
Crime Victims’ Compensation 
 

General Overview 



 
 

To assist in the compassionate and effective 
delivery of crime victim services by offering 

information, resources, and financial 
assistance to crime victims and the 

organizations assisting them. 
 

Crime Victim Services Mission Statement 



 
Texas Code of Criminal Procedure 

Article 56 subchapter B 
Articles 56.31 through 56.64 

Crime Victims’ Compensation Act 
 

Enabling Legislation 



CVC Mandates 
 
 

A victim has the RIGHT to  
receive information about  

Crime Victims’ Compensation 
Texas Code  
Of Criminal  
Procedure, 
Art. 56.02 
(a)(6) 
and  TFC 
57.002(6) 



CVC Mandates 

T.C.C.P. Art. 56.07 Law Enforcement Mandate 
 Initial contact with victim 
 Written notice 
 

T.C.C.P. Art. 56.08 District and County Attorneys 
  10 day notice 
  Assistance with application 
 
T.C.C.P. Art. 56.60 Public Notice 
   Posters in hospital emergency rooms 
 



Goal of CVC 

TO REIMBURSE  
VICTIMS OF CRIME  

FOR CERTAIN 
OUT-OF-POCKET EXPENSES  

 
The Attorney General shall award to victims and 

claimants compensation for pecuniary loss 
arising from criminally injurious conduct. 



“So, where does the Fund get the money?” 

 It is not a tax based or general revenue  
 funded program.  No tax dollars are used.   
 Major sources of funding in FY 2010 were: 
 
     Court Fees 
     Federal VOCA Grant 
     Restitution  
     Subrogation 
     Parole Fees 



Restitution 

• CVC pays benefits to an eligible victim 
 

• At some point, an offender is apprehended and 
convicted 
 

• At sentencing, the judge can order the defendant to 
pay restitution to the CVC Fund for what the victim 
was paid in eligible benefits 



Subrogation 

1. CVC pays benefits to, or on behalf 
of, a victim 

 
2. Victim files and wins a civil lawsuit 

for damages or receives a 
settlement from perpetrator 
 

3. Victim reimburses funds to CVC 
 

4. Victim and their attorney are 
subject to prosecution for failure 
to notify CVC 

 

  Lawsuits and  

  subsequent  

  settlements  

  must be related 

  to the crime  



 
 

All collateral sources must pay first 

• Medicaid 

• Health 
Insurance 

• Medicare 

• Workers’ 
Comp 

• Auto 
Insurance 

Payer of  Last Resort 



CVC FY 2010 Summary 

•   $74.4  million awarded 
 

•    37,801 applications and sexual assault  
      reimbursement claims received     
 
       -  29,464 CVC applications 
       -    8,337  S/A reimbursements 



  Eligibility 
 



Who Is A Victim? 

An individual who suffers physical or 
mental harm or death as a result of 

criminally injurious conduct. 
 

Note that every application has to have 
one victim, and only one victim. 

Includes: 
 
Peace 
officers, 
firefighters  
or  
individuals 
whose 
employment 
includes the 
duty of 
protecting 
the public 



Who Is A Claimant? 

 
• A dependent of a deceased victim  
 
• An individual who legally or voluntarily 

assumes the obligation to pay expenses 
 
• An immediate family or household member 

who requires psychiatric care or counseling 
 
• An authorized individual acting on behalf of a 

victim 
 
• An application can have multiple claimants but 

only one victim 



Eligibility Requirements 
“Who is Eligible to receive CVC?” 

• A Texas or U.S. RESIDENT who becomes a victim of 
crime in Texas 

 
• A Texas resident who becomes a victim in a country 

with no benefits 
 
• A Texas resident who becomes a victim of a crime 

defined as an act of terrorism committed outside the 
United States (as of 9/1/97) 

 
 



Not An Eligibility Requirement 

• A social security number is not required for a 
victim to apply and be eligible for the CVC 
Program. 
 

Awards requirement:  
 

• However, a tax ID or social security number is a 
requirement to receive a payment. 



