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Re: Request for Opinion regarding payment of district attorney pro tern 

Dear General Paxton: 

This law firm represents Wood County, Texas and Wood County Auditor Terri 

Sellars regarding this request for an Attorney General's Opinion. Auditor -sellars 

respectfully requests an Attorney General Opinion from your office on the following 

matters: 

1. Does CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE§ 26.05(c) require the County to pay a District 
Attorney pro tern $275.00 per hour when the County's Fee Schedule calls for 
$75.00 per hour? 

2. Does CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE§§ 2.07(c) and 26.05(c) require the County to 
pay a person for work performed after he was appointed as District Attorney pro 

· tem, but before the elected District Attorney was recused, and before the person 
took the oath of office and filed it with the clerk of the court? 

3. Does the opt-out provision in Wood County's Fee Schedule run afoul of the plain 
language of Article 26.05 of the CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE? 
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4. Does the law require the County to pay a District Attorney pro tem for work 
performed in cases in which the order appointing the pro tem and/or the oath of 
office were not filed with the clerk of the court? 

I. BACKGROUND INFORMATION 

On January 1, 2014, District Judge G. Timothy Boswell and County Judge Bryan 

Jeanes entered an Amended Standing Order Regarding Fee Schedule for Court-Appointed 

Attorneys in Wood County, Texas ("Fee Schedule"). _See Exhibit A. In relevant part, the 

Fee Schedule calls for court-appointed attorneys in non-capital felony cases, disposed of 

by trial, to be paid $75.00 per hour. Id. The Order allows payment of all hours actually 

spent in trial, plus an equal number of additional hours for trial preparation. Id. The Fee 

Schedule contains a note on the bottom that reads, "The Court may adjust fees upward for 

extraordinary circumstances!" Id. 

A. Time Period in Which Joe Shearin Worked as District Attorney Pro Tern Before 
District Attorney Jim Wheeler was Recused and Before Shearin Took and 
Filed an Oath of Office 

On March 16, 2017, District Judge Jeff Fletcher entered an "Order Appointing 

Attorney Pro Tern" which appointed Joe Shearin1 ("Shearin") as District Attorney pro tem 

to "investigate matters related to the shooting of William Forrester, et al." See Exhibit B. 

The Order did not set forth the rate at which Shearin or his investigator were to be paid. 

See Id. At the time this Order was entered, former DA Jim Wheeler was neither recused, 

absent, disqualified, nor otherwise unable to perform the duties of his office. Shearin did 

not file a pro tem oath of office with the clerk of the court. 

1 At all times relevant, Joe Shearin was not an attorney for the state. The Texas Bar website 
identifies Mr. Shearin as a solo practitioner in private practice. 
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During this time period, Joe Shearin presented a criminal case against William 

Tucker to the Grand Jury and Tuc,ker was indicted on six counts. For work performed 

during this time period - when Shearin worked as a pro tern, before the DA was recused 

and before Shearin took and filed an Oath of Office - Shearin submitted invoices to Wood 

County reflecting a rate of $275.00 per hour and totaling $83,027.18. 

B. Time Period in Which Joe Shearin Worked as District Attorney Pro Tern After 
District Attorney Jim Wheeler was Recused and After Shearin Took and Filed 
an Oath of Office 

On October 12, 2017, Judge Fletcher entered a second "Order Appointing District 

Attorney Pro Tern." See Exhibit C. The Order granted the State's Motion to Recuse and 

appointed Joe Shearin as DA Pro Tern to: 

Id. 

Investigate and present to the grand jury any criminal offenses relating to the 
use of certain lands in Wood County owned by James Brown and/or Jerry 
Boone, including assaults on John Winston Forrester, John Philipp Forrester, 
et al in October and/or November, 2015, and including any offenses relating 
to misconduct by county employees. 

On the same date, Joe Shearin signed an "Oath of Office" as Wood County DA pro 

tern. See Exhibit D. The Oath did not identify a cause number and is not filed in the 

records of the clerk of the court. This order, like the first, did not set forth the rate at which 

Shearin or his investigator were to be paid. 

For work performed during this time period, Shearin submitted invoices to Wood 

County reflecting a rate of $275.00 per hour and totaling $249,063.02. 
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II. LEGAL AUTHORITIES 

A District Attorney Pro Tem 

A "district attorney pro tem" is appointed by the district court after a district attorney 

has voluntarily recused himself from a case, or is absent, disqualified, or otherwise unable 

to perform the duties of his office. See TEX. CODE CRIM. PRO. § 2.07;see also Coleman v. 

