Health & Safety Code, was adopted in 2003 as part of new Chapter 
7166, enacted to provide for the comprehensive regulation of the cremation process. The new 
chapter, which implemented numerous Sunset Commission recommendations, was intended, among 

‘See i4cb 1989,71” Leg., RX, ch. 208 (S.B.lOlO), 94, 1989 Tex. Gen. Laws 909,914. During the same 
session that it amended Article 912a-20, the legislature repealed the article and replaced it with $711.002 ofthe Health 
& Safety Code as part of the codification of Texas statues relating to health and safety. See Acts 1989,71” Leg., R.S., 
ch. 678(H.B.2136),#13(1), 1989Tex.Ge.n.Laws2230,3165and~l, 1989TexGen. Laws2230,3002-3,respectively. 
As enacted, 97 11.002 did not specifically mention cremation as a type of disposition or include the provisions regarding 
modification ofa decedent’s mitten directions and the duty to follow those directions. However, the legislature adopted 
conforming amendments in 1991. SeeActs 1991,72”Leg.,RS.,ch. 14(S.B.404), $213,1991 Tex. Gen. Laws 190-l. 
In 1993,thelegislahuefurtheramended~711.OO2to specifythetypesofdocuments,includingaprepaidfuneralcontract, 
that satisfy the statute’s “directions in witi&’ requirement. See Acts 1993,73” Leg., RX, ch. 634 (H.B.1213), $2, 
1993 Tex. Gm. Laws 2382-5. 

‘See Act of May 24, 2001, 7? Leg., RS., ch. 699, 58 (S.B.314), 2001 Tex. Sess. Law Sm.1254, 1256 
(V~OU). 

‘JC-0279 further holds that $711.002(g) applies only to directions for dispositkn and does not affect 
modificationsregardingotherfUnera]merchandise and servicescoveredbyaprepaidfuneralcontract. Section 154.1551 
establishes standards to govern changes to these “nondisposition” prepaid benefits. 

‘See Act of May 8,2003,78” Leg., RS., ch. 178 (H.B. 587), 2003 Tex. Gen. Laws 253. 



The Honorable Gregg Abbott 
September 7,2004 
Page 4 

other things, to provide a safe harbor for crematories and funeral homes that perform cremations and 
protect against abuses of the sort that occurred in at a Georgia crematorium in 2003.’ 

Scction716.051 prohibitsacrematoryestablishment fromcrematingdeceasedhmnanremainsunless 
it first receives a cremation authorization form signed by an “authorizing agent.“* Section 
716.001(10) defines “authorizing agent” to mean a person authorized to dispose of a decedent’s 
remains under $711.002 of the Health & Safety Code. Chapter 716 thus appears to require written 
authorization from a person listed in $711.002(a) before a crematory establishment, including a 
Chapter 154 license holder authorized to perform cremations under Chapter 65 1 of the Occupations 
Code, may cremate a decedent’s remains. Pursuant to $711.351, a person who cremates human 
remains without having received a cremation authorization form signed by an authorizing agent 
commits a Class B misdemeanor. 

Chapters 711 and 716 are part of Title 8 of the Health & Safety Code, relating to Death and 
Disposition of the Body, and are located in Subtitle C, relating to Cemeteries. The background 
information included in the House Research Organization bill analysis related to Chapter 716 states 
that, “Pursuant to Section 7 11.002 of the Health and Safety Code, unless a decedent has left written 
instructions for the disposition of his or her remains, certain persons are authorized to direct the 
disposition.‘” At the time it enacted Chapter 716, the legislature was clearly aware of the fact that 
a decedent could leave binding directions that his or her remains be cremated. Nevertheless, Chapter 
716 does not effectively take into consideration the substance of much of $711.002(g) or address a 
situation in which an authorizing agent refuses to sign the required form and the decedent has 
directed disposition by cremation in accordance with that section. 

Although Chapter 716 and §711.002 of the Health & Safety Code include provisions related to 
conflicts and dispute resolution, none provide an effective means for reconciling the conflict about 
which we ask. Section 716.006, which provides that Chapter 716 may not be construed to require 
a funeral director to perform any act not otherwise authorized by other law, does not appear to 
resolve the question. Nor do the provisions of 5711.002 and Chapter 716 that address disputes. 