Criminally Injurious Conduct 

Criminally Injurious Conduct refers to crimes that:  
 

• Are attempted or occur 
• Pose a substantial threat of personal injury 
• Would be punishable by fine or imprisonment 



 CIC Crimes 
Eligible for Reimbursement 

Crimes against persons that cover a range from 
simple assault to homicide and include such 
crimes as family violence and child sexual assault 

 
Also included are 
• Crimes of intentional injury with an automobile, 

boat or plane 
• Failure to stop and render aid (Hit and Run) 
• Vehicular crimes involving drugs or alcohol 
• Intoxication-related crimes (assault, manslaughter 

or criminally negligent homicide) 



Denial or Reduction  Behavior Factors 

If the person — 
 
• Was engaged in illegal activity  
 (deny or reduce) 
 
• Shares in the responsibility for the crime 

(deny or reduce) 
 

• Fails to cooperate with law enforcement 
and prosecution efforts (deny) 
 

 
All are 
possible 
factors,  
the entire 
situation is 
reviewed  
 
 



However… 

 There is no requirement that a suspect be 
 

• Identified 
• Apprehended    
• Charged  
• Convicted 
 

 for a victim to apply for and be awarded 
compensation. 

 
     There is a requirement for the victim to cooperate 

throughout the criminal justice process.  



CVC Reporting Requirements  
 

To Law Enforcement 
 

• 72 hours prior to 9/1/97 
 
• On or after 9/1/97, a reasonable period of 

time but not so late as to interfere with or 
hamper the investigation and prosecution 

  
• The program has the discretion to waive the 

reporting requirements if: 
  -  The victim is a child 
  -   Extraordinary circumstances hampered   

the reporting 
 



CVC Filing Requirements 

To CVC Program 
 

• Prior to 9/1/97, One Year 
 
• On or after 9/1/97, Three Years 

 
• Exceptions: 

-    Good Cause 
-    Child victim through age 18 (pre-1997) 
-    Child victim age 18 to 21 (1997-present) 
-    Victim physically incapacitated 

 



 
 
 

Awards 



Awards 

    Up to:  
 

•   25,000 for crimes prior to 9/1/97 
 

•   $50,000 for crimes on or after 9/1/97 
 
 For reimbursement of medical costs,  counseling, 

lost wages, funeral costs, and other costs resulting 
from the crime 
 

          Does not include property loss or damage 



 Award Types 

• Medical    
 (Includes Psychiatric Care/Counseling and Dental) 
• Loss of Earnings 
• Loss of Support 
• Funeral and Burial  
• Relocation and Rental  
• Child or Dependent Care 
• Crime Scene Clean-Up 
• Items Rendered Unusable 
• Travel 

 



Medical Expenses 

Includes: 
 

•  Hospital expenses 
 

• Doctor’s fees 
 

• Prescriptions  
 
• Emergency Room 

 
• Dental 
 

 
 

• Ambulance 
 
• X-Rays    
 
• Rehabilitation 
 
• Nursing home 
 

 



Medical Expenses 

• Paid according to Worker’s Comp medical fee 
guidelines  

 ( www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html ) 
 
• Victim not responsible for difference unless victim 

had benefits reduced or med max 
 

• Medical expenses are only limited by the funding 
available in the claim 
 

• Reimbursements for medical expenses must be 
submitted within 5 years of the date of service unless 
extenuating circumstances exist 

http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/wc/indexwc.html�


Psychiatric Care/Counseling 

When counseling is needed, get preauthorization if 
required 

 
• Inpatient: 
 $600 per day with a maximum 30 day stay  
      (for victim only) 
 
• Outpatient: 
  $3,000 (victim and claimant) 



Psychiatric Care/Counseling 

• Psychiatrist 
 

• Psychologist 
 

• Clinical Nurse Specialists in Psychiatry 
 

• Licensed professional counselor 
 

• Marriage and Family Therapist 
 

• Licensed Master Social Worker/Advanced 
Clinical Practitioner 



Loss of Earnings 

• Physical or psychological  disability 
 

• Care of a medically incapacitated adult or minor 
child by claimant 

 
• If employed, weekly net earnings multiplied by the 

disability period 
 

• Limited to $500 per week 
 
• If unemployed, will consider situations that 

demonstrate the victim would have been 
employable.  Benefit would be based on anticipated 
loss of future earnings. 



