
November 9,2006~ ECEIVED 
NOY~ 13 2006 

Hon. Greg Abbott 
Attorney General of Texas 
P.O. Box 12548 
Austin, Texas 78711-2548 

Certified Maa 7002 0860 0004 1200 4789 
Return Receipt Requested 

Re.: Request for Attorney General’s Opinion 

Dear General Abbott: 

The Texas Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (the Board) is charged with implementing 
the Veterinary Licensing Act, Chapter 801, Texas Occupations Code. The Board may adopt 
rules as necessary to administer the chapter and-m protect the public. Oct. Code @01.151.~~ 
Since veterinarians (1icensees)~dispense drugs and controlled~substances~ the Board requires by 
rule that.veferinarianspossess aDepartment of Public Safety (DPS) controlled substances’ 
certificate. ~The rule, 22 TAC $573.43, states, in part: 

(a) . ..a licensee may not prescribe, dispense, deliver, or order delivered, any controlled 
substance unless the licensee is currently registered with...the Texas Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) to dispense controlled substances... 

There are no exceptions under the rule. If you are a Texas licensee prescribing ore dispensing 
controlled substances, you must possess. a current DPS certificate or registration. 

Chapter 481, Health & Safety Code, is the Texas Controlled Substances Act (the Act). The 
.director of the DPS may adopt rules to administer and enforce the chapter (Health & Safety Code 
§481.003), and has done so in Title 37, Part 1, Chapter 13 of the Texas Administrative Code. A 
person must possess a DPS registration in order to dispense, prescribe, or possess a controlled 
substance. Health & Safety Code $481.061. The Act exempts certain individuals from the 
requirement ofregistering withthe.DPS. The exemptions include “...an agent or employee of a 
dispenser of the controlled substance acting in the usual course of business or employment...” 
Health & Safety Code $481.062. The DPS and our Board interpret an “agent or employee” to be 
a non-licensed person, such as a technician or assistant working under the direction of a licensed 
practitioner. 

We respectfully request your opinion on the following questions: 
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1. Is the Board’s Rule 573.43 a lawful exercke by the Board of the legislature’s grant of 
authority to adopt rules necessary to administer the Veterinary Licensing Act and protect 
the public? 

2. If Question 1 is answered in the affirmative, ~does the state’s Controlled Substances 
‘Act, Chapter 481’~of the Health & Safety Code; nevertheless confer exclusive rulemaking 
authority on the DPS with regard to controlled substances and thereby preempt or 
preclude rulemaking on controlled substancesby the Board? 

One attorney has expressed.the opinion that the Board’sRule.573,43 .exceeds the.Board’s 
rnlemaking authorityand is fatally inconsistent with~the Controlled Substances Act;which gives 
the DPS exclusive authority to administer the Act. The Board contends that Rule 573.43 is a 
valid expression of its rulemaking powers and is consistent with the regulatory sdheme of the 
Veterinary Licensing Act and that adoption of a rule on controlled substances registration is not 
precluded by or inconsistent with the Controlled Substances Act.~ Attached to this letter are a 
letter brief from the attorney and~a memorandum brief from the Board. 

Your consideration of these questions is appreciated. If additional information is needed, please 
contact me or my General Counsel, Lee Mathews. 

cc: Donald Ferrill, Esq. 



MEMORANDUM BRIEF 
RE: RULEMAKING AUTHORITY 

TOM: Opinions Committee, Office of the Attorney General 

FROM: wee H. Mathews, General Counsel, Texas Board of Veterinary Medical 
Examiners 

RE: 

DATE: 

Request for Opinion Dated November 2,2006 

November 9,2006 

By letter datedNovember 9,2006, the Texas Board ofVeterinary Medical Examiners (the 
“Board”) has requested an opinion from the Office of the Attorney General concerning certain 
issues related to the Board’s rulemaking powers.’ The Board has asked (1) whether Board Rule 
573.43 is a lawful exerciseof the Board’s rulemaking powers conferred by statute; and (2) 
whether another statute, the Controlled Substances Act, preempts or precludes rulemaking on 
controlled substances by the Board. 

Attorney Donald Ferrill (“Counsel”) of Fort Worth, Texas, in representing a client veterinarian 
before the Board on a disciplinary matter, has raised the question of whether or not the Board has 
the authority to enact and enforce its Rule 573.43 (22 TAC 573.43) entitled “Misuse of DEA 
Narcotics Registration.” Counsel is essentially alleging that the Board, in promulgating and 
enforcing Rule 573.43, has acted outside of its statutory authority. The Board disagrees with this 
position. 

