Law enforcement agencies can apply for reimbursement for the forensic costs associated with forensic sexual assault examinations pursuant to articles 56.06 and 56.065, Texas Code of Criminal Procedure.
The Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program will reimburse law enforcement "reasonable costs" associated with forensic sexual assault examinations of victims of alleged sexual assaults in an amount not to exceed $1,000.00 in the aggregate for dates of crime on or after July 15, 2016. For dates of crime prior to July 15, 2016, the amount shall not exceed $700 in the aggregate. Law enforcement is not required to pay any costs for treatment of injuries. (See Emergency Medical Care Reimbursements for more information on reimbursement for those costs.)
Please note that in accordance with Texas Administrative Code 61.801 (b), forensic medical exams conducted on or after 10/30/2014, requests for reimbursement shall be submitted within three years of the date of the forensic medical examination.
Information about the application for reimbursement and billing by providers is found in the Forensic Sexual Assault Examination Reimbursement Guidelines.
The medical costs associated with the forensic sexual assault examination are not covered by the law enforcement agency and the victim may be held financially responsible for those costs. Victims may seek reimbursement from the CVC program as either a CVC claim or an Emergency Medical Care claim.
You may visit Crime Victims' Compensation: How to Apply for more information about the Crime Victims’ Compensation Program and how to apply.