‘See House Research Organization, Bill Analysis, Tex. H.B. 587,78’ Leg., R.S. (2003). 

%ection 716.052 specifies the information that must be included on the form, including: 1) the identity of the 
decedent, authorizing agent, person contracting to perform the cremation services, and person or funeral home autbmized 
to receive the minated remains; 2) the relationship between the decedent and the z&horizing agent; 3) a statement by 
the agent that he or she has the right to authorize the cremation and is not aware of any person with a superior 01 equal 
priority right, or, if another person has such right, the agent has made all reasonable efforts to contact such person and 
does not believe he 01 she would object; and 4) an attestation that the agent’s representations made are accurate. The 
authorizing agent must also declare that the -ins do not contain a pacemaker OI other hazardous materials, list 
valuables delivered with the body and how to handle them, and provides details about the permanent disposition of the 
remains. 

‘!ee House Research Organization, Bill Analysis, Id. 
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Section 711.002(k) authorizes a funeral establishment, in the event a dispute exists among the 
persons listed in subsection (a) of that section concerning their right to control disposition, to refuse 
to accept and dispose of a decedent’s remains until it receives a court order or confirmation that the 
dispute has been resolved. Similarly, $716.02 1 provides that, until authorized by avalid court order, 
a funeral establishment may refuse to perform a cremation if it is aware of an outstanding dispute 
regarding the cremation ~of the remains. Although Chapter 716 does not define “dispute” for 
purposes of that chapter, the term most likely applies to a dispute between an authorizing agent and 
a person who has an equal or superior priority right, rather than a dispute arising from the agent’s 
refusal to follow the decedent’s written directions. To the extent they may apply, $711.002(k) and 
$716.021 provide no practical solution. The required court order is unlikely to be forthcoming-the 
funeral home that wishes to cremate a decedent in accordance with his or her wishes may not have 
the resources to initiate litigation, and family members who object to cremation have no incentive 
to do so. 

Chapter 716 of the Health & Safety Code serves important public interests. In addition to providing 
generally for the oversight of establishments that perform cremations, the new chapter seeks to 
protect both consumers and the establishments by, among other things, insuring that a decedent’s 
cremation is appropriately authorized and that certain arrangements have been made and information 
provided regarding the decedent. However, nothing in Chapter 716 or its legislative history suggests 
that the new chapter was intended to limit or interfere in any way with the longstanding and almost 
absolute right a person has under $7 11.002(g) of the Health & Safety Code to control the disposition 
of his or her remains or the obligation of the person who would otherwise control disposition to 
honor the decedent’s wishes, or to render ineffective the further protection of a decedent’s ,rights 
secured by $154.1551 ofthe Finance Code. 

It appears to the Department that a conflict exists between @711.002(g) and 716.051 of the Health 
& Safety Code in a situation in which a decedent has provided written directions in a prepaid funeral 
contract that specify disposition by cremation and the authorizing agent refuses to sign the required 
cremation authorization form. The Department respectfully submits that $716.051, which applies 
to cremations generally, should not be interpreted to override or interfere with the rights of a 
decedent specifically afforded by §711.002(g) and protected by $154.155 1 of the Finance Code, and 
asks the Attorney General to harmonize these provisions or reconcile the conflict in a manner that 
gives full effect to $711.002(g) in the described circumstances. 

As we understand the Attorney General’s procedures, the Opinion Committee welcomes legal 
briefing Tom interested parties in connection with specific opinion requests. Enclosed is a list of 
persons to whom we are sending a copy of this request. I imagine that several will be interested in 
submitting written comments to the Committee. 



The Honorable Gregg Abbott 
September 7,2004 
Page 6 

Thank you for your assistance. If you have any questions or if the Department can be of any 
assistance regarding this matter, please contact Sarah Shirley, Assistant General Counsel, at 475- 
1327 or 

Sincerely, 

Banking Commissioner m 

cc: Texas Funeral Service Commission 
Texas Funeral Directors Association 
Texas Cemetery Association 
Chapter 154 License Holders on Rule Review List 