To begin with, the Board is charged with the’licensing and regulation of veterinarians.by Chapter 
801 of the Occupations Code (the “Veterinary Licensing Act” or the “Act”). Rulemaking 
authority is granted by ~801.151, which states in part: 

(a) The board, may adopt rules as necessary to administer this chapter. 
@) The, board may adopt rules of professional conduct appropriate to establish and 
maintain a high standard of integrity, skills, and practice in the veterinary medical 
profession. 
(c) The board shall adopt rules to 

(1) protect the public... 

Rule 573.43 states, in part: 

(a)...a licensee may, not prescribe, dispense, deliver or order delivered, any controlled 
substance unless the licensee is currently registered with...the Texas Department of 
Public Safety (DPS) to dispense controlled substances... 
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General principals of agency rulemaking are well established. An agency’s authority to 
promulgate rules and regulations may be expressly conferred on it by statute or implied from 
other powers and duties given or imposed by statute. Texas. Railroad Comm ‘n v. Lone Star Gas 
Co., 844~S.W. 2”d 679 (Tex. 1992). The determining factor in whether an agency has exceeded 
its rulemaking powers is whether the rule’s provisions are in harmony with the general 
objectives of the Act involved. Gerst v. Opk Cliff Savings & Loan &s’n, 432 S.W. 2”d 702,706 
(Tex. 1968). To state the matter more precisely, a rule may be challenged on statutory grounds 
as either being outside of the scope of a statute or inconsistent with the legislative mandates of a 
statute. 1 RON BEAL, TEXAS ADMINISTRATIVE PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE §4;8 (5” 
ed. 2002). 

Ceunsel expressly argues that Rule 573.43: (1) contravenes specific statutory language; (2) his counter 
to the general objectives of the statute; and (3) imposes burdens, conditions, or restrictions in excess 
of or inconsistent with the relevant statutory provisions. 

With regard to point (I), counsel opines that the rule is inconsistent with a provision in the Texas 
Controlled Substances Act, Chapter 481, Health & Safety Code. Under that chapter, the DPS has 
specific authority to adopt rules to implement the chapter. Health & Safety Code $481.003 (a). 
Under $481.061, registration is required of a person who dispenses controlled substances; the DPS 
director, has implemented this requirement in 37 TAC 5 13.21. Section 48 1.062 provides for 
exemptions from registration. Counsel focuses on $481.062 (a) (l), which says in part: 

The following persons are not required to register and may possess a controlled substance 
under this chapter: 

(1) an agent or ,employee of a registered-dispenser of the controlled substance acting 
in the usual course of business or employment... 

First, counsel does not allege that Rule 573.43 contravenes any specific language of the Veterinary 
Licensing Act. He instead finds inconsistency. with the Controlled Substances Act, which the Board 
does not administer, and asserts~ that the Texas Legislature, by adopting the Controlled Substances 
Act, put an agency other than the Board in charge of protecting the public from illegal diversion and 
use of controlled substances. However, nothing in the Controlled Substances Act indicates that 
regulation of controlled substances in the hands’ of professional persons is exclusively within the 
purview of the DPS. 

Counsel’s argument based on the Controlled Substances Act is that $481.062 (a) (1) exempts 
veterinarians who are employees or agents of registered veterinarians from the requirement of 
registration. This is a misreading of the section. The language of the section is clear and 
unambiguous. Section 481.062 (a) (1) is consistently interpreted by the DPS to exempt technical 
staff, assistants and other non-practitioners who are employees of a practitioner, from the 
requirement of registration. It does not exempt licensedpractitioners who workfor other licensed 
practitioners. To exempt from registration practitioners who are employees who handle controlled 
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substances from registration and require the employers of ~those practitioners to possess a registration 
does not make sense and is not intended by the section. DPS interprets its statute and its rules to 
require all practitioners, including veterinarians, who dispense controlled substances, to be registered. 
(Telephonic interview with Iodie Patterson, DPS Controlled Substances Registration Program,’ 
October 25, 2006) That is the plain language of the statute. The Board’s Rule 573.43 says the~same 
thing: All veterinarians who prescribe, dispense, or deliver controlled substances must have a DPS 
registration. Violation of Rule 573.43 subjects a veterinarian to discipline by the Board. Violation of 
the Controlled Substances Act subjects a practitioner to criminal sanctions under Subchapter D of the 
Controlled Substances Act. 