Loss of Earnings – cont’d 

May be paid for time lost from work— 
 
• While seeking medical treatment for 

physical and/or emotional injuries 
 

• While participating with criminal justice 
system requirements 
 

• While attending funeral of the victim 
(effective 9/1/2003, household members 
and immediate family only, 10 days or 
$1,000) 



Loss of Support 

• To dependents of a murder victim- up to the value 
of the claim  

 
• To dependents of victims (usually family violence)   

90 days 
 
• Limited to $500 per week 

 
 



Funeral and Burial 

• Maximum of $4,500  
     *additional funds available 

      to transport body 
 
• What is covered? 

-  Funeral service 
-  Casket, urn 
-  Graveside service 
-  Cemetery expenses 
-  Marker/headstone 
-  Cremation  
-  Flowers, musician fees, burial clothing 

for the deceased 
 



Relocation 

• For victims of family violence (6/19/99)  
 

• For victims of sexual assault in their          
residence (9/1/2001) 

 
• One time award per offender 

 
• $3,800 Total Benefit 
    - Up to $2000 for Relocation 
    - Up to $1800 for Rent 

 

Relocation 
Costs 
 
•Cost of        
Move 
 

•Travel 
Expenses 
 

•Security 
Deposits 
 

•Utility 
Deposits 
 

•Moving Van 
 

 



Child or Dependent Care 

 

• Only available as a new expense resulting 
from the crime 

 
• Children (14 years and under) or dependent 

adults 
 

• Care must be provided by licensed or 
registered provider 
 

• $100 per week per child or dependent 
(effective 5/8/05 limited to 90 days, except 
for dependents of deceased victims) 



Crime Scene Clean-Up 

• $750 limit 
 
• Commercial cleaning company 
 
• Will reimburse for cleaning supplies when     

work is done by volunteers 



•   $750 limit 
 
•   Items seized as evidence and rendered                               
 unusable by law enforcement 
 
•   This is the only property for which 
 reimbursement can be paid by CVC 

Items Rendered Unusable 



Travel 

Travel expenses due to participation in or attendance at: 
 
• The investigation prosecution, or  judicial processes; 

also post conviction and post adjudication-
involvement (effective 9/1/1997) 
 

• The execution of the perpetrator. (effective for dates of 
travel 6/21/2003) 
 

• Seeking necessary medical treatment and counseling 
services (effective 9/1/1997) 
 

• The funeral of the victim for immediate family and 
household members only.  (effective 9/1/2003) 
 



Travel 

• Exceeds twenty miles 
 
-    Necessary & reasonable transportation 
-    Commercial transportation/personal vehicle 

 
• Exceeds sixty miles 

 
-    Meal and lodging expenses 
-    Commercial lodging 
-    State rate Crimes On or 

After 9/1/97 



Catastrophic Injuries 
 Total and Permanent Disability 

 
Above the base award, catastrophic benefits are 
 
• Additional $25,000 
 (for crimes occurring September 1995-97) 
 
• Additional $50,000 
 (for crimes occurring on or after September 1, 

1997 to Aug 31, 2001) 
 
• Additional $75,000 
 (for crimes occurring on or after September 1, 

2001) 
 
 

 



Catastrophic Injuries  
Total and Permanent Disability 

• Durable Medical Equipment (Sept.1, 2001) 
 

• Rehabilitation Technology (Sept. 1, 2001) 
 

• Long-term Medical Expenses (Sept. 1, 2001) 
 

• Home and Vehicle Wheelchair Accessible 
 

• Rehabilitation 
 

• Lost wages 
 

• Job Training 
 

• Home Health Care 
 

• Training in the Use of Special Appliances 
 



Emergency Award 

• $1500 maximum  
 

• Must be paid from an existing or anticipated 
benefit- it is not a “free award” 
 

• All applications are evaluated for EA need 
 

• May be considered for situations that pose an 
undue hardship 
 

• Decision made by CVC staff based on “best 
interest of the victim” 



Appeals Process 

The victim or claimant has the right 
  to appeal a decision (eligibility or awards) 

 
 1.  Reconsideration 
 2.  Final Ruling Hearing 
 3.  District Court 



Claim closure due to fraud   

Fraud statutes – CVC closes claims pursuant to: 
 
• Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.41 (b)(7) 
 (b) The attorney general shall deny an application for 

compensation under this subchapter if: 
 (7) the claimant or victim knowingly or intentionally submits 

false or forged information to the attorney general. 
 
• Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.38 (b) 

The attorney general may investigate an application. 
 

• Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, Article 56.47(a) 
The attorney general, on the attorney general’s own motion, or 

on request of a claimant or victim, may reconsider; 
 (1) a decision to make or deny an awards; or 
 (2) the amount of the award. 

    



Claim closure due to fraud  

Lost wages  
• Victim was awarded lost wages. 
• CVC received information that victim submitted two false 

employment verification documents and also forged HR 
Director’s signature to falsely show they were employed. 

• Victim was charged and arrested with Tampering with a 
Governmental Record. 

 
• Victim submitted false medical documentation in order to 

continuing receiving lost wages. 
• Victim, a nurse,  had been terminated from their job due 

to felony forgery convictions but falsely indicated that it 
was due to a crime related injury 
 



Claim closure due to fraud  

Relocation: 
• Victim awarded relocation but claimed she never 

received the check. 
• CVC processed a stop payment and issued a 2nd check 
• Victim claimed they never received the 1st check, 

Comptroller’s records revealed both checks had been 
cashed. 

• Victim was charged with Theft. 
 
• Victim submitted a falsified lease. 
• CVC called apartment complex and was advised victim 

was not approved 
• Victim was charged with Tampering with a 

Governmental Record  



Reimburse law enforcement for the reasonable costs of 
a sexual assault examination of a victim 
 
Full details and application at OAG web site  
 
A separate claims process from victim claims 
 
Contact person:  Juanita Sepeda 512-936-1246  
    

Sexual Assault Exam Reimbursement 



 
 
 
 

 
 

 
 
 

         CVC Claims Management System   

 
What is Claims Management System (CMS)? 
(also referred to as Remote Users Access) 

 
•   CMS is a tool applicable users can access to view 
 basic CVC claim information via the internet.  

 
•  There are three levels of security access to system: 
 

        1.   Service Providers 
        2.   Law Enforcement 
        3.  Non-Profit Victim Advocates 



• All users are able to view general case information. 
 

• Service Provider accounts allow the user to view 
only those claims for which they have provided 
services based on their tax ID.  
 

• Law Enforcement and Advocate accounts allow the 
user to view general billing information and case 
notes. 
 

• CVC distributes new or updated information via CVC 
Claims Management System. 
 

     Request CVC Claims Management System        
by e-mail:   

                  CVCRemoteUsers@oag.state.tx.us 
 
 

CVC Claims Management System 



 
Address Confidentiality Program 

ACP 
 

• The Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) creates a legal avenue for 
victims of family violence, stalking, and sexual assault to keep their 
residential, business, and/or school address out of public record through a 
free mail forwarding system operated by the Office of the Attorney General.  
 

• The Address Confidentiality Program is a safety tool for victims of family 
violence, sexual assault, or stalking.   
 

• It is not a witness protection program or guarantee of safety.  
 

• The goal of the program is to work in conjunction with a safety plan to assist 
victims of family violence, sexual assault and stalking in their effort to keep 
their address confidential.  
 

• For more information please contact: 
 

Address Confidentiality Program 
P.O. Box 12199 MC 069 

Austin, Texas 78711-2199 
 

Crimevictims@oag.state.tx.us 
512-936-1750 
888-832-2322  

 



Office of the Attorney General 
Crime Victim Services Division 

 
CVC Program 

P.O. Box 12198 
Austin, TX 78711-2198 

www.TexasAttorneyGeneral.gov 
 

(512) 936-1200 or 1-800-983-9933 Main Number  
(512) 320-8270 General Fax Number 

 
National Association of Crime Victim Compensation Board web site has 

links to each state’s CVC program 
www.nacvcb.org  

 

http://www.texasattorneygeneral.gov/�
http://www.nacvcb.org/�


CERTIFICATE of PARTICIPATION 
 

The Office of the Attorney General presents this certificate to: 
__________________________________ 

(Print your name)  
 

with sincere appreciation for your on-line training 
on this ____ day of ________, 20__ 

      of the   
CVC General Overview 

 
 ______________________   _______________________  
   (Your Signature)         (Name of Your Agency/Organization/Employer) 
       
 Mail a copy of your certificate to : 
Crime Victim Services Division 
Attention: Training & Outreach Coordinator 
P O Box 12198 
Austin, Texas 78711-2198 
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