Crime Victims' Compensation
Crime doesn't pay, but in Texas, criminals do. Texas courts collect court costs from convicted offenders for the Crime Victims' Compensation Fund. If you are a victim of violent crime, you may be eligible for benefits.
cvc remote access:
Victim advocates, law enforcement, District and County Attorneys and staff, and medical service providers who assist and serve victims of crime in the State of Texas are eligible to become CVC Remote Users. Remote Users can access the CVC mainframe via the web and view basic claim information.Request access by e-mail
Please read the pages on eligibility and reimbursable expenses before filling out an application for Crime Victims' Compensation. Please understand that the statute does not provide for the reimbursement of property damage or losses due to property crimes.
General Program Information
In 1979, the Texas Legislature passed the Crime Victims’ Compensation Act, creating the Compensation to Victims of Crime Fund and the Crime Victims’ Compensation (CVC) Program. The primary purpose of the Fund is encouraging greater victim participation in the apprehension and prosecution of criminals and reimbursing innocent victims for certain out-of-pocket expenses incurred as a result of violent crime.
The Crime Victims’Compensation (CVC) Program is supported through a legislative appropriation from the Compensation to Victims of Crime Fund. Revenue for the Fund is collected from convicted offenders through criminal court costs, fees, and fines, while victims of violence are assisted with expenses related to the crime. The Fund receives revenue from the following sources:
- State Court Costs:
Local governmental submit consolidated court costs to the comptroller for felony and misdemeanor convictions.
- Parolee Supervision Fees:
Offenders on parole pay $8 per month to the Fund. The state’s parole officers are to be credited for their efforts to collect these fees from parolees.
Jurors are provided information about the Fund and are offered the option of donating their daily reimbursements to the Fund.
By statute, the Attorney General must ask that the victim or claimant reimburse the Fund for the amount paid on behalf of the victim, up to the amount of the civil award, when a crime victim is awarded money in a civil suit.
- Federal VOCA Grant
The federal Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) allows the collection of fines, fees and forfeitures for federal convictions.
Offenders may be ordered to reimburse the Fund for compensation payments made on behalf of those they have victimized.
The Crime Victims’Compensation Program is administered by the Office of the Attorney General and is dedicated to ensuring that victims of violent crime are provided financial assistance for crime-related expenses that cannot be reimbursed by insurance or other sources.
State law requires that reimbursement first be sought from other sources, such as health insurance, Medicaid, Medicare, auto insurance, or Texas Workers Compensation. CVC program staff assists applicants in coordinating the use of all available resources.
Claims may be approved for benefits up to a total of $50,000. Individuals who suffer total and permanent disability as a result of the crime may qualify for an additional $75,000, which may be used for specific and limited expenses, such as lost wages, prosthetics, rehabilitation or making a home accessible, depending upon the law in effect on the crime date.
The financial assistance may be limited or unavailable depending on laws in effect when the crime occurred and is dependent upon the applicant providing necessary and required documentation.
For More Information
In your community, contact your local law enforcement agency's Crime Victim Liaison or your prosecutor's Victim Assistance Coordinator.
Or e-mail:firstname.lastname@example.org or Call (800) 983-9933 or (512) 936-1200 (in Austin) or Fax: (512) 320-8270.