Thus, the Board’s regulation requiring all veterinarians who dispense controlled substances to 
possess a DPS registration is entirely consistent with the Controlled Substances Act requirements for 
registration as interpreted by the DPS. Even if Rule 573.43.were more inclusive in its requirements 
for DPS registration than the DPS’s statute and regulations, there is nothing to prohibit the Board 
from adopting a more stringent rule. 

Regarding point (2), counsel argues that Rule 573.43 is contrary to the general objectives of the 
Veterinary Licensing Act and is an unnecessary ,Iburden” on veterinarians. Nothing could be further 
from the truth. The Board’s requirement that a veterinarian dealing.with controlled substances 
possess a DPS registration is clearly and directly related to protecting the public.. In fact, the 
Veterinary Licensing Act specifically requires that veterinarians maintain a record keeping system 
for controlled substances “as required by Chapter 481 of the Health and Safety Code.” OccCode 
$801.359. Far from a registration being simply an unnecessary $25 paper piece of paper as 
characterized by counsel, a registration protects and benefits the public by authorizing only certain 
persons to dispense controlled substances. A veterinarian is one of the few health practitioners that is 
authorized to directly dispense drugs from on-site inventories. Physicians, for example, must write a 
prescription that is filled by a pharmacy. The Board’s inherent interest in requiring DPS registration 
for its licensees is obvious. In addition,~the DPS’s list of current registrations can assist both 
agencies in notifying practitioners of vital information or regulatory changes concerning controlled. 
substances. This alsobenefits the Board’s regulation of veterinarians. The registration certificate 
does not simply record a veterinarian’s address, as indicated bycounsel; it also identifies those 
schedules of controlled substances that are authorized to be dispensed by the veterinarian. Finally, the 
DPS can deny an application for registration if the dispenser has knowingly failed to maintain 
effective security controls over the controlled substances, or has been convicted of a drug related 

~,felony, or for other enumerated reasons. The DPS can also revoke a registration. §§481.063; .066. 
This ability of DPS to deny an application for registration and to revoke a certificate in appropriate 
casesdirectly benefit the veterinaty profession by assuring that only responsible practitioners are 
allowed to handle and dispense controlled substances. 

In point (3), counsel simply summarizes his previous discussion that the Board’s rule is inconsistent 
with the Controlled Substances Act and poses an undue “burden” on veterinarianswithout a 
corresponding benefit. I have argued this is not the case. Registration is not burdensome. See 37 
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TAC 513.25. As stated above, registration is required by the DPS and confirmed by the Board by 
rule. 

In summary,;the Board believes that its Rule 573.43 is a legitimate exercise of its rulemaking 
authority. Use ofcontrolled substances is closely linked to the veterinary profession and is subject to 
Board regulation. The Board processes a significant number of cases involving the improper 
possession and use of controlled substances, and the prescribing and dispensing of controlled 
substances are important elements of the practice of veterinary medicine. Counsel has’ misinterpreted 
the language of the DPS statutory provision exempting certain persons from registration. The Board’s 
enabling statute and rule and the DPS statute and rules are consistent and complement each other. 
Both agencies are authorized to enforce its statute and rules. Rule 573.43 is a legitimate response~te 
the Board’s statutory directive to adopt rules that protect the public. 



BROWN PRUI~ PETERSON & WAMBSGANSS, PG. 

September 29,2006 

Lee H. Mathews 
Texas State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners 
333 Guadalupe 
Tower III, Suite 810 
Austin, Texas 7870 l-3942 
VIA CERTIFIED MAIL RETURN RECEIIT REQUFSTED 
No. 7005 1820 0003 3578 2951 

Re: Richard Gaither, D.V.M. 
Case No.: 06-124 

Dear Mr. Mathews: 

As you requested, the following is a brief regarding the question of whether or not the Texas 
State Board of Veterinary Medical Examiners (“Board”) had the authority tom enact Rule 573.43 
Misuse of DEA Narcotics Registration (“Rule”) specifically in regard to the requirement that 
licensees must register with the Texas Department of Public Safety (“DPS”) who only dispense and 
administer cwtro!!ed substances inthecourse.and scope oftheir emp!oyment withpersonsregistered 
with the DPS. 