State, 246 S.W.3d 76, 81-2 (Tex. Crim. App. 2008). After taking the oath of office, an 

attorney pro tem assumes the duties of the elected district attorney and "in effect replaces 

the latter in performing germane functions of the office for purposes contemplated by the 

appointment." State v. Rosenbaum, 852 S.W.2d 525,529 (Tex. Crim. App. 1993) (Clinton, 

J., concurring); see TEX. CODE CRIM. PRO. § 2.07 (attorney pro tem must file oath with 

clerk); Rogers v. State, 956 S.W.2d 624, 627 (Tex. App. - Texarkana 1997, pet. 

ref'd)(delay in filing oath with clerk a "mere irregularity" that did not deprive attorney pro tem 

of authority to act). The decision of whom to appoint as an attorney pro tem lies within the 

discretion of the trial court, the only statutory limitation being that the court must appoint 

a "competent attorney." Shea v. State, 167 S.W.3d 98, 101 (Tex. App. -Waco 2005, pet. 

ref'd). A "competent attorney" is a member in good standing with the State Bar. Id. at 102. 

B. Rate of Payment of District Attorney Pro Tem 

In the event an appointed pro tem is not already an attorney for the state, as in this 

matter, "he shall be compensated as an attorney appointed to represent an indigent 

person." See TEX. CODE CRIM. PRO.§ 2.07. All payments made to attorneys representing 

indigent criminal defendants shall be paid in accordance with a schedule of fees adopted 

by formal c1ction of a judge trying criminal cases in the County. TEX. CODE CRIM. PRO. § 
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26.05. A copy of the fee schedule is to be sent to the Commissioners' Court of the County. 

Id. Each fee schedule adopted shall state reasonable fixed rates or minimum and 

maximum hourly rates, taking into consideration reasonable and necessary overhead costs 

and the availability of qualified attorneys willing to accept the rates. Id. "All payments 

made under this article shall be paid from the general fund of the county in which the 

prosecution was instituted or habeas corpus hearing held and may be included as costs 

of court." Id. 

The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals recently considered a Fee Schedule that 

included a section stating, "The judge presiding over a case may authorize payment to 

appointed counsel that varies from the fee schedule in unusual circumstances .... " State 

ex rel. Wice v. Fifth Judicial Dist. Court of Appeals, WR-86,920-02, 2018 WL 6072183, at 

*3 (Tex. Crim. App. Nov. 21, 2018). The Wice Court held that such an "opt-out" provision 

runs afoul of the statutory limitation that the fee either be fixed or between the minimum 

and maximum hourly rates. Id. at *4; see TEX. CODE CRIM. PRO. § 26.05. 

The Wice Court vacated. the trial court's order to pay the invoices and ordered the 

trial court to enter a new order for payment of the fees in accordance with a fee schedule 

that complies with Article 26.05(c) of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure. Id. at *8-9. 

See Wice, 2018 WL 6072183. 

C. Relevant Statutes 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 2.07. ATTORNEY PRO TEM. 

(a) Whenever an attorney for the state is disqualified to act in any case or 
proceeding, is absent from the county or district, or is otherwise unable to 
perform the duties of his office, or in any instance where there is no attorney 
for the state, the judge of the court in which he represents the state may 
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appoint any competent attorney to perform the duties of the office during the 
absence or disqualification of the attorney for the state. 

* * * 
(c) If the appointed attorney is not an attorney for the state, he is qualified to 
perform the duties of the office for the period of absence or disqualification 
of the attorney for the state on filing an oath with the clerk of the court. He 
shall receive compensation in the same amount and manner as an attorney 
appointed to represent an indigent person. 

(d) In this article, "attorney for the state" means a county attorney, a district 
attorney, or a criminal district attorney. 

Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Art. 26.05. COMPENSATION OF COUNSEL 

APPOINTED TO DEFEND. 