Whikthe Texas legislature may delegate its powers to the Board, the legislature must 
establish reasonable standards to guide the Board., The ‘separation of powers clause of the Texas 
Constitution requires that the standards given to the Board be reasonably clear in order to be 
acceptableasastandardofmeasurement. SeeEdgewoodIndep. Sch. Dist. v. Meno, 917 S.W.2d717, 
740-41 (Tex. 1995); T&Y C?ONJr, art. 2, 5 1.. Administrative agencies only have the powers 
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conferred on them by the legislature and any rules they adopt must be authorized by and consistent 
with their statutory authority. ~Lambright v. Texas Parks and Wildlife Dep ‘t, 157 S.W.3d 499,5 10 
(Tex. App. - Austin 2005, no pet. h.). Anagency rule is therefore invalid if the agency had no 
statutory authority to promulgate it. 

The Texas legislature’s grant of authority to the Board, commonty known as the Veterinary 
Licensing Act, reads in relevant part as follows: 

“(a) The Board may adopt rules as necessary to administer this chapter. 
“(b) ’ The Board may adopt rules of Professional Conduct appropriate to establish 

and maintain a high standard of integrity, skills and practice in the veterinary 
medicine profession. 

“(c) The Board shall adopt rules to: 

(1) protect the public . .“, 

TEX. OCC. CODEAMV., 4 801.151. 

The only other provision of the Veterinary Licensing Act which could be construed to grant 
authority to the Board to make the Rule reads as follows: 

“A person is subject to denial of a license or to disciplinary action under Section 
801.401 if the person: . . 

“(13) orders a prescription drug or controlled substance for the treatment of an animal 
without first establishing a veterinarian-client-patient relationship .” 

Tzx OCC. CODE&&‘., $ 801.4Q2(13). 

The question presented ‘is whether the Board exceeded its’rulemaking authority as granted 
by the Veterinary Licensing Act or as limited by other statutory authority. In construing a statute a 
court must presume that every word, phrase and expression was deliberately chosen and that words 
excluded are done so purposefully. Williams v. Texas State Bd. of Orthotics & Prosthetics, I$0 
SW3d 563,573 (Tex. App. -Austin 2004, no pet.). An administrative agency is a creation of the 
legislature and may only exercise the powers the legislature expressly conferred on it and those 
necessary to accomplish its duties and it has no additional implied authority. State v. Exiga, 715 
S.W.3d 429,433 (Tex. App. -Corpus Christi 2002, no pet.). The rulemaking power of the Board 
does not even extend to enactment of regulations which are inconsistent with the legislature’s intent 
asp expressed in statutes other than those under which the regulations are issued. Id, Because the 



Lee H. Mathews 
Texas State Board of Veterinary’ Medical Examiners 
September 29,2006 
Page 3 

Rule is penal in nature, the courts will strictly construe the Board’s rulemaking authority when 
reviewing the Rule. Id. In order to establish the Rule’s invalidity one ofthree things mustbe shown: 

1) The Rule contravenes specific statutory language; 
2) The Rule runs counter to the general objectives of the statute; or 
3) The Rule imposes burdens,,conditions or restrictions in excess of or inconsistent with 

the relevant statutory provisions. 

GulfCoast Coalition ofcities v. Public Util. Comma?., 161 S.W.3d 706,712 (Tex. App. -Austin 
2005no pet. h.). 

The Rule contravenes specific statutory language of Texas Health and Safety Code Ann. 
section 481.062(a)(l). 

The Rule requires alicensee’s of the Board to register with theTexas Department of Public 
Safety (“DPS”) if they dispense or deliver any controlled substances. 22 TEX. ADMIN. CO+X, 3 
573.43 (Tex. Bd. Of Vet. Med. Exam’rs, Misuse of DEA Narcotics Registration). The Rules 
provides no exemption for a licensee acting in the course and scope of employment with a licensee 
registered withe the DPS. Id. 