(a) A counsel, other than an attorney with a public defender's office or an 
attorney employed by the office of capital and forensic writs, appointed to 
represent a defendant in a criminal proceeding, including a habeas corpus 
hearing, shall be paid a reasonable attorney's fee for performing the 
following services, based on the time and labor required, the complexity of 
the case, and the experience and ability of the appointed counsel: 

(1) time spent in court making an appearance on behalf of the 
defendant as evidenced by a docket entry, time spent in trial, and time spent 
in a proceeding in which sworn oral testimony is elicited; 

(2) reasonable and necessary time spent out of court on the case, 
supported by any documentation that the court requires; 

(3) preparation of an appellate brief and preparation and presentation 
of oral argument to a court of appeals or the Court of Criminal Appeals; and 

(4) preparation of a motion for rehearing. 

(b) All payments made under this article shall be paid in accordance with a 
schedule of fees adopted by formal action of the judges of the county courts, 
statutory county courts, and district courts trying criminal cases in each 
county. On adoption of a schedule of fees as provided by this subsection, 
a copy of the schedule shall be sent to the commissioners court of the 
county. 

(c) Each fee schedule adopted shall state reasonable fixed rates or 
minimum and maximum hourly rates, taking into consideration reasonable 
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and necessary overhead costs and the availability of qualified attorneys 
willing to accept the stated rates, and shall provide a form for the appointed 
counsel to itemize the types of services performed. No payment shall be 
made under this article until the form for itemizing the services performed is 
submitted to the judge presiding over the proceedings or, if the county 
operates a managed assigned counsel program under Article 26.047, to the 
director of the program, and until the judge or director, as applicable, 
approves the payment. If the judge or director disapproves the requested 
amount of payment, the judge or director shall make written findings stating 
the amount of payment that the judge or director approves and each reason 
for approving an amount different from the requested amount. An attorney 
whose request for payment is disapproved or is not otherwise acted on by 
the 6oth day after the date the request for payment is submitted may appeal 
the disapproval or failure to act by filing a motion with the presiding judge of 
the administrative judicial region. On the filing of a motion, the presiding 
judge of the administrative judicial region shall review the disapproval of 
payment orfailure to act and determine the appropriate amount of payment. 
In reviewing the disapproval or failure to act, the presiding judge of the 
administrative judicial region may conduct a hearing. Not later than the 45th 
day after the date an application for payment of a fee is submitted under this 
article,, the commissioners court shall pay to the appointed counsel the 
amount that is approved by the presiding judge of the administrative judicial 
region and that is in accordance with the fee schedule for that county. 

(d) A counsel in a noncapital case, other than an attorney with a public 
defender's office, appointed to represent a defendant under this code shall 
be reimbursed for reasonable and necessary expenses, including expenses 
for investigation and for mental health and other experts. Expenses incurred 
with prior court approval shall be reimbursed in the same manner provided 
for capital cases by Articles 26.052(f) and (g), and expenses incurred without 
prior court approval shall be reimbursed in the manner provided for capital 
cases by Article 26.052(h). 

* * * 

(f) All payments made under this article shall be paid from the general fund 
of the county in which the prosecution was instituted or habeas corpus 
hearing held and may be included as costs of court. 

Ill. QUESTIONS 

1. Does CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE§ 26.0S(c) require the County to pay a District 
Attorney pro tem $275.00 per hour when the County's Fee Schedule calls for 
$75.00 per hour? 
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2. Does CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE§§ 2.0?(c) and 26.05(c) require the County to 
pay a person for work performed after he was appointed as District Attorney pro 
tern, but before the elected District Attorney was recused, and before the person 
took the oath of office and filed it with the clerk of the court? 

3. Does the opt-out provision in Wood County's Fee Schedule run afoul of the plain 
language of Article 26.05 of the CODE OF CRIMINAL PROCEDURE? 

4. Does the law require the County to pay a District Attorney pro tern for work 
performed in cases in which the order appointing the pro tern and/or the oath of 
office were not filed with the clerk of the court? 

Thank you for your consideration of this important matter. Please do not hesitate 
to contact me with any questions or requests for additional information. I can be reached 
at the numbers above or by email at rsd@flowersdavis.com. You may also contact my 
partner, Lee I. Correa, lic@flowersdavis.com. 

REPRESENTED BY: 

~&-
Robert S. Davis 

TS/rsd/lc 
Enclosures 

cc: Hon. Lucy Hebron 
Wood County Judge 

Angela Albers 
Wood County District Attorney 

Joe Shearin 
Wood County Pro Tem 

Submitted by, 

Terri Sellars 
Wood County Auditor 
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