The Texas legislature had in mind that an agency other than the Board would be in charge 
of protecting the public from the diversion of controlled substances from licit to illicit channels. See 
generally TEX. HEALTH & SAFETY CODE ANN., Chapter 48~1, hereinafter the Texas Controlled 
Substances Act. The Director of the DPS was expressly given the legislature’s authority to adopt 
rules to administer and enforce the Texas Controlled Substances Act. TEZ. HEALTH&SAFETYCODE 
ANN..,: 5 48 1.003(a) and 48 1.002( 13). The Texas legislature specifically exempted from registration. 
with the DPS, agents and~employee of dispensers of controlled substances acting in the usual course 
of business or employment. TEX HEALTH& SAFEIYCODE ANN., 8 48 l.O62(a)( 1). Dispenser means 
a practitioner. TEX HEALTH ,& SAFES CODE ANN., $ 481.002(13). A practitioner means a 
veterinarian. T&Y. HEALTH & SAFETY ,CODE ANN., 5 481,002(39)(A). Therefore, the Texas 
legislature has exempted from registration with the DPS, agents or ,employees~ oft registered 
veterinarians in’ the usual course of their busmess or employment. By failinig to exempt from 
registration with the DPS those who are acting in the course and scope of their employment with a 
DPS registrant, the Rule runs counter to the general objectives of the Texas Controlled Substances 
Act and contravenes specific statutory language of that act. 
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By rule, the Director of the DPS has also specifically exempted from registration under the 
Texas Controlled Substances Act those who are exempted from federal registration under the Code 
ofFederal Regulatiotis,~Title 21 ChapterII, 5s 1301.22-1301.25.~ 37 2%~ ADMIN. CODE, 5 13.24(3) 
(Texas Department of Public Safety, Exemption from Registration). The Code of Federal 
~Regulutz’ons, Title21, Chapter II, 5 1301.22 provides that ‘Therequirement ofregistration is waived 
for any agent or employee of a person who is registered to engage in any group of independent 
activities, if such agent or employee is acting in the usual course ofhisilrer business or employment.” 
21 C.F.R., 5 1301.22. Therefore, the Board’s Rule also contravenes the rules promulgated by the 
Director of the DPS who is the one given the authority to administer and enforce the Texas 
Controlled Substances Act. 

The Rule rims counter to the genera1 objectives of the Veterinary Licensing Act 

The only thing that is required of a veterinarian licensed by the Board in order,to register 
with the DPS is to pay a $25.00 fee and fill out an application providing address and other 
identifying information. With this in mind, it is clear that the Rule does not fall under the Board’s 
authority which was granted by the legislature. The Board’s rules already require veterinarians to 
keep their ,address information up-to-date with the. Board, therefore the only thing that the 
registration requirement adds is a burden upon all licensees to pay the $25.00 registration fee to the 
DPS. 

The legislature gave the Board the authority to adopt rules as necessary to administer the 
Veterinary Licensing Act. TEX: Oct. CODEANN., 5 801.151(a). A $25.00 fee paid to theDPS does 
not aid the Board in administering the Veterinary Licensing Act. 

The Board has the authority to adopt rules of Professional Conduct appropriate to establish 
and maintain a high standard of integrity, skills and practice in the veterinary medicine profession. 
T&K OK. CODEAM!, $ 801.151(b). The payment of a $25.00 fee to the DPS by,a veterinarian in 
no way maintains his or her integrity, skills or practice in the profession. 

The Board ,also has authority to adopt rules to protect the public, however, the payment of 
the $25.00 registration fee to the DPS does nothing to protect the public from veterinarians or from 
persons practicing veterinary medicine without a license. Z’EX. OCC.~ CODE ANN, 5 801.15 l(c)( 1). 

Further, the payment of a $25.00 fee to the DPS does nothing to prevent veterinarians from 
prescribing controlled substances without first establishing a veterinarian-client-patient relationship. 
See TEX. OK CODE ANN., 5 801.402(13). In sum, the Rule is not compatible with the general 
objectives of the Veterinary Licensing Act which is where the Board receives its rulemaking 
authority. 
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The Rule imposes burdens conditions or restrictions in excess of or inconsistent with the 
Texas Controlled Substances Act and the Veterinary Licensing Act 

The Rule also imposes burdens, conditions or restrictions in excess of and inconsistent with 
the relevant statutoryprovisions of the Texas Veterinary Licensing Act and the Texas Controlled 
Substances Act. As pointed out above, the Rule is inconsistent with the Texas Controlled 
Substances Act to the extent it requires licensees acting in the course and scope of their employment 
with DPS registrants to register with the DPS. Therefore the $25.00 fee and the act of registration 
are burdens, conditions and restrictions in excess of and inconsistent with the two acts. 

For the reasons stated, the Board should immediately cease enforcement of the Rule and 
should repeal the Rule at its earliest opportunity. Dr. Gaither and I request that the Board submit 
these issues to the Texas Attorney General in order to obtain his opinion regarding the validity of 
this Rule and the Board’s authority to adopt and enforce the Rule. 

DAF/ddw 

cc: Richard Gaither, DVM‘ 
16222 Deer Crest 
San Antonio, Texas 78248 


